We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We just returned from a 5-night stay at the Harbor View Inn and have nothing but positive things to say. Though not inexpensive, we felt the hotel was certainly worth the cost. The hotel is very well done (refined, yet casual), the location is wonderful and the staff very helpful and friendly. We stayed at the hotel with two young children and they felt welcomed. We will plan on staying at the Harbor View Inn when we return to Charleston.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank VTStevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    275
    62
    24
    12
See reviews for
353
1,146
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

It was our annual cousin's weekend trip and my sister and 2 of our cousins journeyed down to Charleston. We had chosen the Harbourview Inn based on online reviews and were not disappointed. From the time I made the reservations through our extended checkout, the Harbourview Inn staff made our stay special. Our room had 2 queen four poster beds instead of the double beds that tend to be the norm anymore. It was a corner room with three huge windows and high ceilings. Very light and airy and welcoming.

The bellmen were unobtrusive but efficiently anticipated our needs. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included with your room stay and delivered to your room at a time of your choosing. 24 hour coffee and tea available in the lobby along with bowls of M&M's was a very nice touch as was the afternoon wine tasting and evening cookes and milk.

The Harbourview is within walking distance of almost everything. A very pleasant experience and we will stay here again as well as recommend it to friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glassgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

We stayed in a "penthouse" which is a fourth floor room with a view of the water, and the view was so worth it. Had a balcony which we ate on, etc.

Pros: VIEW, location, service was excellent, abundance of food/snacks (included breakfast, wine/cheese, cookies and milk at night, and snacks around the day, plus in the penthouse rooms have a small fridge and snack selection which is complimentary, however, found they frequently forget to replenish supplies), cleaniliness, quietness inside the hotel, bathroom nice size and had whirlpool tub, fireplace in the penthouse

Cons: Price...we paid $350 for our penthouse suite (but it included the food), lack of pool or hot tub and spa (but we knew about this going in, and we went to the beach anyhow and there are spas around the city and also Urban Nirvana within reach via car), lack of exercise facility (we chose to run outside and skimped off the weights for a few days), lack of internet access, lack of library to borrow books for a lazy day or a day of rain, lack of pay perview movies for the rainy day we had there.

Overall, a great place to stay in Charleston for the price. I don't think anything else dowtown compares to it!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jppalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2006

We were thrilled with our stay at HarbourView Inn. Every staff person, from the Bellman to the General Manager, treated us as special guests. We felt pampered and most welcome. When we returned to the hotel after a long day of touring, we greatly appreciated the wine and cheese reception that awaited each afternoon. Coffee and tea were always readily available, not to mention the bowl full of Smarties. It was just like home (actually, better than home). We also appreciated the effort made by the hotel to recommend restaurants. It was helpful to have the hotel's recommendations. Our room was comfortable and gave us a real taste of Southern Hospitality. We have fallen in love with South Carolina and have arranged to return next March. We look forward to another stay at HarbourView; we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

Millie and Steve

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2006

As a very particular traveler, I can tell you that the Harbour View Inn is a great place to stay. It is close to everything, and within walking distance of anything. The wine and cheese reception was a plus. However, I did find a few things that could use some improvement. The staff members were young and not the most accomodating that I've encountered. For instance, our first night there, my husband and I didn't fall asleep until 3AM due to partiers below at a nearby bar. We informed the desk the next morning, and asked if we could be moved. There was no apology. Instead, the guy snickered, and said that they were booked. The room was very clean, nicely furnished, and quite large, and the bathroom was very spacious and up to date with granite, jetted tub, etc. However, the room itself has no ceiling light, and therefore it was very difficult to see yourself in the full-length mirror, not to mention find something in your luggage. Would I go back to the Harbour View Inn?? Absolutely!! It was overall a very pleasant stay. I just like more lighting when I am dressing. The inn has a very intimate feel, and the lobby area is very open and has great views. Can't wait to return to Charleston!

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank CNBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

Our first visit to Charleston was made all the better due to the level of service at the Harbor View! From front desk to bellmen the service was top notch. Loved the wine and cheese reception every afternoon and the kids loved the cookies and milk in the evening. Unlimited coffee, hot chocolate, tea and M&M's were available all day and night. We stayed in a deluxe room with 2 queen beds. No, the view from our room was not very good, but the 4th floor terrace was wonderful. We loved having breakfast delivered to our room everyday and found it to be very good and healthy (and a nice touch). The location of the Harbor View is perfect. Close enough to the action but far enough away to be a bit more quiet and peaceful. Had a car, never used it during the time spent there. Proximity to the pier was great and we spent every morning out there looking at the harbor. There were dolphins very close off the pier; it was fun watching them. Thank you Harbor View for making our stay just perfect. I would not change a thing!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naper_travel_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2006

We stayed at the Harbor View for a week in January. Everything was wonderful from the prompt valet service to the friendly desk clerks to the large room with the huge windows overlooking the harbor. The hotel is perfectly positioned for daily walks to the interesting sights, shops and restaurants of the historic district. We would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing