We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting!”
Review of Aiken-Rhett House

Aiken-Rhett House
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.00*
and up
Charleston’s Old South Carriage Historic Tour
Ranked #13 of 237 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Aiken-Rhett House Museum, 48 Elizabeth Street, c. 1820, Is unique in many ways. For example, it remained in the hands of family descendents for 142 years until it was sold to The Charleston Museum and opened as a museum house in 1975. Historic Charleston Foundation purchased the house in 1995 and adopted a conservation approach to the interpretation of this important house and its outbuildings.
Germantown, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Interesting!”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Aiken-Rhett House was highly recommended to us by a Charleston native. It did not disappoint! However, it WAS recommended because it looks exactly like it did when the Aiken and Rhett families lived there. Unlike many of the other mansions in the city which have been restored, you get a real sense of history here, not just a beautiful house tour. Even my 13 yr old son was entranced! The only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 is that there were repairs being done during our tour, and we had to step over the wires. I would still highly recommend!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank williamsburg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    331
    88
    26
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good to see a little piece of history!”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

it’s a 45 minute self guided audio tour. We loved this. It gives a lot of history and you get an idea for what homes were like. It's amazing the size! There is also a combo ticket tour with the Aiken Rhett and Nathaniel Russell for $16. http://www.historiccharleston.org/experience/arh/tour.html

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank uncwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
2 reviews
“Old Southern Elegance”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Great tour, great house, beautiful grounds. A little on the spooky side, which I really liked. Recommend going in the morning if you're here during the summer. Good place to film a horror flick.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“so neat...don"t miss it!”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We loved that this house was preserved rather than restored. Walking through the mostly empty rooms really provided a unique perspective on this mansion's past. The outbuildings are just as interesting. There was a feeling of almost spooky abandonment about the home and grounds, and this only added to the pleasure of the tour. Walking around the property and listening to the excellent self-paced audio tour was one of our favorite things to do in Charleston. We loved it! It was a neat change from other historic mansions that were well-furnished. And the water sold in the area where you purchase tickets was the COLDEST in Charleston. It was very hot while we were there and the very cold water was such a welcome treat!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank jande26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical House Tour”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Visited the Aiken-Rhett House in late July and really enjoyed the self-guided headphone tour. The important thing to keep in mind is this is not your typical decorated house tour. The home, grounds and surrounding out buildings have been preserved, not restored - so there is little if any furniture, decoration, paint, etc. My family and I liked that everything was authentic and rustic in its presentation; but others may not. If you know what to expect and take the tour for what it is, you will find yourself transported back in time and lost in the history. As with most of the historic homes in Charleston, the Aiken-Rhett is not air conditioned, so wear comfortable clothes!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgiahuskerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aiken-Rhett House also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Aiken-Rhett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing