We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The staff was friendly and showed us true southern hospitality. The rooms are immaculate and the Tempurpedic four poster beds and linen were great. The bathroom was large and clean. You do want to avoid the city view on floors one and two as you look directly at a large electric sub station. Our city view on the third floor gave us a nice view of the steeple at St. Phillips Church. The harbor view with balcony on the 4th floor would be the best rooms.

The hotel has no restaurant, but they do provide a nice continental breakfast, and wine and cheese at the end of the afternoon and cookies and mild in the evening.

The location is perfect. Just a few blocks from the Market and Broad Street.

We will definetely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drseigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Drseigle,

It brings us great pleasure to have delivered Southern Hospitality during your trip to Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we thank you for sharing your compliments to us and future travelers. We are happy you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and our complimentary amenities such as wine & cheese, cookies & milk and continental breakfast delivery. A very special thanks for your kind remarks of our team, they are truly our most valuable asset in delivering quality experiences to our guests. We hope to accommodate you again on a future trip to Charleston, and we send our best to you in Illinois.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime, and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,063 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was there over Labor day weekend for my daughter's wedding. Great location near the waterfront. It was quiet, comfortable, and clean. I was close to all the events and restaurants but the hotel was tucked away from all the traffic and crowds. This made it ideal. The room had a view of the harbor which we loved and easy access for walking and exercise on the tree lined paths of Waterfront Park and the fountain. The breakfast was always on time and the complimentary wine and cheese each afternoon was expansive in the Atrium. The staff, management and housekeeping made the stay even more enjoyable. They were helpful with information, friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. I would like to specifically thank the General Manager Matt, the Assistant Manager, Drue, The front desk Concierge, Lisa and Diana and the Bellman, Matt, Josh and Jack..but a great staff was there Labor Day Weekend.

Room Tip: Not all room have water views so be specific when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear janet s,

We are thrilled your very special Labor Day weekend was complimented by HarbourView Inn’s wonderful service team. It is delightful to see our team mentioned by name, and they will certainly appreciate you kind remarks. We are also happy to see you enjoyed our luxury accommodations and took advantage of our ideal location in Historic Charleston. With our location, it is easy to walk to shopping, dining and many attractions of Charleston. Also, it is very important that we offer complimentary services such as wine & cheese, cookies & milk and continental breakfast delivery to enhance the guest experience. We hope we can accommodate you again on a future trip to Historic Charleston. We send our best to you and your family, and congratulations to your daughter your new son in law.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime, and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good location and very nice rooms. Service seemed impersonal. I wouldn't say this is charming but more on the upscale side. It does include breakfast that is better than continental but you won't get anything hot. Our room had a view of a lot of electrical stuff on the roof next door. The harbor view is from the front side of the hotel.

Room Tip: better places to stay. Ask for a room with a view of the water or you will get stuck with a terrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Merwhitt,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and future travelers. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast delivery and our ideal location near shopping, dining and attractions of Historic Charleston. Feedback from a guest perspective is most valued in our dedication to continually improving our services. The entire HarbourView Inn team will read your review to know what we are doing well and where we can improve. Thank you too for your suggestions on room accommodations. For the best views, we suggest HarbourView rooms and Grand HarbourView rooms.

We would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again on any future trip to Historic Charleston. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for anything, and it will be my pleasure to assist you. We send our best to you and your family in the great state of Texas.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful weekend stay at the Harbourview Inn. Our room was clean and well appointed. The exposed brick wall was a beautiful touch. The staff was friendly and accommodating. And the location was perfect, within walking distance to many awesome Charleston area restaurants. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Jennifer L,

It brings great pleasure that the HarbourView Inn delivered a wonderful experience to you and your friends. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for sharing your compliments of our unique Historic Wing rooms and our most convenient location in Historic Charleston near shopping, dining and several attractions. An extra special thank you for complementing our staff, they are truly our most valuable asset and we appreciate everything they do to provide quality experiences to our guests. We would love to accommodate you again on a return visit to Historic Charleston, and we send our best to you beautiful Denver.

Please contact me any time if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having stayed at this property with my husband last year, I recently sent my parents there overnight as a gift and I must say that every detail of their stay was carefully and thoughtfully managed by the staff. They took great care of my parents, ensured they had a wonderful room, managed their dinner reservations, and even sent them a bottle of complimentary champagne. This is a wonderful place to stay in a great location in Charleston and the staff was so helpful and accommodating. Thank you Harbourview and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear NYC425,

It brings great pleasure that your parents had a wonderful experience at the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for sharing your kind remarks with us and future travelers. It is important for us to provide a quality experience for all of our guests and we are thrilled your parents’ special occasion was complimented by our hard working team and all of our services. We hope to accommodate you and your family on future trips to Historic Charleston, and we send our best to you in New York.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A wonderful first time weekend in Charleston and Harbourview Inn could not have been any better. The location, the attention to detail, the cleanliness, and the timely and well prepared breakfasts were all outstanding. Great job folks, we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachDawgGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear BeachDawgGeorgia,

We are overjoyed to hear you plan on returning to the HarbourView Inn after a nice first experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate you sharing your outstanding experience of our specialized services and convenient location near shopping, dining and attractions of Historic Charleston. We send our best to you and your family in Georgia.

Please contact me any time if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford

Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Harbourview Inn was the fifth and final hotel in my US tour and unfortunately the least satisfying.

Location is good and valet parking and concierge were efficient. Check in was fine but much less friendly than in my previous stays during my trip.

The hotel is smart and classy but was a bit dull for my liking - everything seemed to be a shade of brown.

My harbour view room was a good size with excellent bed and comfortable chair. The terrace however, the main reason why I paid a significant supplement for that room, was virtually unusable. The doors only swung out at 90 degrees rather than back flat against the wall and the door stops were not long enough to reach the ground. The two chairs were high, bar stool type which I found uncomfortable and unsteady. The communal outside roof terrace however was a fine environment as an alternative.

Hotel wifi was very slow but luckily I could pick up free Charleston wifi which was perfect.

Having to chose the time for breakfast service before 11.30pm was not convenient when on holiday and unsure when one should waken. There was tea and coffee available all day in the lobby which helped and croissants in the morning. Complementary wine and cheese was excellent and served with a smile.

This review probably sounds more negative than the place deserves but for me there was no wow-factor. Sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rally_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Rally_Traveller,

We would like to thank you for providing this candid review and wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate you sharing your great experience with our convenient location in the heart of Historic Charleston and with our valet and concierge services. Our service team is our most valuable asset when it comes to providing guests with a quality experience, and they will appreciate your compliments.

We are dedicated to continually improve upon our existing accommodations and services, and guest feedback is most valuable to us in this endeavor. With your perspective on the accommodation’s harbor view balcony, we will consider new ideas to improve the comfort and accessibility of these rooms’ balconies. We are thrilled our rooftop terrace was a nice alternative. Also, we will inspect the connectivity of our free wireless internet on your room’s level. As an alternative to partaking in our complimentary breakfast delivery, we also have continental breakfast items displayed in our atrium lobby for those that do not want to be on a time constraint.

We do hope you were able to enjoy our beautiful city and the other specialized services of the HarbourView Inn. We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future, and if you choose to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way. We send our best to you overseas in the U.K.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford

Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,933 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,262 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,461 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $262 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing