We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History”

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston Ghost and Dungeon Tour
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston's Alleys and Hidden Passages
More Info
$21.99*
and up
Historical Charleston Tour with Optional Joseph Manigault House Visit
Ranked #28 of 241 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
Olean, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Tour guide was fantastic (Fin). Beautiful building. Great history. Staff full of knowledge. Guided tour of dungeon great bonus included in fee.

Helpful?
1 Thank Honeybeez1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    373
    110
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great event venue!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding reception here, very interesting location. Quick dungeon tours were offered and cocktails were served in the first floor/museum area. The main reception was on the second floor and the did a lovely job. Staff were friendly and we'd definitely go back another time!

Helpful?
Thank Lrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was good if you liked reading about history, but there wasn't much interactive stuff for children or teens.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallassee, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ranked in the top 5 things we toured!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent our entire trip touring everything we could fit into 5 days.
This was one of the top 5. The history and architecture are just amazing.
This is a must see. We spent at least an hour and could have spent much more time there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrieH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Interesting historical site”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were intrigued by the location, name and site of this building. We did pay for the tour. I feel it was over-priced and a bit "cheesy" as others have stated, but an interesting history to see. I am glad I did it but it is not something I would want to do again in a future visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jnsbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Our tours are priced at $8.00 per adult and $4.00 for kids. This is argubly one of the best deals in Charleston when it comes to museums. I would be interested in knowing what made you think our attraction was "cheesy." We strive to deliver a good product- can you email me your thoughts at cokerm@charleston-sc.gov? Feedback like yours is invaluable in developing out tours and and presentation.

Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing