We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“above average, especially if you get a good rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very good hotel. Rooms are updated. Clean. Friendly staff. Nice, free breakfast every morning outdoors on the 4th floor patio. Same for wine and cheese every afternoon. And it's actually a breakfast and afternoon snack that you want to eat. Good location but close to the city's horse carriages. Some area for improvement - bathroom a little tight, no safe, no mini-bar, ice only on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anontrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We appreciate the kind words as it is certainly rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay especially the Breakfast and Afternoon Wine & Cheese amenities offered on our Rooftop Terrace.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

The queen bedroom was described as ( either into the atrium or street) but there was no window in our bedroom at all. The bathroom drain plug did not work. There was insufficient tables for breakfast. I asked for champagne in the room but it never came. I asked for it to be delivered the next night but it never came again. Very poor service for a room that was $259 per night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

It is certainly disappointing to know that poor communication on the part of our staff greatly contributed to an uninspiring stay on your recent visit to Charleston. I can assure you that the events that you speak of are most uncommon amongst our staff as we take great pride in delivering some of the finest guest service in Charleston. We hope that you give us the opportunity again in the future to not only meet but exceed your expectations in every way.

Sincerely,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our first visit to Charleston and we absolutely enjoyed staying at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As soon as we arrived the staff was pleasant and so very helpful. We were close to everything; carriage rides a block away, restaurants, open market, shopping, boutiques, bars, etc... Our room was on the second floor and nicely appointed with the southern historic charm, with four large windows (love the plantation shutters), just wish it had a floor length mirror. Every morning we had breakfast on the terrace, and ventured there in the early/late evening (BYOB) to the terrace to enjoy the ambiance. The staff was helpful in selecting restaurants that we were interested in, and amazing restaurants they have, all within walking distance. I walked every morning to the Battery and felt very safe strolling the area, even alone. In the late afternoon they had refreshing beverages and cookies in the main building, and if you need an umbrella they have them. The concierge booked our dinner reservations and was also so very helpful with directions outside of Charleston. We will certainly visit again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms large and sunny and the plantation shutters were a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABRAHAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

We are honored that you chose the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your first visit to Charleston. So glad to know that you enjoyed our relaxing West Indies décor especially the plantation shutters. Thank you for the wonderful comments of our staff's friendliness and fine service. We take great pride in pampering our guest.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were looking for a quiet place to stay near Meeting Street. Every staff member we encountered at the hotel was incredibly helpful and knowledgable! We stayed in the Church Street building and found the room to be very nice. You can pay a lot more for worse accommodations in this city.

Room Tip: A few rooms are close to the breakfast area in the Church Street building. Ask about the room locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveltoDive01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We certainly appreciate the kind words of the knowledgeable and friendly service offered to you during your stay by our entire staff especially our concierge team.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Somewhat smallish room more than made up for with overall ambiance. We loved sitting on the rooftop terrace in the evening, watching the carriage horses being walked back to their barn or trailer each night, then watching the process reversed each morning. The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk to the Market and all of the restaurants and shops that Historic Charleston offers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hbarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed the wonderful views and relaxing moments on our Rooftop Terrace during your stay. The Rooftop Terrace is certainly a wonderful feature of our Inn especially this time of year. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in April. Friendly staff, great location, excellent breakfast included. Only slight negative would be if staying for longer would be nice to have a room with natural light - our room (411) only had one window looking out onto the stairwell/atrium.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarlet1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay. We are delighted to know that you found our Inn charming with a knowledgeable and friendly staff. Glad to hear how much you also enjoyed our Rooftop Breakfast with it's fine views onto the Market.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Traveling on business, I love this Hotel. It's location is perfect. It is located downtown, in a safe area and within easy walking to all the best restaurants and attractions. The friendly staff treat you like family and greet you with smiling faces and eager to help with anything. The valet parking is very convenient and reasonable. Best of all is the breakfast that is included with your reservation. It's an open (but does have enclosure flaps in chilly or bad weather) balcony that looks over the market. The food is wonderful and filling. You are steps away from to the market and Waterfront Park. The double bed room was nice & roomy. The bathroom was a little small, but this is a historical hotel! The entire hotel is very clean and has wonderful linens. The staff are extremely polite and gracious. I'll be traveling back for business soon and look forward to seeing my Charleston family.

Room Tip: If you are a light or late sleeper, Room 303 is directly below the breakfast area and the staff star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent visit at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We certainly appreciate your patronage and loyalty as you travel to Charleston often for business. It is an honor for our staff to build relationships with our repeat guest. Thank you again for making the Andrew Pinckney Inn your "home away from home".

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,834 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $189 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district and recently restored, the Andrew Pinckney Inn is at the center of everything Charleston has to offer. With our ideal downtown location, find yourself just steps away from the lively atmosphere of renowned restaurants and shops that surround Charleston’s historic City Market. For over 200 years, the Charleston City Market has been a retreat for both locals and visitors to find unique treasures delivered by over 100 vendors. And with a mild year-round climate, Charleston, SC is best enjoyed outdoors. Spend the day exploring our charming city, or soak in the warm sunshine on our rooftop terrace which boasts stunning views of the Charleston skyline and vibrant harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing