We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Getaway”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Seneca, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Getaway”
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We recently visited Charleston, and stayed at the HarbourView Inn for the second time. My husband and I were celebrating our 31st anaversary. We stayed one night last year their and really enjoyed it, but this time WOW! They have renovated the whole hotel, which I thought was not that old. Everything in the rooms were brand new, and we now have to get a temperpedic mattress. :) What made the trip was wonderful service we received from the time I called to make the reservation to check out. They even sent us a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit for our anniversary. We can’t say enough about the friendly staff and everything they did to make our trip enjoyable. To us the HarbourView Inn is the only place to stay in Charleston. I wish all hotels that we visit would be this nice!

  • Liked — Very romantic
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokey/Roxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    277
    65
    24
    12
See reviews for
367
1,183
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

The Harbourview is in a very good location in the historic part of town. The rooms were very elegantly decorated and the beds were comfortable. Unfortunately none of this could outweigh the generally poor experience we had due to inferior service. With the exception of two individual employees, each staff member we encountered in our 48 hours here could only be described as ungracious and unhappy. We are really quite polite and express our gratitude without fail for any assistance and rarely heard "you're welcome" though we said "thank you" in spite of sour attitudes. We had to ask for our room to be cleaned on our second day though we had been out of the hotel much of the day. The cookies disappeared within 5 minutes and were never replenished though they are described to be available over the course of an hour. Unfortunately our view from our room was actually of a large transformer, though we could have overooked that had we experienced service approaching what we would have expected at a four star hotel. Incidentally during our stay we stayed at a three star hotel a few blocks away and had superior service and would stay there again without a thought. The Harbourview is no longer on our list.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Very poor service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlbertaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2007

The Harborview was a beautiful property located right near the water.
It was easy to get from the hotel to other parts of the city. The layout of the hotel was quaint.

The beds in the room were comfortable and the bathroom was well designed. The staff were helpful and the extras were nice (sweet tea,
water, candy available all day) (cookies and milk, wine and cheese, hot tea).

On the down side, there was food leftover in the fridge from the previous occupant. The robes and one of the towels had stains on it. There was also rust around the drain in the tub.

With improvements in the above areas I feel that the Harborview would have been an exceptional hotel.

  • Liked — The location and views of the surrounding harbor.
  • Disliked — The leftover food, stained towel/robe, and rusty drain.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shrutang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, WV
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

First let me say that the Harbourview Inn is a nice property, located in a wonderful section of town. The hotel is right on the water and in close walking distancetot major tourist attractions, shopping, and fine dining. The hotel staff, from the front desk to the housekeepers, are all very friendly and do their best to help make your stay a pleasant one.

That being said - there were a few issues we encountered. First and foremost we requested a harbour view room. Yes - our room was on the Harbour but I would not call it a harbour view. We were on the second floor and all I could see was the building across the street and a few trees. The view of the water was completely blocked. I would suggest that the hotel maybe call these "limited harbour view" because it is very deceiving. If you truly want a harbour view - request a higher floor and a room with a balcony (our room had no true balcony - just windows that opened).

Another issue we had was a mold problem in the bathroom. While some may think I am being picky - for the price we were paying, I would expect housekeeping to clean up the mold in the bathroom (management - we were in room 205 in case you are interested). There was mold around the tub and all of the fixtures. Yuck. Other than that, the room and hotel were very clean.

We did enjoy the breakfast, and the wine and cheese reception was very nice (although if you say it is going to start at a certain time - make sure it starts at that time).

We are frequent travelers and we visit Charleston quite often. I really, really wanted to love this place, but sadly I didn't. While I would definately consider staying here again, I probably wouldn't. We have stayed in better places in the City.

  • Liked — Locaton and service
  • Disliked — Our non "harbour-view"
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brandyandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We had a terrible view overlooking some wires but because the inn was fully booked they could not change our room but otherwise, we can't complaint, given its price. We slept on their Temperpedic mattresses which are supposed to be really comfortable however we thought they were too firm. We would have preferred a conventional mattress. Very convenient location to restaurants and to the walk along the harbor. The property was clean and well run. Loved the afternoon wine and cheese and the evening cookies.

  • Liked — Updated style and cleanliness of the general areas and rooms
  • Disliked — The view from my room sucked and sometimes valet parking took almost 20 minutes to get the car around even though we pay to park the car supposedly in their garage which is right there.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

Although some of the reviews mention the construction we never heard it although it was going on during our stay. I was concerned at first because we were staying in room 108 which is just off the atrium and main desk. We never heard a single noise! The breakfast in bed is fabulous and so was the bed itself. Afternoon tea and evening wine and cheese was perfect. Milk and cookies at night was just the icing on the cake. The staff was friendly and helpul. Let me reccommend a short drive out to Dreyton Place plantation and for the dinner experience of your life make reservations early fo the Pennisula Grill dowtown.

  • Liked — All the extras.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2007

Long Island, NY
This hotel has the amenities of a hotel and the relaxed feeling of a B&B. Our room was very comfortable and overlooked the harbor with a nice size balcony. The staff was most accomdating, friendly and most helpful. I want to give a special thank you to Bert on making our first stay in Charleston a memorable one. The wine and cheese hour was a great way to meet the other guests who came from various parts of the Us and Europe. I recommend if you stay at this hotel request a harbor view room. It is beautiful and with every breakfast served in your room, eating on the balcony was great.

  • Liked — The view in our room, the staff and the breakfast room service
  • Disliked — air conditioning a little noisey
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swangrace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,421 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,736 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing