We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston Ghost and Dungeon Tour
Ranked #27 of 232 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very interesting tour. Guides are dressed up but it wasn't stupid. One of my favorite things about Charleston.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenniferLynneRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    349
    101
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would pay double to see it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My only regret is we didn't know about the Thursday morning reading of the Declaration of Independence when we went, that would have started our Independence Day celebration off right. Lots of history in one building.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitty42276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“History Lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

A nice place to get a little unknown history lesson. Staff is awesome. Learned a few facts that i never heard of.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pd2div
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saved us from the rain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff pulled us in from out of the rain, and gave us a great tour of the exchange and the jail. Oh What Fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gayleaskgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was the first thing we did when we got into Charleston. We were the last tour of the day. I did not think our tour guide was good at all. (A tour guide can make or break any tour). The whole thing just seemed very "elementary". My husband and 3 teenagers when we walked out looked at each other and said "that was a waste of our money." Everything else we did in Charleston was awesome, but I would not recommend this to anyone. Again, maybe we just had a boring tour guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5miltateers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing