We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour guide, wonderful sights!”
Review of Olde Towne Carriage Company - CLOSED

Olde Towne Carriage Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come ride with the best. We offer one hour historic horse-drawn carriage tours hosted by one of our licensed tour guides. We also have several specialty carriages to make your event extra special. Call us today we'd love to be part of your trip to Charleston.
Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour guide, wonderful sights!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Took a last-minute trip down to Charleston, SC during Labor Day weekend and decided to take a carriage tour of the city. The guide we had (I wish I could remember her name!) was lovely - very friendly and knowledgeable. Our group was lucky enough to win the "lottery". At the beginning of the tour, the carriage checks in at a little gate where a colored ball is drawn. Which ever color comes up determines which area you will tour. We drew the color for Rainbow Row and, according to our guide, is the area most visitors wish to see. It was a great tour and definitely worth the cost - I think it came out to $80 for 4 adults and a 3 year old who sat on our lap.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank katieb120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    31
    6
    4
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommended! Good background information-pretty-fun”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Arden was our guide and she was so informative and pleasant! She had good energy and made everything interesting. Her stories were great. Earl the horse gave us a smooth and comfortable ride and navigated the town. We would recommend this to anyone visiting Charleston even though it seems cheesy initially. The history in a nutshell is good background as you wander around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Ride”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We purchased a Groupon for this and decided it would be a good way to orient ourselves to the city, so we took this the morning of our first day in Charleston. Most all of the carriage rides start from the same general area of the city, so got to see lots of horses and carriages while waiting for tour to start. Our driver was quite knowledgeable and shared lots of history and other tidbits of information. Overall, we enjoyed this very much.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had reservations with Olde Towne and were driving from Myrtle Beach. It was lightly raining so we called ahead to make sure the carriage tour wasn't cancelled, plus we received a call from Olde Towne confirming the tour was taking place. When we arrived, our family of 5 were the only passengers. We were using a Groupon. After standing around, we were told the tour was cancelled. We felt the tour was cancelled due to no other passengers and our using a Groupon. Other carriage company's were conducting carriage tours. Very disappointing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Triplets2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
390 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“More history, fewer jokes, and be nicer to Bart the horse”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We live in Orlando, visit St. Augustine, Tarpon Springs, and other tourist areas all the time. This tour was more about the jokes than telling us about the history of Charleston. The tour was okay and Bart (the horse) was clearly tired. Our tour began at 11 am and the poor horse was really miserable, pulling the wrong direction and dragging. They should have given that horse the day off.

Our guide was well rehearsed in his story line, but was over the top with exaggerations and animation. No one was really have much fun.

The carriage was clean, but oversold. We had some some very large people crammed into our row and the carriage is clearly not designed to accommodate the load we had. When they asked to be moved to another carriage or to rearrange the riders, they were told, "Sorry. Nothing we can do. Y'all will have to work it out yourselves" They were then offered a refund, but opted to stay. It was really humiliating for everyone within earshot. Could have been handled much more professionally and discretely.

This company is surrounded by other carriage companies which looked comparable in price. From the sounds of it, they are all pretty much the same, but the next time, we're going to choose a company that treats it's horses with a bit more respect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Towne Carriage Company also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing