We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost a required stop on a Charleston visit”

Charleston City Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Historic Charleston Walking Tour
Ranked #28 of 232 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular tourist destination composed of 200-year old brick market buildings with shops and restaurants.
Abbeville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Almost a required stop on a Charleston visit”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Was just in Charleston with a small group and we took in the market on a Friday afternoon. First off, this is just a really interesting building to walk around in. Next are the people. If you like to people watch, you'll see a very interesting collection here! Third are the vendors and shops. Everything from homemade soft drinks, to sweet grass baskets, to jewelry, and of course, t-shirts. Don't be afraid to bargain a little, and compare vendors to get a deal. If you plan to take the market in, wear comfortable shoes because it can be a long and at times slow walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    1,105
    655
    109
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The market was busy”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I went on a not Saturday morning. There were plenty of vendors with everything you can think of ... jewelry (i bought a beautiful silver ring with a jasper stone), pottery (several of those), candles, books, scarves, clothes, t-shirts, food, and of course the straw baskets. I am happy with the purchases I made.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Souvenir Booths”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Plenty to see, plenty to buy, prices are not as high as in stores. However, there are many high-quality indoor shops on either side of the Old City Market with items you may rather have than the ones in the open air booths. We bought items from both. Look around a bit before you make your decision. Lots of free samples of food items.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Its ok to be picky...”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wide range of items, lots of local art;which is the only reason to go here. Some painting, few photographers, lots of baskets. Lots and lots of baskets, really. A few jewelry items, a few are really nice. Use of local materials is cool; like ols slates paintes with scenes of Charleston, cool.we bought painting of the bridge, turtles, pallmetto. Stop here to support the local artists...please...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
270 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Make time for this”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Old City Market is worth strolling through to see talented artisans' handiwork. While it may look like a flea market there is nothing second rate about the beautiful items that are inside. I purchased several great pieces of jewelry at reasonable prices that will always remind me of my beautiful stay in Charleston every time I wear them. There is also a nice selection of food and beverages for while you're walking around. Definitely make time to visit the Old City Market - it's worth it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston City Market also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing