We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tour”

Edmondston-Alston House
Ranked #19 of 233 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Of Charleston's many fine house museums, only the Edmondston-Alston House (constructed in 1825 and enhanced in 1838) commands a magnificent view of Charleston Harbor. From its piazza, General P. T. Beauregard watched the fierce bombardment of Ft. Sumter on April 12, 1861, signaling the start of the Civil War. And on December 11 of the same year, the house gave refuge to General Robert E. Lee the night a wide-spreading fire threatened his safety in a Charleston hotel. Much like the Middleton Place House Museum, the collection at the Edmondston-Alston House Museum consists of pieces that belonged to the family, reflecting not only family history but American history. Despite the ravages of the Civil War, the Earthquake of 1886 and numerous hurricanes, the Alston family pieces remain in place much as they have for over 150 years. Notable in the collection is an original print of the Ordinance of Secession, portraits, dining room table, gas lights, mirror and exquisite interior woodwork.
Bloomington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Nice tour with a great guide. The house was in a great location and they really do pay attention details in this tour.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank WDW621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    234
    65
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A slice of History in a beautifully preserved home”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

There is a lot of history in the house...even by Charleston standards. Form here, the bombing of Ft. Sumpter was witnessed by the leaders of the day. And many of the original furnishings and decor has been preserved. A beautiful house and a really nice tour. Well worth a vist.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Massfoodie111597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
728 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Tour of a Beautiful, Historic House”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a large, three story house which was built and occupied by a rope magnate and family and is still lived in by a family member. The tours are $10, given daily, and the house is beautifully furnished and decorated. We were allowed to sit out on the portico, looking out at the harbor, on a gorgeous December day. It was very peaceful and you can see Fort Sumter, where the first cannon shot of the Civil War was fired, from the portico.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting but not overwhelming”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Good for those who like short tours because of impatient children or bad backs. There are some interesting things to see, like the pardon signed by president jackson. The family's ties to revolutionary history is pretty interesting too. We paired it with the Middleton House which also was interesting, but overall a bit too thin for the effort.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank shieldsprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudoun County, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We had visited the Middleton Plantation earlier in the day and while we had some time, we thought we would visit this house as well. It is beautiful, has phenomenal views and wonderful furnishings. Our docent was very knowledgable and enjoyable. Had we known we were going to visit this house, it would have been cost effective to purchase the two tickets together at Middleton. That said, they gave us a discount when we purchased the tickets after showing our previous tickets. Worth a visit. Gorgeous "town house" and typical of the period in Charleston.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank winelvr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edmondston-Alston House also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Edmondston-Alston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing