We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Gem in a Gem of a City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A Gem in a Gem of a City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

It’s hard to stand out in such a beautiful city, but the Harborview Inn manages to shine! The staff is one of the main things that sets it above the rest. In our three days there, every person that we encountered was helpful and genuine in their desire to make our stay a good one.

The location is perfect, especially for those who are in the city for the first time. It’s convenient to board the free trolley shuttle right outside the door of the hotel. The hotel is quite close to many good restaurants and also near the port of the city. Many rooms in the hotel have a river view or a view of the pretty fountain. One of our favorite things to do while in Charleston is to walk the neighborhoods and look at the gracious houses and gardens. The hotel is in a perfect location to begin those walks.

The continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception were so enjoyable as well as the snacks and flavored teas available all day in the lobby, and the coffee and tea service in the atrium. The evening reception gives the chance to meet and talk with other guests. The hotel does not have a restaurant but more than makes up for it with these nice touches. Besides, visitors to Charleston have so many fine restaurants right in the area to pick from.

The décor of the hotel has a comfortable feel with quality furnishings and wonderful beds. If you’re looking for lots of glitz and glass and brass, this is probably not the place for you, but if you like elegant and gracious surroundings that match well with this beautiful city, you’ll enjoy the Harborview. We’ve stayed at quite a few places in Charleston over the years. This is the one we’ll be returning to

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
We appreciate your comments and feedback regarding the HarbourView Inn and the staff. The staff all strive to deliver excellent service to all guests of the HarbourView Inn. The location of the hotel is ideal for walking and seeing the sights of historic Charleston. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the HarbourView Inn and hope you will be returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    264
    58
    21
    12
See reviews for
306
1,022
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

They are happy, helpful,wonderful people. Brian greeted us on arrival, piling huge quantities of luggage onto the cart, remaining cheerful and continuing to offer little extras. We received an upgrade and he was very happy to tell us all about the lovely room we were about to get. He and the tall dark-haired gentleman at the desk found us great places to eat just around the corner. Sidney served us wine and cheese during the afternoon gatherings, again with cheerfulness...happy to do whatever you might ask. She did the turn-down and put the most soothing music on for us. Bernadette served us breakfast each morning, complementary and in our room. When I booked the room, I imagined a sweet roll and coffee but this was much more with several choices of fruit yogurt, juices, coffee, milk...all delicious and elegantly served. The housekeeping staff did a meticulous job of caring for our room. I do not know all of their names. If I did, I could compliment all of them for outstanding service. The Charleston native who conducted the roof terrace "tour" and history talk was very knowledgeable and great fun. We will definitely be back next year! We travel a lot and both agree that this hotel really gets it right. We are in Savannah now, staying in an "elegant" hotel with a good reputation but their people are not nearly as good as those we met at the HarborView Inn.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane29556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We are all very grateful for your comments regarding the staff and their helpfulness. We are already looking forward to your arrival next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Exceptional. Elegant. Spotless. Great location (free bus at the doorstep), close to everything in old Charleston.

Make sure you book a room with a view on the water: the ones that face the city are much less appealing (if not less comfortable).

One mix-up at sign-in time : we had reserved a water view for eight days but learned that it would not be available the first night. Meanwhile, they took us to another one and I soon realized that we had been downgraded to a back room. I went back to the desk and they immediately gave us one of their best suites, spacious and well furnished, facing the water... but with a view partially blocked by a warehouse across the street , which was ok for one night. The main inconvenience, of course, was that we had to switch rooms on the following day but the transition was smooth. We went for a long walk, our luggage was swiftly moved to our new quarters and we were treated to a bottle of Californian Champagne. The rest of our stay was sheer enjoyment.

Our "third" room was quite large, very clean, convenient and quiet despite being adjacent to the elevator. The king-size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom, spotless, could actually qualify as a room, something not easily found in a hotel these days.

We had breakfast delivered to our room every morning. Nothing gastronomic : more like continental fare but varied, plentiful and nicely presented. The persons in charge (Bernadett and another one whose name we unfortunately can't recall) were classy ladies who gave us all sorts of precious advices about Charleston. .

We will be posting our reviews on restaurants, places to see, etc. in the
fitting categories.

Charleston has just become one of our favourite places in the world - and we have added the Harbourview Inn to our list of beautiful hotels on this continent, on a par with the Burnham in Chicago and the Lennox in Boston (just to give you an idea of what we usually look for in a hotel).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourgazaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
We are very proud to be at the top of your list and also very grateful for your review of the HarbourView Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Charleston and hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

The Inn was great. Service was great, location was great and the price was very reasonable. They also go out of their way to be accommodating. Having Wine and Cheese at 5, cookies at 9 and free breakfast was also nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaxwhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
We would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review of the HarbourView Inn. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I loved this hotel. In an era when you mostly feel ripped off when traveling...baggage fees on planes, wifi for a fee at a 5 star hotel...just the general nickel and diming we are all subject to when traveling...finally a hotel that give you more for your hard earned vacation budget. So what exactly is more you ask? For the price of a nights lodging you get the following: friendly and cordial service from ALL staff members; an exceptionally clean room, which is nicely appointed and fair large in size; a clean fairly large bathroom; breakfast served in room, or on the 4th floor deck over looking the harbor; wine and cheese from 5-6pm nightly; free wifi, really good chocolate chip cookies and milk from 9-10pm nightly. Use of the hotel computer in the lobby for printing boarding passes etc. great location in the heart of town and a short walk to restaurants, shopping, and the waterfront. As we were checking out on a Sunday morning, we saw housekeeping taking apart the bedding, removing the mattresses and cleaning them, dusting the artificial plants on top the furniture..just an exceptional job at maintaing the hotel . This property shows very little wear and tear. The only charge was $18 per night for parking, but this depends on the package you book. Some packages had parking included. It was not included in my package, but you can park on the street, without feeding the meter over night from 6pm-9am. If this hotel fits your budget, just stay there. you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
I would like to express our gratitude for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the HarbourView Inn and took advantage of all the amenities and ‘extras’ offered by the hotel. The staff are grateful as well for your comments. We can’t thank you enough for your recommendation. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

This inn, located in Charleston's historic district overlooking the waterfront park, was a value with special winter rates. Our room was spacious and tastefully appointed with comfortable bedding and amenities. Extra services (breakfast delivered to room, late afternoon wine and cheese, and fresh baked cookies with milk in the evening created fond memories. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernfan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
We at the Harbourview Inn are very grateful for your review of the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the amenities offered by the hotel and the staff. We look forward to you returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

My husband and I traveled a long day to reach the Harbourview Inn last month for the first leg of our honeymoon destination.
We were very pleased with the staff's attentivness to our arrival. They used our name frequently and made us feel right at home.
the room was absolutely beautiful. but also very comfy. We were very hungry and, even though the hotel did not have a dining facility for room service, they recommended a Charleston delivery service. The food was fabulous and, as it turned out, the best we had the entire trip.
The only thing we did not like was that we had not just stayed there for the rest of our honeymoon. The continue journey to Florida was nice but no accommodation compared to the one we had at Harbourview Inn.
We would recommend this hotel and we plan on returning for a longer stay one day.
Sincerely,

Karen Wallace-Williams

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwallace-williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
We would like to thank you for choosing to spend part of your honeymoon with us at the HarbourView Inn. Congratulations on your nuptials also! Thank you for your kind review of the hotel and the staff. We hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,472 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,773 reviews
Planters Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing