We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable and Quaint on Charleston Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Quaint on Charleston Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Harbourview Inn is a great location on the waterfront and in the heart of downtown. My husband & I walked to the battery to see the Mansions on the Waterfront, to the City Market, down King street to wonderful stores and eateries. My favorite store in Charleston is Graffito, a contemporary jewelry and gift store on East Bay Street

The staff were friendly and they do provide Valet service which is a plus even though the garage is attached to the hotel.
The wine and cheese/fruit reception in the evening is casual but deicious.
A Continental breakfast is included and can be served in your room. You also have the option of Wonderful fresh baked goods in the reception area for breakfast. Coffee and tea are available most of the time and we we offered fresh baked cookies in he evening.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view of the water. We had the view and it was very nice. The beds are Tempur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAFNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    266
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
311
1,036
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Harbourview Inn is a really excellent option in Charleston. The rooms are more modern and updated than other "high-end" options (i.e., Frances Marion) and the price is more reasonable (i.e., Planters Inn). The room is really spacious, clean, well-appointed, and comfortable. The hotel is located on a side street on the water, so the rooms are very quiet, and although it looks like a far walk on the map to the historic center or to King Street, it's only 4-5 blocks. The location is perfect.

Other notes: the WiFi works great, the breakfast menu looks limited (a bagel and yogurt?) but is actually really filling, and the (optional) delivery of breakfast to the room is a plus. Ok, the free wine and cheese at 5 pm is a "gimmick" offered by other B&Bs (as other reviewers have complained), but it was still enjoyable and a nice way to relax after sight-seeing and before dinner. Yes, the valet parking is expensive, but that's the case in most other Charleston hotels as well -- there's nowhere to park your car in the city center and I found the valet helpful and convenient.

Room Tip: We didn't find the ocean view necessary. I requested an interior room and received a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Ballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Harbourview this past weekend. We picked this based on tripadvisor and I muct say we loved it. The Inn was very clean, location was perfect, on the waterfront but downtown and close to everything. We were taken away by the staff, they were great. If you want to stay downtown Charleston, this is the place to stay. Once we were in town and had a chance to look around, we never regretted our decision as this is No 1 in our book.

Room Tip: 213 is next to elevator closet, some may not like that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at the Harbor View for 3 nights in early February. The near water location is perfect with most of Charleston within an easy walk. I appreciated the very nice rooftop terrace and breakfast, wine/cheese, etc. Rooms vary but all are superior to chain hotels -- I enjoyed the french doors which overlooked a fountain. I really appreciated the free internet in the small lobby. Some furnature is made by local artisans. The breakfast is just right and was always efficiently delivered.

The only thing that kept me from giving five stars is the fact that the hotel lacks a pool or workout area and the staff seemed harried at times. The front desk clerks earn thier keep here and were constantly taking reservation calls or answering questions. Bellman are in constant motion if they can be found. The elevator is slow, but so is the pace of life in Charleston.

Room Tip: Open the french doors if your room overlooks the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hpark4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently booked a short getaway in Charleston and tried the Harbourview Inn. We are very happy that we did. The location is very convenient to many shops and restaurants. It's an easy walk to the City Market. The Inn was immaculate and the free breakfast and afternoon wine & cheese receptions were nice perks. Some rooms have harbour views and there is a cozy rooftop terrace for the nice weather days. Best of all, the staff could not have been more helpful and congenial. There are many places to stay in Charleston but the Harbourview Inn is certainly one of the best if you prefer the more intimate feel of an Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmyers6670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We picked the perfect weather week in January to visit Charleston for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. We searched the internet for 4 and 5 Star Hotels in the area. We selected Harbor View Inn. We were sold by the information and pictures on their website. Our stay at the Inn and visit to Charleston was perfect. The personnel at Harbor View Inn were friendly, courteous and very accommodating. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever experienced in any of our travels. The location was great - convenient to everything, yet off the beaten path. We never moved our car, we walked everywhere. We particularly enjoyed the room service for breakfast, the afternoon cheese and wine, and the warm cookies and milk in the evenings. The Harbor View Inn is definitely our hotel of choice in Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Took fiance down to Charleston 2/2 - 2/4 for her birthday weekend. And while I have done a good bit of traveling, staying at a number of high end places, this experience was truly exceptional.

RESERVATION - I reached out to 4-5 of the high end places in Charleston, asking questions about each property as well as any possible upgrades associated with a birthday celebration. Harbourview responded alomost immediately with an offer of complimentaty champagne and possible room upgrade (no guarantee) based on availability. Booked a Shopping Experience package at Harbourview, which included several nice additions.

ARRIVAL - Concierge/BellHop immediately greeted us curbside, notifying front desk of our arrival. While checking in, our luggage was unloaded and taken directly to our room. And imagine my surprise when I was told we had been upgraded to The Suite at Harbourview Inn at no additional cost (their nicest room, only reserved by calling Inn directly).

ROOM/SUITE - Just an incredible suite, with a great view of the Harbour via two separate/private patios on the top floor (Room 405). Top of the line linens and bedding, with complimentary snacks and sodas/perriers in the wet bar. Very large, elegant, and well appointed suite with a huge whirlpool tub/bath. Very few inns/hotels in Charleston have properties located directly across the street from the Harbour, so a definite plus. While availability dictated this upgrade, it was several HUNDRED dollars worth of an upgrade at no additional cost. Wow!

EXTRAS - Wine and cheese/crackers/grapes served between 5-6pm. Bed turndown service and chocolates each evening. Freshly baked cookies and milk served between 9-10pm. Round the clock hot teas and coffee, as well as flavored water and snacks in the lobby area. Continental Breakfast (with daily paper) served in the lobby, devliered to your room, or to the rooftop patio outside. Valet service as needed. And while we all know these extras are factored into the room rates, just very nice to have the one price include so much without having to get out the wallet or be charged for every single additional item. Am a HUGE fan of the all-inclusive type accomodations/costs plans.

SERVICE - Impeccable. ALL staff extremely friendly and helpful. During our stay, everyone went out of their way to make us feel as if we were the most important people around. Friendly, professional, knowledgeable about area, courteous. And one extra service touch we really appreciated - calling ahead to advise continental breakfast was on its way. No surpise knock at the door, eliminating any and all awkard/uncomfortable scenarios. Both mornings breakfast was delivered promptly at the requested time. When checking out, bell hop arrived exactly at the requested time, and by the time we checked out car was already pulled around and loaded.

ADDITIONAL SERVICE - Shortly after arrival, we left to take a quick walk. When we got back, the Package extras (restaurant card/shopping card) and a nice welcome card were in the room. We leave again for a couple of hours, and when we get back, a chilled bottle of champagne was in the room ready to uncork. Very nice touches.

PARKING - Not sure why others have posted complaints about parking and/or cost. Historic Charleston is short on space and should come as no surprise to ANYONE parking is at a premium. $20 per night with round the clock valet is not unreasonable, and most packages have the parking/valet cost built in. The public parking deck about a block down is available for those who want to save a few bucks. Never undestand why or how someone spending $800-$1000 to stay at a top inn/hotel would complain about $40 for parking (and the cost is not a hidden/extra gotcha as cost is clearly explained on inn's website).

Based on our experience, all awards and accolades have been earned by Harbourview Inn and are well deserved. Absolutely fantastic and we will be back - thanks for a memorable birthday getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel99charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,506 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing