We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pretty house!”

Nathaniel Russell House
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
Historic Carriage Tour of Charleston
Ranked #18 of 235 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Foundation welcomes visitors to explore daily life in one of Charleston's most exquisite dwellings. Located in Downtown Charleston near High Battery, the Nathaniel Russell House Museum, 51 Meeting Street, is widely recognized as one of America's most important neoclassical dwellings. Historic Charleston Foundation purchased the National Historic Landmark in 1955, and the house served as the Foundation's headquarters for 37 years. Today, the interiors are restored to their original 1808 grandeur and surrounded by formal gardens.
Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very pretty house!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My daughter and I took a tour of this house. It was BEAUTIFUL! The tour guide was very knowledgeable. There were only 4 of us on the tour so she really took her time with us and answered all of our questions. There is a beautiful free floating staircase in the middle of the house. This was worth the visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cleo20Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    509
    125
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Lovely home!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited the house for the first time, this visit to Charleston. The guide was very knowledgeable about the family and their role in Charleston, and U.S. history. The architecture was lovely, but I was a little disappointed that the furnishings were not original to the house, but it was all furnished to the period that the Russell's would have lived there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MomWilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
314 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Mansion”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The staircase alone is worth the time you spend on this tour. Our tour guide was knowledgable and congenial. We enjoyed seeing the authentically restored home furnished in luxurious furniture, some original, some reproductions. The music room is a must-see and the stories told by the guide were enlightening. We would recommend this tour and a part of enjoying Charleston.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a beautifully restored home. The staircase is AMAZING !!! Loved touring the home and the guide was very knowledgeable and interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Docents”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was the friendliest docent we have ever encountered. She loved questions from my daughter and the other middle school boy in our tour group.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathaniel Russell House also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nathaniel Russell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing