We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations, great location”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My family stayed here to be within walking distance of Charleston's historic district. Turns out this hotel is right on the harbor, directly across the street from the harborside park near The Battery. We were delighted with a standard room which was much larger than any hotel's standard room in which I've stayed, very spacious, immaculate. If there is a more comfortable bed anywhere in America, I am not aware of it. Great service that was always willing to go the extra mile, and knowledgeable of the city's attractions. You also get a discount on carriage rides through the city with your stay. We hardly had to drive due to the central location to so many of Charleston's sights and restaurants. One of the finest places I've stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank levi5440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn and for taking the time to review the HarbourView Inn. We are proud to have exceeded your expectations and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend (Jan. 6th/7th/8th, 2012) at the Harbourview Inn. I must say this is one of the best places I have ever stayed. This was my first time in Charleston, but the staff made it feel like I had been a returning customer for years. Every single staff person was polite, helpful, and professional. They offer complementary cheese and wine 5-6pm every day along with milk and fresh from the oven cookies (9-10pm)... YUP you read that right, milk and cookies. We stayed in the one suite they have, and if you have the opportunity to upgrade... take it. With two balconies and a spa tub, it is worth the extra money. It is within walking distance of basically anything you could want to do in Charleston.

Room Tip: The suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmlane27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

We would like to express our gratitude for your review. Thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all the complimentary offerings and the dedication of the staff. We hope you will return to Charleston and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just spent three nights at the Harbourview Inn. It was heaven -- attentive staff, extra amenities and perfect location.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your three night stay with at the HarbourView Inn. Thank you for your review and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had our last night here before heading back to the UK at the end of a family holiday and reunion in November 2011. Very friendly and helpful and comfortable. I liked the complimentary evening drinks where you could meet and chat with fellow guests! Close to most things in Charleston and to the sea front.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view if you want one (though to be honest it is not right next to the sea).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

We are glad you chose to stay with us after visiting with your family over the Holiday. Thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn. We love hearing how much our guests enjoy Charleston and the offerings of the hotel. We hope you will have the opportunity to return to Charleston and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent two marvelous nights at the Harbourview last week and couldn't be more pleased. The staff, from the front door to the front desk, were all incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our brief stay. We originally planned on only staying one night, but were having so much fun that we asked to add a night at the last minute. As our room was not available for another night, we were upgraded to the penthouse and LOVED the fireplace! We would have enjoyed the complementary milk and cookies from 9-10pm, however, we had better things to do... like drinking at Squeeze (the best bar in town... 213 E Bay St,) And we also would have enjoyed the complementary wine and cheese from 7-8pm, but we were at Squeeze then, too! On the day when we were not too hung over (yes, from Squeeze) we enjoyed the breakfast as well.

Oh, and the tempurpedic mattress saved our relationship. We took it with us. Don't say anything.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

We are excited and proud to have hosted your first trip to Charleston. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for your great review of the HarbourView Inn. The TempurPedic beds are always a favorite. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was our second or third stay at the Harbourview Inn, and it did not disappoint. The location is right downtown, overlooking the harbor (truly is harbor view!), so most things are within walking distance. This is a strong plus since Charleston is a great city to view on foot. The room we stayed in (4th floor penthouse room, thank you for the upgrade), was in great condition - from the TemperPedic mattress to the whirlpool tub to the terry robes to the private balcony.

The staff was friendly and ready to accommodate any of our needs. While they were attentive, they were not overbearing, which I've found at other hotels.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. My wife and I are Charleston locals and this was a mid-week, off-peek, in-town vacation. Due to the date we stayed, we had the pick of a number of different options, and we chose the Harbourview for a reason. We'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking the water provide great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adampom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

We are delighted to hear about your recent stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. We value all of our guests’ feedback, especially our repeat guests. Thank you very much for your gracious comments and we hope you will return to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Rarely do you encounter a hotel staff that truly cares that your stay lives up to expectations on all levels. From the quality of our sleep in the most comfortable bed we've ever experienced to the treats and warm drinks at all times of the day, Harbourview was top notch. We will return soon and can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

We would like to thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn. The HarbourView Inn sincerely cares and strives to deliver the best possible service while exceeding all guests’ expectations. We hope you will return to Charleston and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,990 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,314 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $229 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing