We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Here First”

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston Ghost and Dungeon Tour
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston's Alleys and Hidden Passages
More Info
$21.99*
and up
Historical Charleston Tour with Optional Joseph Manigault House Visit
Ranked #28 of 240 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
Loganville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go Here First”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a great place to start your tour of historic Charleston. For $8 per adult, it is worth it. This guided tour is interesting and informative and gives you Charlestons background and history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank amalavita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    368
    108
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent History Lesson”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited planning to do a self guided tour but a guided one was starting so we took it. So glad we did! Our guide was super knowledgable and so excited about the history of this building. A great tour for history buffs. Especially those focused on the Revolutionary period of our history. I look forward to taking my kids in the future. Each floor has it's own distinct history and it is set up beautifully to reflect each respective history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FCM0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hundreds of years of history in one place”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We wandered into the museum and found it fascinating...starting with the basement or provost where numerous patriots were jailed when Charleston fell to the Brits. We had a great guide, Chelsea, who gave us a tremendous sense of history and was eager to answer questions. The other floors had their own bits of history including George Washington's visit to the Great Hall. We spent about two hours at the Exchange and it was time well spent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your visit! Chelesa, a graduate of Savannah College Art and Design, is our newest guide, but also one of our most enthusiastic. Glad to know you enjoyed your tour. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent place for general and Charleston-specific Revolution and Civil War History”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I suppose it may depend on the tour guide, but ours was great. It was my wife and her parents, and many, many others in the group. The tour was quite interesting in itself, and the museum part of the exchange was equally great. I can get tired after a few hours of reading captions to things, so, I pooped out and hurried up near the end, but I could definitely go back later and enjoy it again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bhcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meh.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was alright. My husband and I did the tour, and it was pretty standard. The tour guide looked like he'd rather be shot than give another tour, but he was friendly and very informative, and was polite when we asked questions. There was a lot to look at, but Charleston has more entertaining places. I wouldn't spend my money there twice.

Helpful?
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for writing down your thoughts. We reguarly audit our guides for quality control and have found them to be generally consistent for content and presentation. We will look harder at our docents demeanor. We never want anyone to think that we don't want, or appreciate, their business.

Good to know that our staff was polite and friendly.

We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. We think we have a lot to offer those visting Charleston! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing