We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a harbor view or not....doesn't matter”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our stay at the Harbourview Inn in Charleston was wonderful. We picked Harbourview because of its location and were not disappointed. The Inn is across the street from the harbor and a beautiful park and fountain. We were within walking distance to most of Charleston’s restaurants and historical sites. Also, we were across the street from the trolley stop. By the way, the trolley is a free service which will take you to Charleston locations not within walking distance.
Our room was huge, the bathroom was magnificent and our free breakfast was delivered to our room each morning!
Don’t miss the Harbourview Inn if you are going to Charleston even if you don’t get a room with a harbor view. There is a rooftop terrace where you can take it all in (also, you can have your breakfast delivered to the rooftop terrace each morning).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trying2Retire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

We would like to thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn. We are very grateful of your kind words and we would love to have you come back and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,498 - 1,504 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have traveled for several years and stayed in many 4* and 5* hotels, but this hotel was the best ......from the beautiful, quite, comfortable room to the fabulous service. The location was perfect and we could walk or ride the free shuttle anywhere in Historic Charleston. The view overlooking the harbour, the long pier, and the beautiful Water Park was breathtaking. We cannot wait to visit Harbourview Inn again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Harbourview Room #304 was perfect .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennyemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

We greatly appreciate being recognized as the best hotel you have ever stayed in. Thank you so much for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your recent visit to Charleston. We will be awaiting your return to the HarbourView Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stunning. The rooms are large with very comgortable parge wooden beds. best sleep I have had in a long while! Wine and cheese at 5pm and homemade cookies at 9pm, all part of the service. Breakfast on the roof terrace in the morning was delightful. Polite staff. Loved it. Romantic.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfallen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your stay in Charleston. We appreciate your comments regarding the HarbourView Inn and hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I brought my mother to Charleston for a family reunion and stayed at the HarbourView Inn. It was perfect in every way. The staff was gracious and helpful. The room was exquisite. Breakfast every morning was delivered to our room as requested and we even had breakfast on the rooftop terrace for Mother's Day. Shops and restaurants are right out the front door with waterfront park and the ferry terminal across the street. The neighborhood is scenic, charming and sophisticated. The location can't be beat with everything within walking distance. In our opinion, this is the best Charleston has to offer. We can't wait to return. Our thanks to Nick Saltmarsh, Matt Burros, Tyler Dockery and their delightful staff for a wonderful, memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DODonohue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

We are excited that you and your mother were able to visit Charleston for a family reunion. Thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn. We are very pleased we were able to accommodate you and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Hotel is great location with beautiful views of the harbor. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was included in the rate and it was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30196Travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Congratulations on your anniversary! We are pleased you chose to stay with us and had a great time. We hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days. Every single staff member we encountered was nothing short of excellent. Our room overlooked an electric sub-station, so the Harbourview was only accessible from the lobby for us. The continental breakfast, which was included in the room price, was very dull considering the price of the hotel. There is no pool, bar or restaurant. The valet parking certainly adds to the cost but the valets were very fast and parking otherwise would have been very difficult in this downtown situation. The lack of a restaurant isn't a big deal considering you are very close to at least 2 excellent restaurants (High Cotton was one, I forget the name of the other) as well as many others. I just felt disappointed with the lack of facilities overall. The rooftop view at night was a good place to go. With a bar it would have been even better. The lack of pool in a couple of days of very high humidity was a let down. At one point, we considered putting on swimsuits and going across the street to the fountain to cool off (but we didn't). In what I perceive is an attempt to make up for the lack of restaurant/bar, there is a free wine/cheese hour every evening. I was pleasantly surprised by the wine quality. Also free late night cookies were a hit with my wife.
Next time we will try Charleston Place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. We appreciate your review of the HarbourView Inn and hope you will consider coming back to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and the cookies. Thank you again for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your recent visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Perfect location, top notch service and great accommodations! The staff treated us like royalty -- greeted us by name every time we walked through the lobby and answered every question with a smile and helpful suggestion. It was our first visit to Charleston and HarbourView, but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

We are so excited that you chose to stay with us during your first of many visits to Charleston. The HarbourView Inn staff strives to accommodate and take care of every guest they encounter. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,905 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,240 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
489 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $269 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing