We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a place to shop.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston City Market

Charleston City Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Historic Charleston Walking Tour
Ranked #27 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular tourist destination composed of 200-year old brick market buildings with shops and restaurants.
california
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only a place to shop.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stopped here on our trip to Charlotte, because all the travel books said to go. Don't expect anything more than a place to shop. Even though this is a historic place there is no history inside. It's just a place to buy stuff. I bought a neat piece of driftwood from S.C. with an air plant on it and someone else in my group bought a very small seagrass basket, but that is all. I wish they had had an area which showed it yrs.ago vs, what it is like today. A bunch of old photos to look at would have been nice. If shopping is not your thing a walk by is all you need to do.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hlmh201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,064
    1,042
    607
    99
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
151 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A great place for crafts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was an easy walk from the cruise terminal, and my friend wanted to get some baskets as gifts. The baskets were great, but very very pricy as they are hand made. There is definitely something here for everyone, and I found scarfs that sold in Quebec City for $25 and they were $10 here...boy did I feel ripped off as I got 2 in Quebec! Many artsy things, some unusual gift ideas and many of the usual t-shirts...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank msmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun open market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Crafts and local what-nots for sale in an open air market setting. Nice clean restrooms available, something for everone shopping. Who doesn't like getting some local shopping in during a trip!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmyil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The heart and soul of Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although this spot is notorious for selling slaves brought overseas, it was also used to sell textiles, dyes, and randomness from overseas as well. Lots of fun shopping and dining throughout.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennybuttah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

It may have been the rain that pushed all of the crowds inside the market or it could have been that I'm just not a big fan of the same crafts market you can find everywhere done again in a historic space, but overall I was not impressed with the Old City Market.

The place was exceptionally large, and you could find unique gifts and shops within the space, but it wasn't really anything to get overly excited about.

I would've liked to have seen more of the city without hurricane Sandy looming off the shore.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston City Market also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing