We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best customer service and milk and cookies!”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Harbourview Inn in Charleston. Its within walking distance to everything you want to do in Charleston and the rooms are quite nice (you'd never know that the building used to be a nightclub). And the beds with the tempurpedic mattress -- heaven.

But what makes the Harbourview stand out is the customer service and the perks. When we arrived we were given a room with 2 Queens when we wanted a King and they moved things around to accommodate us and gave us a bottle of champagne to make up for the confusion. But lets talk about the perks -- free breakfast delivered to your room, wine and cheese hour and milk and cookies at night. I can still taste the warm baked cookies now.....

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay for the harbour view as there really isn't that great of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dan1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We are so glad that you had a great stay with us at the HarbourView Inn! We do have a great location and a great staff to go along with it. We hope to have you stay with us again, we’ve got some cookies with your name on them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,174 - 1,180 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at this inn! We were celebrating my husband's 40th birthday and decided to spend a little more and stay on the 4th floor in one of the Grand Harbourview Rooms. It was definitely worth it. The view was awesome!

The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. A complimentary bottle of champagne was sent to the room in honor of my husband's special day. Such a nice surprise!

The breakfast was delicious and delivered right on time.

We look forward to coming back. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cairns430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn to be part of the birthday celebrations! We are thrilled y’all had a great time and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location is fantastic and within walking distance to many activities. The rooms are relatively large with all necessary amenities. The staff is very welcoming, friendly, and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The early evening wine and cheese offering is a great amenity. However the sitting areas as well as terrace are on the small side. Hard to accomodate all guests when fully occupied. Breakfast is limited, but tasty. My husband left clothing by mistake and when hotel was notified, they were in the process of mailing to us. Other hotels too include, named chains would not have gone out of there way to see that items were returned.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 142Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are thrilled that you had a great time interacting with our staff and they were helpful in returning your left behind items. We are glad that you enjoyed the wine and cheese reception as well as our breakfast. It is unfortunate that we are so limited in space, but do our best to try and make all of our guests comfortable during their stay. We hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We LOVE the Harbourview Inn. It holds so many memories for us. It was the place we stayed when we got engaged in Charleston and where we stayed when we were married in Waterfront park a year later. When we go back for romantic getaways it is the only place we go. It is more expensive than some options, but we think it's worth the extra cost. The staff is friendly and authentic: not stuffy at all, yet completely professional. The little bonuses are nice (wine, cheese, cookies, milk) but nothing to write home about. The rooms and beds are above the rest though! The breakfast is better than most continentals with boiled eggs and lots of options that you check off on a nightly menu.

This may sound a strange thing until you've been there, but it smells wonderful in the building -- as soon as you walk in you are greeted by this subtle yet inviting scent. I don't know why that sticks with me, probably because we have so many memories there.

Room Tip: The Harbour View rooms are the ones worth staying in. If you're looking for the full experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

First of all, don’t feel strange! We do have a LemonGrass and Green Tea scent in our lobbies, and it is wonderful that you associate those smells with the HarbourView Inn and such special memories. We are thrilled that we are the place you choose for romantic occasions and we hope you continue you to stay with us on your anniversaries to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a charming hotel in downtown Charleston. Within walking distance to great restaurants, rainbow row, the market and the downtown shops. Front desk staff was very friendly upon check in. The best part is all the perks this hotel offers but doesn't really advertise. All you can drink bottled water at the front desk. Refrigerators in the rooms are always nice too. From 4-5 each day is complimentary wine and cheese served in the common area. From 9-10 each night is complimentary milk and cookies served in the lobby overlooking the harbor. I'm sure they were happy for us to leave since my husband and kids each had about 5 cc cookies each evening!
The biggest surprise was learning we had free breakfast each morning. Each evening you fill out a card with what you would like for breakfast and choose if you want it delivered to your room, the common area or the roof top patio. You also let them know the time you want it delivered. They call you when they are delivering so you can be ready. It was wonderful!!! Would definitely visit the Harbourview inn again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TCM327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We are so glad that you were wonderfully surprised by our special touches! Thank you for complementing our staff and amenities, and we are glad that you were able to enjoy each of our amenities. We certainly hope that you visit the HarbourView Inn again, there is plenty left to explore within walking distance of the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked the hotel on line and were extremely disappointed when we entered our room and looked out at a lot dominated by what appeared to be an electrical substation on one side and a blank wall on the other. We tried to have our room changed but nothing else was available. Nothing on the website prepared us for this awful window view. The room was very comfortable, the morning breakfasts were great and the City of Charleston is outstanding but we couldnt get past the view. Clearly paying $400 plus per night and getting this view is absurd. On our next trip to Charleston we will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: make sure you are not looking at the power station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. While we are glad that you enjoyed the room itself, breakfasts and the city of Charleston, we are saddened that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are sorry for any confusion that may have taken place when you were selecting your room type when your reservations were made. We do have varying levels of room types some with views of the Harbour, others without, at varying prices. We do hope you will reconsider and stay with us another time, and book a HarbourView room on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Harbourview Inn is conveniently located and just a short walk from all the major attractions in Chalreston. The staff is friendly and welcoming and the rooms are nicely sized. The perks like the wine and cheese and breakfasts are nice. The common areas like the lobby and dining area are very small and feel crowded with more than just a few people. One thing I found extremely irritating here were the push button toilets. You have to put the seat down in order to flush. The other problem was that there was no view (unless you consider electrical works a view) from our room. The mattresses are very comfortable and we both slept very well. I think you will enjoy your time at the Harbourview.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not getting a room that looks out on the electrical system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed many of the hotels features including our wine and cheese and complimentary breakfast as well as your time with our staff. I am sorry to hear that you found the toilets difficult to flush. We do have select rooms available with HarbourViews, and we hope to accommodate you on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,242 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
491 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $267 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing