We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbourview Inn totally rocks!”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2008

My spouse and I celebrated our 20th anniversary in Charleston the first week of April. Based on our Trip Advisor research, we stayed at the Harbourview Inn and it could not have been a better experience.

The location was wonderful, on the waterfront and in the thick of the historic district. The building was a historic landmark that recently won some awards for its renovation. The rooms were well appointed and well cared for. The mattresses are tempur-pedic foam, which was incredible to sleep on. (The only problem there was the reality of returning to our own bed back home.)

Breakfast is included and can be delivered to your room (which we recommend) or taken in the atrium or front lobby looking out over the water.

Wine and cheese at 5 and fresh baked cookies and cold milk at 9pm rounded out the day. All on the house.

The staff was very friendly and professional and helped me arrange for flowers to be there upon our arrival. The hotel added a nice bottle of champagne and a card to our celebration.

You have to pay for parking but staff makes it easy to get in and out as needed. There is not a workout facility on site but they have an agreement with a fine health club/spa about 1.5 blocks away as part of your stay.

I'd have to say it was probably the best hotel experience I've ever had and I travel a fair amount for work.

We will go back to Charleston and with any luck, find a room available at Harbour View Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NielRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,012 - 2,018 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2008

This is a lovely hotel and our stay couldn't have been nicer! It certainly added to our enjoyment of Charleston. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was well appointed, very clean and comfortable (Tempur-Pedic "Drean-Spa" mattress) and there were many extras that made the guests stay very special. Complimentarily breakfast could be had every morning with many choices of food, time to have it served and choice for dining, either in your room or the rooftop deck (overlooking the harbor) or in the parlor. Tea was served every afternoon, and early evening offered wine, cheese, crackers and fresh fruit. And if one needed a touch of home-style comfort, fresh, warm cookies and milk were available in the lobby every evening. All offered a nice time to meet other guests and exchange area information. They even gave me complimentarily postage stamps for my postcards! We paid a bit extra for a room overlooking the harbor but magnolia trees blocked the view. No problem....management happily and quickly moved us to a higher floor (and the view was lovely...we could see Ft. Sumpter and the USS Yorktown). For our "inconvenience" they did not charge us for the on-site garage parking. We hadn't asked for any discount in anyway, it was offered. The hotel is excellent for walking around historical Charleston. We would stay here again and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Barbara2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Perfect location, on the harbor and in the historic district and within walking distance to everything. Everyone at the hotel was helpful and genteel, like the people of Charleston. Loved the breakfast in the room, the m+ms in the atrium, wine and cheese in the afternoon and especially the warm cookies and milk at night. I am returning for another visit in may of 2008. Would not stay in any other place.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This is the third time we have stayed at the Harbour View Inn, Charleston. Each time it gets better. This time everything was great, we noticed they now have breakfast to order, what a great idea. We really enjoyed being able to order breakfast to our room, balcony, or atrium. Also, the ladies that served the breakfast were fantastic, great service, friendly, with a great attitude. That goes for the entire staff....I forgot to ask for a military discount. So after two days, I ask the desk staff and they said "sure no problem". Again, we had a great visit...we will be back and bring more friends to enjoy this fantastic hotel in a great city.
E. Gary Campbell

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank campgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

From the moment we arrived at the HarbourView Inn, we were greeted like long lost friends. The desk staff brought us glasses of wine before we even had checked in. The room was well appointed and spotlessly clean; the view outstanding and the location was exactly what we had hoped for. The knowledgeable staff helped us plan our days and pointed us towards some great restaurants. We look forward to returning again this year--there is no place in Charleston that I'd rather stay....the warm cookies at bedtime and the pre dinner happy hour were frosting on the cake!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank Max-TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

I was fortunate enough to get engaged at the Harbourview and cannot wait to go back. Our room was spectacular with a patio and view of the water and there was a fireplace to warm us up with the unseasonably cool weather. So close to restaurants, shops, and beautiful homes! The staff was very friendly and happy to help answer any questions.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank Griswald3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

I just returned from the Harbourview Inn in Charleston, S.C.. The Inn was in a great location, close to restaurants, attractions, and we didn't need a car. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Bert, who really took the time to listen to what I was interested in doing and making suggestions and reservations for us. My Mom was celebrating her 80th birthday, and Bert and Jonathan arranged a complimentary bottle of champagne, candy and a card and delivered it to her in the atrium, what a nice surprise for my Mom. The breakfast was delivered to our room every morning on time, wine,cheese, fruit ,and crackers were nice in the afternoon and the cookies and milk at night were also very good. Charleston is a walking city, so were your walking shoes, no heels, the streets are very uneven..

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank windycold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,023 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,960 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $276 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing