We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
Book In Advance
$25.00*
and up
Charleston Ghost and Dungeon Tour
Ranked #24 of 220 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This location did a great job of providing a historical overview of the City of Charleston. The docent was very knowledgeable and made what could have been quite dry interesting for our family.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    319
    89
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Not that great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Definitely not worth the money. Guide didn't seem to be a natural - seemed to be overly scripted. Not that exciting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TLMo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
So sorry to hear that you did not enjoy time at the Old Exchange. Most of our guides are educators or licensed tour guides (or in some cases, both), so it is surprising to hear that you felt the tour was too scripted. If you get a chance, please email me through the tripadvsior email system, with a little more information. I would glad to review your guides tour.

Thank you for visting us. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Well Preserved Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We enjoyed our tour of the Old Exchange and Provost building. It offered an interesting glimpse into the history of early Charleston and the revolutionary war. Defiantly worth a visit. I recommend getting the combined ticket to the Old Slave Market.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hallfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hear the tales from the past. Kids will enjoy this stop.
Full of history. Be sure to add this to your list of places to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marlin95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was very informative and provides a tour of Charles Town's/ Charleston's rich history. We did the combo ticket and went to the SLAVE MART as well. Worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KTL125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing