We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the entire day!”

Magnolia Plantation & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.18*
and up
Historic Magnolia Plantation Tour with Transportation
Ranked #16 of 241 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: South Carolina's Most Visited Plantation and Gardens. National Registry of Historic Places. Ancient Oak Avenue. Tours full of History. World Famous Gardens of the 19th Century "Romantic Style". Selected by Travel + Leisure (2014) as the only South Carolina garden deemed one of "America's Most Beautiful Gardens". Reconstruction Period Plantation Home Tour. Award Winning Slave Cabin Tour. Very popular Nature-Train Tour. Rice Field Boat Tour. Family Oriented. Petting Zoo and Nature Center. Audubon Swamp Self-Guided Tour. Amazing Nesting Rookery. If you have only one Plantation to see, don't miss us!
Wabash, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spend the entire day!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was the best place we visited in Charleston. You will want to spend the entire day there. There are so many beautiful locations in the gardens. Bring a camera with a full battery. The slavery program was very informative and educational about how slavery was. A very relaxing boat tour where you will see many alligators, birds, and turtles. Overall, a very relaxing experience that made us want to return. We were sad to leave.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank crocky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,480
    1,540
    628
    193
    75
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great garden and history lesson.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time visiting Magnolia Plantation. Was a beautiful day. It had rained earlier and parking was a little muddy. Down fall is you have to pay for every tour. The plantation house is small but guide was very knowledgable. The nature was a nice trip but we did see a lot of stuff we see in Florida. The best was
The slave house. Tim was our guide. He was awesome. It was a 1 hour tour and he gave us a ton of info. Very sad to see how how slaves had to live in those days. We spent 4 hours there but a good time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LPN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Leisurely Afternoon”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a little drive from downtown but well worth it. We toured the house, took the nature train, and did the swamp walk. We definitely could have spent more time walking through the gardens but we were on our way back home so we had limited time.

The house was not quite what we expected (expecting Antebellum home in all its extravagance, but that one had burned down) but our tour guide was fabulous and walked us through the whole history of the plantation right up to present day. Very interesting.

Dick was our nature train driver and guide. He was so great, lots of stories about the plantation and the wildlife to be found there, quite the joker, and very excited about his job.

The swamp tour is self-guided although there is an option to dial a number on your cell and get a "guided" tour. I was wishing a brought my "good" camera instead of just my iPhone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Slave cabins”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went in march and saw the gardens. Everything is natural looking, not manicured. We we were told that romantic gardens are when mans works with nature. I like the style. They offer 5 extra tours but it is an extra cost for each one. We hose the slavery to freedom tour and Jenn was our guide. We enjoyed hearing how the slaves lived and the continuing story after the war. Would love to go back but will have to budget for it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went with ADVENTURE TOURS who collected us from our hotel a d escorted us around the plantation. Our guide/driver Earl was full of information, very humorous, and looked after us so well. As we came back into Charleston he continued a commentary on local sites, restaurants etc before dropping us off at various locations.

The only change I'd suggest is to allow some time for refreshment. As there is only one outlet for food, (queues very long) maybe a note of warning to people to bring their own snacks and drinks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Plantation & Gardens also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolia Plantation & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing