We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hotel we have ever stayed in !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Alvaton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel we have ever stayed in !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have traveled for several years and stayed in many 4* and 5* hotels, but this hotel was the best ......from the beautiful, quite, comfortable room to the fabulous service. The location was perfect and we could walk or ride the free shuttle anywhere in Historic Charleston. The view overlooking the harbour, the long pier, and the beautiful Water Park was breathtaking. We cannot wait to visit Harbourview Inn again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Harbourview Room #304 was perfect .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
We greatly appreciate being recognized as the best hotel you have ever stayed in. Thank you so much for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your recent visit to Charleston. We will be awaiting your return to the HarbourView Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    266
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
311
1,036
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth, australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stunning. The rooms are large with very comgortable parge wooden beds. best sleep I have had in a long while! Wine and cheese at 5pm and homemade cookies at 9pm, all part of the service. Breakfast on the roof terrace in the morning was delightful. Polite staff. Loved it. Romantic.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nfallen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your stay in Charleston. We appreciate your comments regarding the HarbourView Inn and hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I brought my mother to Charleston for a family reunion and stayed at the HarbourView Inn. It was perfect in every way. The staff was gracious and helpful. The room was exquisite. Breakfast every morning was delivered to our room as requested and we even had breakfast on the rooftop terrace for Mother's Day. Shops and restaurants are right out the front door with waterfront park and the ferry terminal across the street. The neighborhood is scenic, charming and sophisticated. The location can't be beat with everything within walking distance. In our opinion, this is the best Charleston has to offer. We can't wait to return. Our thanks to Nick Saltmarsh, Matt Burros, Tyler Dockery and their delightful staff for a wonderful, memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DODonohue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
We are excited that you and your mother were able to visit Charleston for a family reunion. Thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn. We are very pleased we were able to accommodate you and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Hotel is great location with beautiful views of the harbor. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was included in the rate and it was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30196Travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Congratulations on your anniversary! We are pleased you chose to stay with us and had a great time. We hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days. Every single staff member we encountered was nothing short of excellent. Our room overlooked an electric sub-station, so the Harbourview was only accessible from the lobby for us. The continental breakfast, which was included in the room price, was very dull considering the price of the hotel. There is no pool, bar or restaurant. The valet parking certainly adds to the cost but the valets were very fast and parking otherwise would have been very difficult in this downtown situation. The lack of a restaurant isn't a big deal considering you are very close to at least 2 excellent restaurants (High Cotton was one, I forget the name of the other) as well as many others. I just felt disappointed with the lack of facilities overall. The rooftop view at night was a good place to go. With a bar it would have been even better. The lack of pool in a couple of days of very high humidity was a let down. At one point, we considered putting on swimsuits and going across the street to the fountain to cool off (but we didn't). In what I perceive is an attempt to make up for the lack of restaurant/bar, there is a free wine/cheese hour every evening. I was pleasantly surprised by the wine quality. Also free late night cookies were a hit with my wife.
Next time we will try Charleston Place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. We appreciate your review of the HarbourView Inn and hope you will consider coming back to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and the cookies. Thank you again for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your recent visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Perfect location, top notch service and great accommodations! The staff treated us like royalty -- greeted us by name every time we walked through the lobby and answered every question with a smile and helpful suggestion. It was our first visit to Charleston and HarbourView, but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
We are so excited that you chose to stay with us during your first of many visits to Charleston. The HarbourView Inn staff strives to accommodate and take care of every guest they encounter. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This hotel is located in the perfect spot in downtown Charleston. This was our first trip to Charleston, so I was glad everything was within easy walking distance. We booked the Romance Package through the hotel, which was pricey, but well worth it. It included a $100 gift card to a local restaurant, a horse carriage tour, as well as some other amenities in your room. The hotel booked the restaurant & carriage tour reservations for us, well in advance, and our 1st anniversary celebration went off without a hitch! The employees are so very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. We stayed here specifically for the water views, and we were not disappointed. I think we had the best room in the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDubbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
We are proud you chose to celebrate your first anniversary with us at the HarbourView Inn. With it being your first trip to Charleston, it pleases us that we were helpful with booking reservations, making recommendations, and contributing to a successful anniversary trip. We hope you will return again next year for your second anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,506 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing