We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be your 1st stop in Charleston”

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston Ghost and Dungeon Tour
Ranked #26 of 237 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This should be your 1st stop in Charleston”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is absolutely worth your time and money to visit. It is the history of the beginning of Charleston or Charles Town as we learned. The dungeon is amazingly creepy with all of its historical stories that the tour guide tells. We were in a smaller group of 20-25 so it wasn't too crowded or stuffy. We were told that groups in excess of 50 can be guided and I can imagine that would be just too much. The dungeon is much smaller than I anticipated. The brick work looks positively medieval and is literarily held together all of these years by a keystone! This is a MUST see in Charleston!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kemptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    360
    106
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dungeon tour is worth the price of admission”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

On our three prior trips to Charleston, we had skipped the tour at the Old Exchange. This time we made sure to include it. The upstairs is an interesting self-directed tour of several rooms with artifacts and postings of the historical prominence and timeline of this structure. The downstairs section a/k/a The Dungeon offers a tour guide dressed in period costume to escort your group through the various rooms. Our guide provided a spirited account of the history of the Old Exchange and how the lower area transformed from a loading/unloading area off the original wharf on the Charleston harbor into a dungeon style prison. Our visit was well worth the time and money spent here by providing additional valued knowledge of the history of Charleston.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PapaRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Start with the history of the town”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Wished we taken this brief tour, with the Slave Mart Museum, on our first day. Great tour guide, interesting history. We did not rent a car in Charleston, and spent a lot of time walking. It would have been good to have this history under our belts beforehand.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Dungeon”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The museum was interesting. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our guide to the dungeon was dressed to character the 1800"s time. He was very knowledgable and spoke in a voice that made the adventure exciting and interesting.There were wax figures in the dungeon.The price was only $8 in Oct.2013

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willingboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun for travelers of any age”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We purchased our ticket for the Exchange in conjunction with our ticket for the Slave Mart to save a few dollars. Although not very expensive, the dungeon tour was really neat and the ground floor exhibits were interesting, although somewhat limited. The staff was also very friendly. The only area where it really lacked was upstairs, where there is a huge open space that could easily be utilized for additional exhibits/artifacts, but instead stands mostly empty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 34AnneK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing