We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping into the past.”

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston Ghost and Dungeon Tour
Ranked #26 of 237 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stepping into the past.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

2 floors are self guided tour and the dungeon is docent guided. We learned so much between this location and the slave market that gave us the truth of the civil war that the northern text books failed to tell us. Would recommend both locations

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lili P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    360
    106
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful chance to learn some history of Charleston”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We took this tour not knowing much about what we were going to see or hear.. It was wonderful. We had a wonderful tour guide and some teachers in our group which made it even more interesting. Such rich history and it is here for anyone to visit and learn. I was staying in Myrtle Beach on vacation and just had to come to Charleston. Next time I will make sure I stay a few days in Charleston also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nurses_rock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
454 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Small Place... But Interesting”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The exchange & provost building included a tour of the "dungeon" that was used to hold various bad guys in the past. The dungeon in the basement proved to be the most interesting and was made so by having a good tour guide. This young lady knew her history and gave us the short tour and made it a very nice experience. There is a lot of historical documents on the other floors and made for a very interesting and educational experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This tour was better than we expected. One of the staff actually gave us a "history lesson" on some Revolutionary War history after the guided tour, when he saw us looking at an exhibit. Great stuff. Shows the staff who are really into their work.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphK328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Interesting Historical place”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited for a wedding reception, and it was a very nice venue for that. Even without the wedding, would be an interesting place to spend a few minutes. Lots of historic "Charleston" artifacts and we also were able to take a tour of the "dungeon" and heard some of the pirate stories from long ago. The reception was upstairs and had ample space for our group (if you are having a lot of people, check to see how many it holds as we did use most of the space.) Not sure if they provided the food or if it was an outside company but that was exceptional! Overall, great place to have an event. Only one thing to keep in mind - just like everywhere else in Charleston, parking is limited.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WSNCReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing