We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay in room 301.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay in room 301.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice and conveniently located. There are two buildings and we stayed in the one across from the registration area. The room was nicely decorated and spacious. There was a patio on the fourth floor which had great views. The only problem with that though was it was directly above us. At 6am every morning they started setting up for breakfast which was very loud. Then everyone started coming in. It truly sounded like tables being moved until 10am. We spoke to the front desk on or second night and told him they should warn people if they were not early risers. He didn't say much and it seemed like this was not a new complaint. Overall our stay would have been fine if not for the noise including from outside as the windows were not very thick.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bvear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    375
    135
    54
    36
See reviews for
263
818
43
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Andrew Pinckney Inn in Charleston is in an ideal location; you can walk to most things. The inn itself is lovely. Rooms very comfortable. People at the desk were most helpful with ideas for restaurants and things to see. Breakfast was ample with many good choices.

Room Tip: If we travel here again, would not pick Rm. 114. It overlooks the street and was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
As you mentioned our location is ideal to shopping, dining, touring and many other fun adventures in the heart of the historic district. We appreciate your kind words and thank you for taking the time to post for other potential guest to view as well.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Andrew Pinckney Inn is definitely lovely and historic but along with the charm that comes some trade-offs. This property is in a fantastic location within Charleston, close to great restaurants and shopping. The staff is also very friendly and welcoming. If it weren't for the fact that I found the beds very uncomfortable (too hard) and found it impossible to sleep I would give it a higher rating---I really wanted to. The hotel is very noisy as you can hear everything through the walls of the room. As a result, it doesn't really feel like there is much privacy. If you do stay here, bring some ear plugs and, unless you enjoy your bed to be hard as a rock, bring along a mattress pad too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments It is most rewarding to know that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and our location ideal for shopping and dining. It is unfortunate though that our bedding did not suit your taste perhaps in the future there will be more bedding options that we can offer our guest.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Andrew Pinckney on two occasions in April this year.
The minute we walked in the door we knew we had made the right choice; the unforced charm of the young men at the desk, the helpful porter waiting to carry our bags - to say nothing of the coffee and fresh fruit juice always available in the reception area! - all of these made us feel welcomed, made us feel like friends.
Our room with its great wooden bedhead, the white shutters at the window, was such a joy to walk into - and so comfortable to stay in.
And the breakfast on the high terrace so tasty and plentiful, the perfect start to a day in this most beautiful of towns.
We felt "at home" and this is such a special experience when one is travelling.
The excellent young men in Reception were a fund of information and help. They knew all the best restaurants, could fix anything, just as a friend would were one staying in a private house.
And the Andrew Pinckney is downtown. Nothing jars at this most comfortable inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cordia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the beautiful comments you posted for other potential guest to view. It is a pleasure to hear from all our guest but especially our international friends. Our staff takes great pride in the service that we provide and we are delighted to know that you noticed that fact. We certainly appreciate that you choose the Andrew Pinckney Inn not only once but twice on your recent visit to the US. We hope to see you again next year.

Cheers,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

i don't think there's anything people haven't already said. i felt i should reaffirm previous comments. With noisy neighbors, you can hear thru the walls. Normally though (and it was a very busy wkend) i doubt it would be a problem. Wkend breakfast slightly more upscale than during the wk. Front desk very helpful. Coffee, bottled H2O, lemonade, biscuits or cookies always available. The women who clean your room take pride in the building and are very friendly.
We will return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay. It is great to know that you had a lovely stay with us. We appreciate the comments of our staff's friendliness and attention to detail. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Converted former horse carriage business. Room interiors excellent quality, but many rooms have tiny windows (to preserve the original appearance) and nondescript outlooks. Courtyard parking very limited but garage available by valet, all at $20 a day extra. So called deluxe continental breakfast a joke and served only on opensided rooftop. Plastic screens are pulled down in wind or rain but are far from full protection. Ate there once only out of 5 mornings despite it being on offer free, comment enough

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bert3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Yes indeed the Andrew Pinckney Inn is a historic inn housed in structures built in the 1880's but renovated to offer modern facilities for today's traveler. We hope you visit again soon to experience our continued enhancement of amenities and guest services.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We just returned from our first ever visit to Charleston. We felt fortunate to stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. The location of perfect. We were so close to everything in the downtown area. Our room was in the annex across the street and it was beautiful. Yes the street was a bit noisy, but we just ran the fan during the night and did not notice the noise from the street after that. Our first night was interrupted by extremely loud, rude people around us, but that was not the fault of the hotel, just the fault of the rude people. But the staff at the hotel was very concerned about the interruption and took care of us in an extremely nice way at check out. The staff was incredible. Always welcoming and ready to answer any questions we had. And they gave excellent recommendations for places to eat:) I have already suggested this Inn to my friends who are traveling to Charleston soon, and we definitely plan on returning here ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review for other potential guest to view. We appreciate the comments of our staff's friendliness and guest service. Your recommendation of the Andrew Pinckney Inn to your friends is sincerely appreciated. We look forwarding to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing