We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #21 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed in one of the townhouses with 4 people. Adequate room, 1/2 bath downstairs and sofa bed was comfortable. Very clean, staff responsive to requests ( extra towels etc.). Continental breakfast was good, I always look for protien and they had hard boiled eggs and sausage gravy. Biscuits were yummy. No problem with seating, but you could take it back to your room, even if across the street, it was no problem. Within walking distance to anything in the downtown area.Only drawback is that there was street noise on 2 mornings, early, but that has to be expected downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guseroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2009

Thanks for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay here at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated Townhouse Suites. It is great to know you also noticed the new biscuits and gravy that we recently added to the continental breakfast for the Season. It is always refreshing to hear feedback from our guest when we make changes and improvements on the property.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,504 - 1,510 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2009

I really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are very comfortably furnished and quite charming. The staff could not be nicer and more helpful. A definite thumbs-up!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethgAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments of your recent stay with us here at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

It is most rewarding to know that we are meeting and even exceeding a guest's expectations when staying with us.

We wish to continue finding ways to make our guest's stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible in the future.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Small hotel with true small town charm. Clean, confortable rooms. The front desk was very helpful in choosing points of interest & restaurants. Plus the warm cookies were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandmaNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the API in late September 2009 as part of an Anniversary/Babymoon vacation. We selected this property because of its centralized location, its historic ambiance, and the relatively inexpensive price compared to other hotels in the area.

Upon arrival, the first thing we noticed was the lack of parking. I pulled into the tiny courtyard behind reception and had to block someone in in order to go in to check in. At check-in, I was given vouchers to park in the Bank of America deck nearby (the rate was then charged to my hotel bill). This wasn't exceptionally convenient (the deck has no elevator, and many of the spots are reserved for other businesses), but it was enclosed and safe.

We reserved a standard King, but were upgraded to a mini-suite at check-in, which was very welcome and generous. We were also housed in the building across the street, which I preferred, as the lobby building had exterior corridors. Our room was quite comfortable. There was no view (just a rooftop) from our 2nd floor room, but this wasn't an issue for us. We did notice a surprising lack of enclosed storage. There were two small drawers a shelf in the TV cabinet, but that was all. Still, overall the room was quite pleasant. There was a common area (available as overflow breakfast seating) outside of our room which was used by some guests during the day and somewhat noisy, but it was extremely quiet at night.

A general note: The hotel seemed to try to "stay out of the way" of the traveler, almost to the extent of being aloof. Information at check-in was limited to breakfast, parking, and vending location. The room contained no "hotel book" about amenities or local attractions. There were some Charleston-themed magazines there, but these didn't provide any practical information. I discovered the high speed internet on a whim, just as I found the book of local restaurant menus (and the free cookies) in the lobby rather by accident. There wasn't even a listing of TV channels. For their part, the staff was very friendly and willing to answer questions, but I still would have liked a binder in the room with this type of information.

Breakfast was on the 4th floor of our building on a really nice balcony. The breakfast itself was simple (just muffins, bagels, yogurt, and cereal), but sufficient. The woman who ran the breakfast area was very pleasant and helpful. The balcony was also open to the guests at other times of the day; we enjoyed spending time up there in the evening as well.

The hotel location is fantastic -- just a block down Church Street to Market Street, and a block over from Meeting St. This provided excellent access to local restaurants. The streets ARE side streets, though; Hank's Seafood backs onto the building, and we often passed kitchen workers taking breaks on their stoop along the road. They were pleasant enough, though. One even pointed out to me that the parking meters weren't required after 6pm.

Beyond exploring Market Street, you'll need transportation to see the other sights. We saw bike taxis available at Church & Market, but we used our car for most things.

We recommend Hyman's for seafood (expect to wait), and Bocci's for Italian. Both are in walking distance from the hotel, and you can get coupons in many of the local tourism books. For lunch one day, we opted to purchase hot sandwiches from the Harris Teeter grocery store on East Bay, and then walk down to Waterfront Park. It was a bit of a hike, but the wooden swings on the pier made for a relaxing lunch!

Overall, our stay was quite pleasant. Despite the eccentricities, we'd stay here again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaadaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with other future guest. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Unfortunatly due to the land lock in the Historic District, parking is of a premium. We wish that we did not have to offer overflow parking next door in the Bank of America Garage but this is a common issue in all of downtown Charleston for every hotel. We try to make it as easy and painless as possible.

I was disappointed to hear that we did not do a very good job of informing you of all our wonderful amenities and services. We currently have beautiful new guest service directories that are being placed in the guest rooms in the near future. We wanted to update
them due to cable television additions of digital channels and reorganization of their channels along with many other changes and upgrades to the property etc.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future to experience our continued improvements.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

If you're looking for a quaint, boutique-style hotel in the heart of Charleston, this is the hotel for you! Very nicely decorated, updated hotel found footsteps away from the center of historic part of town. Access to all the top restaurants, a 10 minute drive to the beach, and a walk to everything "touristy" you'd want to see, without being on a noisy road. In August, we only paid $99+free parking+free breakfast. Who can beat that?
My only complaint is the "queen" bed was more like an uncomfortable "double" and the old air conditioner was loud and kept waking us up at night.
But, overall, I'd recommend this hotel for those of you on a budget, but like modeern boutique-style hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

We are excited to know that you had such a pleasant stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We definitly are a great alternative with good rates to other hotels in the downtown historic area.

As we continue making improvements on our property we listen closely to our guest's comments and suggestions. We will be upgrading our bedding in the near future for an even more comfortable stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

We hope to see you again in the near future so that you can experience our continued improvements and upgrades.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay, great location, great staff. Could improve on the breakfast but it was include and satisfied my husband and I. Will be back for another visit!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross10606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments of your pleasant stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

We hope that you will return soon to enjoy the new additions to our continental breafast. We have added seasonal items such as fresh baked biscuits and sausage gravy. We have also added other fresh baked goods and we are also experimenting with other various items throughout the Winter.

Thanks again for staying with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Great location! Walking distance to all the good shops and restaurants. Great staff-very helpful and nice. Rooms were ok--very small and bathrooms were very small. The main problem i had with the hotel though is the noise from the rooftop breakfast in the morning. Our room was right by the staircase to the rooftop and right below the rooftop breakfast--very noisy. Starting at 7 am it sounded like the russian army was on top of us--chairs, tables, people moving around for 4 straight hours. Dont plan on getting much rest if you have this third floor room. Wish the staff would have warned us or at least given us the option to change to another room. Overall for the price and friendliness of the staff and the location--its worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catbird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our gracious staff and wonderful location in the Historic District.

I would like to let you and other future guest know that we do have a variety of guest rooms in our inventory of different sizes and views. Because the Inn was designed in a historic building from the 1800's you will have unique features and sizes in most all rooms. Please let us know when booking in the future that you would prefer one of our Traditional Rooms instead of a Historic Value Room or even one of our Suites.

Because of comments such as yours we are currently addressing different methods in which we can soften any noise concerns from the Rooftop Terrace Breakfast area.

Please keep us in mind when visiting Charleston in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,888 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
991 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $156 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district and recently restored, the Andrew Pinckney Inn is at the center of everything Charleston has to offer. With our ideal downtown location, find yourself just steps away from the lively atmosphere of renowned restaurants and shops that surround Charleston’s historic City Market. For over 200 years, the Charleston City Market has been a retreat for both locals and visitors to find unique treasures delivered by over 100 vendors. And with a mild year-round climate, Charleston, SC is best enjoyed outdoors. Spend the day exploring our charming city, or soak in the warm sunshine on our rooftop terrace which boasts stunning views of the Charleston skyline and vibrant harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing