We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property, great location, unexpected perks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming property, great location, unexpected perks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

My friend and I spent a night here in a 2-queen bed room and we were so pleasantly surprised. The beds were heavenly, and the bathroom was pristine and had plenty of counter space for two women. A free light breakfast is included, and you can have it in your room, on the rooftop patio, or in the atrium lobby. There is even a low-carb breakfast. There is complimentary wine and cheese at happy hour, and cookies in the atrium around 9 pm. In the late afternoon, they have big glass urns of orange or lemon infused ice water, which is very refreshing. It is across the street from a waterfront park, and in walking distance to Charlotte's indoor marketplace, rainbow row houses, and a fun waterfront restaurant, Fleet Landing. Also plenty of opportunity to run/walk along the waterfront on a wide paved sidewalk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you ladies were placed in a charming room that included all your necessities, including our continental breakfast delivery. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your shining review of the HarbourView Inn’s service, accommodations and amenities. Your experience of our dedicated service will be valuable to future guests. We hope to accommodate you again on a future trip to beautiful Historic Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,596
    274
    62
    23
    12
See reviews for
350
1,136
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here on recommendation from a friend and really loved the location and the service. I would have loved a full service bar and gym, but we were able to go for runs and find plenty of places to have a nice cocktail around the hotel. I would recommend it highly for visitors and definitely those with kids. Breakfast daily was a huge plus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our specialized service and our ideal location. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we thank you for your kind words and review. There is nothing more valuable than the experience of guests for all of our future guests. We hope we may accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We picked this hotel via Expedia and we clearly completely missed the fact it has no bar or restaurant, the location was excellent right on the coast in the quaint area of Charleston.

The service was very good and the staff were very informative, answered questions knew the local area, offered very good advice apart from the bar recommendation which was the worst bar I have been in for s long time.

Here are the ah ha moments, where is the bar ? We do not have one, can we e dinner after a long trip up from Captiva, w do not have a restaurant but have book of recommendations.

So I ask myself value for money not sure it was pricy for a hotel that had missing a amenities but th location could not be beaten, just shows I should pay more attention when booking

Room Tip: Chose away from lists and not a firs floor room the noise from the street drifts up at all times day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we did not have some of the services you hoped for, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our location, and we hope you were able to enjoy our continental breakfast delivery, the wine & cheese reception and cookies & milk at night. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, thank you for the compliments. Our team is truly our most valuable asset. We hope you enjoyed beautiful Historic Charleston, and we look forward to the opportunity of accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Erik ,Grant,and Madison at the front desk were so helpful,cheerful and willing to help with anything we needed.Doris and Quetta in housekeeping were superb and very friendly and also did an excellent job.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It is always nice to hear about the specialized services our team provides to our guests. Erik, Grant, Madison, Doris and Quetta are true assets to our team. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, thank you for your kind words that will be shared with future travelers to Historic Charleston. We hope we can be a part of your next trip beautiful Historic Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent our honeymoon there last year and our 1st anniversary this year. Already booked for our 2nd anniversary. Great customer service from all of the employees. Hotel is located right on the bay. We stayed both times in the Grand room with the balcony view. Awesome! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that your return visit was complimented by our great customer service and of course our ideal location in Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, thank you for your kind review, and sharing your experience with future guests. We hope we may accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Harbourview Inn was our only serious hotel consideration for our first visit to Charleston. I believe it's the only hotel with views of Charleston harbor. The location was at the end of a small side street, and was very quiet while we were there, though as the weather gets warmer and schools are out, the waterfront park may get a lot busier. Harbourview Inn is located 1 block off East Bay St, where many popular restaurants are located, and within easy walking distance of the Meeting St & Market St area. The city offers a free trolley service with a stop directly across the street from our hotel, which we found very convenient. For all but 1 restaurant, we took the trolley to one of the stops near the corner of Market & Meeting, then walked (1/2 - 1 block) to our dinner, and then walked back to the hotel after dinner. The hotel location was ideal for runners - I ran each morning, starting at Waterfront park, connecting to East Bay, which runs into the Battery, with the harbour on one side and a row of beautiful antebellum mansions across the street. It was about a 3.5 round trip run, beautiful scenery (early morning sun on those mansions was stunning!), and well populated even at 7-730 am, so I felt very comfortable alone. The hotel location was also several blocks south of the pier when cruise ships come and go, and away from the hustle and bustle associated, and really, could not have been better.

We were celebrating a special occasion and so opted for a "grand harbor view room." It was one of 4 rooms located on the top (4th) floor, facing the beautiful fountain at Waterfront Park, with Cooper River side of the Harbor beyond. The room was comfortably furnished with a king bed, large armoire, small desk, overstuffed chair & ottoman, and small table where we had breakfast in the morning, and had a deck with two chairs. The deck was small & not especially comfortable, as the chairs were the kind you'd find at a bar with high top tables. I felt like I was perched up in the air, and without a table to put down a drink, so was not comfortable for long stays with a book or a drink. Having the glass doors open to the deck when we were in the room, and being able to step outside was a lovely bonus to the Grand Harbourview room, and I would choose the same room again! Another bonus to the rooms on the 4th floor is that the hotel has a lovely rooftop patio with tables and chairs where we often enjoyed the hotel's complimentary wine & cheese in the afternoon, and where one could have breakfast in the morning.

The hotel does offer a number of nice perks: a choice of 4 continental breakfasts which you may opt to have delivered to your room, to the 4th floor rooftop patio, or to the 1st floor atrium lobby, at the half hour window of your choice (I think from about 6:30 - 9:30). Thoughtfully, a staff member phones a few minutes before the food arrives to make certain that the guests are ready for their breakfast delivery. Each afternoon (from 4-5 I believe) the hotel offers wine, with a small assortment of cheese and grapes in the atrium lobby, which may be enjoyed there, or which may be taken to the roof top patio, or to individual rooms. In the late evening, freshly baked cookies (chocolate chip & white chocolate chip) and cold milk are offered in the reception area.

Service was generally superior, with a couple of small blips. Though we were hoping for early checkin upon arrival at 12-ish, our room was still not ready at the 3pm checkin time as they had a late checkout in our room. The other problem we discovered when we got home and found out that friends had arranged for a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our room. The good news is that the champagne was delivered; bad news is that it arrived with a congratulatory card from the hotel staff, rather than our friends. If our friends complained, nobody from the hotel has yet apologized for that serious oversight. Otherwise, the service could not have been better. All of the front desk staff were both very friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. We had the most contact with Madison, Grant, Ariel, Sabrina and Bruce, and each made us feel very welcome, and were able to answer our endless inquiries. Grant assisted with all of our dinner reservations a couple weeks prior to arrival, and arranged for not only reservations on the days and times requested, but each night, we were delighted to find he had thoughtfully requested very special table locations for us, which meant a lot. With the exception of the two "blips" mentioned before, nothing but praise for the staff and service.

Harbourview Inn was the perfect choice for us, and I would not consider another hotel on our next trip to Charleston.

Room Tip: The 4th floor "grand harbor view rooms" were pricey, but the view is what we came for. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB-likes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for this great review of the HarbourView Inn. We are indeed the only hotel in Historic Charleston with views of the harbor, and we are so happy you chose to spend your vacation with us. Your suggestions and compliments will be very valuable for any future guests of the HarbourView Inn. The wonderfully detailed descriptions of our accommodations and services could not have been better, and we appreciate the detail. We would like to sincerely apologize for your friends not receiving the proper acknowledgment for purchasing your bottle of champagne for your special occasion. We have refunded the cost of the champagne back to your friends’ credit card. Guest feedback is most valuable in the continuous improvement of our services and amenities, and we hope to accommodate you again in the future so we may provide you with the superior experience all of our guests enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here several days for our 50th wedding anniversary celebration...couldn't have picked a more beautiful and convenient location in the Charleston Historic District. We walked most places except of an ocassional trolley ride that stops infront of the Harbourview, and an evening bike taxi to a special restaurant several blocks from the hotel. The view from the Inn was superb, as was the friendly, knowledgeable service staff. We varied our breakfasts between delivery to your room and the Atrium. Had fun meeting others guests at the 5 o'clock wine & cheese gathering nightly, comparing our daily travels and restaurant choices. And, can't forget the warm fresh baked cookies in the lobby when we returned in the evening. All in all, a great trip!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Happy 50th Anniversary! We are elated that you chose us for this most grand special occasion. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, thank you for your kind review of our opportune location, our services and our amenities. We are glad to see you took advantage of our location to see the sites of beautiful Historic Charleston. We are happy you had a great trip and hope to see you again for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing