We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful ”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was close to the water, restaurants and the historic French quarter. I loved the design and feel of the hotel. The price is a little steep, but if you have a little extra cash spend it at this hotel. I won't be staying anywhere else when I return to charleston.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Lindy Y,

I am ecstatic to see you enjoyed HarbourView Inn’s setting in Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate you sharing your experience with future travelers and we are happy you felt our hotel was an attractive place to stay. We hope you enjoyed all of our services and our beautiful city, and we hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    275
    62
    24
    12
See reviews for
352
1,144
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent the weekend to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. The room had a balcony and harbor view. Gorgeous room, and view. Enjoyed the roof top patio, and the room in breakfast. Very costly stay, but well worth it. The city that wed us 10 years ago, love Charleston!

Room Tip: Our harbor view room on the fourth floor, enjoyed every minute. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenofthecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear QueenOfTheCreek,

Happy Anniversary and thank you for sharing your experience at the HarbourView Inn with us and future travelers. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your complements of great views from your balcony and our specialized services. October is a peak season and one may find better rates in December and January. We are thrilled Charleston is a special place for you and we hope we may accommodate you again in the future. We send our best to you in Goose Creek.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great view from our harbor view room! It had french doors that opened to a Juliette balcony, which was perfect for the wonderful weather. The entire staff was very friendly. Especially Jessica and Grant. Stacey, our housekeeper was very attentive to detail and our room was spotless when we returned.

Room Tip: Even if your room doesn't have a direct view, keep in mind that there is a roof top terrace with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Likalab,

Thank you for your review and especially for complementing Jessica, Grant and Stacey. They are true assets to the HarbourView Inn team and I know they appreciate these kind remarks. I am happy you enjoyed our convenient location, our beautiful views and the cool breeze from the French doors. We hope to accommodate you again on a future visit to Historic Charleston.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived with no reservations, that's the way we travel. Spent three nights and enjoyed the accommodation, the room was clean ,the bed was comfortable and the staff was helpful with dinner recommendations ,etc.
The evening manager Marcus Bentel treated us first class, made our reservations for dinner and even met us for wine later that evening. This is a person who should be in the hotel bis, he take's care of customers and seams to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Bring your bicycles and ride around town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Anthony M,

It is always wonderful to hear complements of our front desk team, and I know Marcus appreciates your commendations. Our service team is truly our greatest asset in providing a quality experience. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for sharing your experience of politeness, comfort and our beautiful city. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in Michigan.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
310 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. The hotel is located by everything. We didn't rent a car and we walked to almost every location including restaurants, tours, and the boat dock. The hotel has so many comfortable touches. From the 24 dispenser of M&M's, breakfast where you choose, happy hour with wine and guitar on the upper patio, Tempurpedic mattresses, nice staff. Our room was had a King bed, free Wifi. I don't know if they had an exercise room because we walked so much around Charleston that we didn't need one. We would stay here again

Room Tip: our room was in a corner and pretty quiet. A few door slams, but otherwise great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear MamaG3,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the HarbourView Inn with us and future travelers. We are happy you enjoyed the M&Ms, our live Jazz guitarist Thursday & Friday evenings, and our cozy Tempur Pedic mattresses. Also, we see you took advantage of our great location in Historic Charleston which allows for a walk to shopping, dining and attractions. Thank you for complementing our hard working service team who is the greatest asset in delivering a quality experience. We hope we may accommodate and serve you again on a future trip to Historic Charleston and we send our best to you in Indiana.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 2 years ago for our anniversary. The staff was attentive and helpful. The hotel is right next to the water and you can walk to all of the local attractions and to many restaurants. We loved the temper-pedic mattress too.The rooftop was nice too, we were able to eat breakfast up there and people watch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Lemnchi,

How nice to hear a guest recalling a stay from 2 years ago! I am so pleased to see HarbourView Inn made a lasting impression on you and your wife. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate the complements and we are happy you enjoyed our convenient location, comfy beds and great views. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in New Jersey.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Best location in downtown Charleston, intimate feel with very convenient valet parking. Rooms and property beautiful, but my car's view was lovely of the fountain and water while my room looked at an electric changing yard. Very clean, but average bathrooms. Fantastic rooftop view with great conversation or snuggling coaches where they also serve breakfast. Breakfast was okay with lots of choices, but nothing hotexcept drinks. Pastries so so. Nice and quiet. Enjoyed cookies at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yakamaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Yakamaniac,

I am thrilled to read you found HarbourView Inn to be in the perfect location in Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate the complements and you taking the time to share your experience with us and future travelers. For the best views, we recommend HarbourView and Grand HarbourView rooms or a visit to our rooftop terrace for breakfast or a glass of wine. All your feedback will be utilized in our dedication to continually improve our services and we cannot thank you enough for sharing with us. We hope we may accommodate you again on a return trip to Historic Charleston and we send our best to you in Rock Hill.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing