We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect hotel in perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

My husband, myself, our two kids and my in-laws from California and stayed at Harbourview Inn over New Year's weekend. We needed handicap accessible facilities for my father-in-law and help locating accessible restaurants, sightseeing, etc. The front desk, especially Jen, were extraordinarily helpful. They made many calls and gave excellent advice on where to go and what to see. They even helped us find a handicap accessible horse and carriage ride through Charleston. The handicap room was very spacious and we had plenty of room in the Penthouse suite. The view was gorgeous for watching the sunrise and a full-moon rise over the river. Breakfast was delivered to our room at exactly the time they said it would be. Many extra touches made it a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernsearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2010
Here at the HarbourView we strive to exceed expectations and I am glad to hear our staff and hotel has provided you and your family with an enjoyable and memorable vacation. Thank you again for your review and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    265
    58
    21
    12
See reviews for
306
1,028
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

My first visit to Charleston, what a get city. I wanted to stay at a 4 star plus hotel and could not have selected better property.

I service the hospitality business and have high expectations . This property did not let me down.

Staff was wonderful; felt like a B&B.

Like most of the previous reviews the breakfast was a nice touch. The wine and cheese was okay but we did take advantage of this service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2010
I am glad that you choose to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn for your first visit to Charleston. We love hosting guests during their first visit to Charleston. We take it as a very great complement to have exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Excellent hotel, luxury linen, plush bathrooms. Five minute walk to dining and old town. Note: you pay for parking. Would stay there again. Staff is great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregjer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2010
We are very pleased that you chose the HarbourView Inn during your visit to Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments and feedback regarding the hotel and staff. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

service is excellent, hotel is exceptional, close to everything, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank infrequenttraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
We would like to thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your visit to Charleston. We are very grateful for you review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We had traveled all over the world and we have all decided this was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. It is not the biggest or the richest looking but the staff makes the hotel. Drue at the front desk was amazing . So friendly and helpful. Trey who does everything from making the nightly cookies to moving luggage ,was one of the best bell hopes we have seen. The two are on the evening staff together and make it so fun to stay there.
The hotel had free breakfast that is brought to your room, a wine and cheese hour and nightly cookies. The site is beautiful and with in walking distance of everything ,even a very nice play ground . Our ages were from 72 down to 9 and the staff was great with all the ages. The rooms were nice . The beds soft. Would definitely stay here again and again....Now if we could just get rid of the 16 dollar and night a parking fee....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vpxtrastuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2009
We are so glad to have the opinion of someone who has travelled to so many differenet places. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff’s friendly and helpful demeanor. The staff is always willing to go above and beyond to meet your needs and expectations. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Our recent stay at the Harbourview Inn was most enjoyable. All things considered--the hotel management, the staff, the food, our comfort, the fine amenities--the Harbourview Inn far exceeded our expectations. We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaudleSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2009
We appreciate your business and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing your again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

The Harbourview Inn is a GREAT place to stay in Charleston! The staff is great - so helpful and always made us feel welcome/at home. We stayed in the historice wing and the rooms are beautiful! Breakfast in your room every morning is nice too! The location is great - close to everything! I think the service was the most impressive part. They even had a bottle of champagne waiting in our room on arrival night as it was my husband's birthday! We will definitely be back - can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2009
We are very grateful for your kind review regarding the hotel and the service delivered by the staff. Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday with us. We hope you will return again next year. The location is great for walking to nearby restaurants, shopping, and tourist attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,480 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,781 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing