We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Around Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our 15 year anniversary and loved every aspect of our stay. From the moment we were greeted by our valet attendant until the time we departed, every hotel employee was friendly and informative. The location is perfect and within walking distance of an endless assortment of places to eat, shop, and have a drink. Excellent massage location just two blocks away as well as the market.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful review of your recent stay. We appreciate you selecting the Andrew Pinckney Inn for such a special occasion and hope that you keep us in mind when planning another special getaway in the future.

Thanks again,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

I agree wholeheartedly with previous reviews as to great location, extremely pleasant and helpful staff, and quality of rooms. I thought the breakfast was exceptional. The list of offerings does not do the quality of the food justice: the fruit bowl was all fresh including pineapple, citrus, strawberries, blueberries, and the bakery croissants and biscuits were bakery made, not grocery store quality. The breakfast room is an outdoor porch with a fantastic view. Even though there were plastic "walls" it was cool on our 40 degree morning. It did warm up as the sun came up. And there is the option to take a tray to the atrium.

Valet parking - I would recommend getting the valet parking option. For $20 your car is inside and more secure than on the street, and it was the same price as most of the lots I saw without the security or convenience. We were only there one night, so you may want to check out other options if you are going to be there for an extended period of time.

Room - our room was in the Church Street building. It was small but sufficient to our needs. Our window looked into the sitting room in the atrium. Even so, it was quiet, but I might look into another room for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nj0ylf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay. It is great to know how much you enjoyed our Rooftop breakfast and our fine location. Our staff takes great pride in knowing that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. Please keep us in mind when traveling to Charleston in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just spent 4 nights at the Andrew Pinckney inn. It is a delightful inn perfectly located in Charleston.You can walk to dozens of restaurants ,shops museums ,mansions etc. The staff is superb and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. A decent breakfast is served daily and will include coffee juice, yogurt, egg bake ,rolls and bagels. Rooms are clean and spacious. Only negative we found was the rooms were not as quiet as we would have liked.We could hear breakfast preparation daily at about 6am,on the floor above us. If i went again I would avoid the 3rd floor for that reason.All in all though, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post the kind comments of your recent stay. We certainly appreciate the remarks of our staff's friendliness and outstanding guest service. Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Excellent service from arrival, dinning reservations, sites to see, check-in and out. room cleanliness and needs. Great location with in walking distance of everything. Second stay within four months and won't be the last.

Room Tip: Stay on atrium side of hotel on street sides. Rooms are brighter and more floors, making it quitter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.. It is most rewarding to hear from our repeat guest and know that we are your first choice when visiting the Charleston area. We certainly appreciate your patronage.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Before we even got there, I had called numerous times to the point that my wife said that I was a pest, but you would never guess that by the patience supplied by the front desk (Aaron & Andre). When we arrived the staff could not be more helpful in finding us dinner reservations, attractions, and directions. Even the valets were wonderful. Nothing was an effort for them which helped to make our vacation extremely enjoyable. Our room was charming and immaculate, thanks to the cleaning staff. The location of the inn is perfect. We found that we could walk to some great restaurants like Hanks, FIG, and Halls. We also were there for the Wine & Food Festival and Aaron & Andre always had a cab waiting, if we did not want to make the walk. A truly great experience. Thank you, Andrew Pinckney and you wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is most rewarding to know that our staff provided such fine guest service to make for a most comfortable stay. We hope that you have found a new "home away from home" at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I don't like to brag, but I have the BEST boyfriend in the world. For my birthday, he took me into downtown Charleston for a little weekend getaway, and he chose the most charming, boutique inn right in the heart of the historic district. The lobby was elegant, but welcoming, and full of information about tours and restaurants. Jeff checked us in at the front desk and told us all about the property and surrounding areas. He was very cordial and helpful.
All of our favorite places to eat in Charleston are within 5 to 10 minutes walking distance from this inn (East Bay's Restaurant Row). We had a blast out and about downtown and even got a free dolphin show in the evening over at Waterfront Park. It was nice to just be able to walk back to the Andrew Pinckney and sit on the rooftop terrace and relax. The breakfast they serve in the morning is more than just "continental," by my standards, but that's what they call it. It was the perfect and most convenient start to our day, and the lobby always had fresh tea and coffee available.
Andre was there for most of our stay and every time we walked in he greeted us and asked about our day. He also gave us several wonderful suggestions, such as the dolphin viewing from the pier, and was very attentive to our questions and needs. He went out of his way to help us select tours and restaurants and made all of the reservations for us. The whole staff at the Andrew Pinckney Inn was wonderful and I can't wait to go back there when we have a chance to take another "staycation!"

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiec03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We are so delighted to know how much you enjoyed your romantic getaway at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Thank you so much for the gracious comments of our guest service. As you mentioned our location is ideal to many fine restaurants and great shopping just footsteps away from the Market. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments for other potential guest to view.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've never been to Charleston before so on our way to Hilton Head Island, we made a detour. We love Charleston! The Inn is located right downtown and is a short walking distance to just about everything. You can see the market from the front lobby. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. They had recommendations for restaurants that were a great pick! The free breakfast was good but a tad heavy on the carbs so we ended up going out for breakfast on the second morning. The breakfast area was the social hub! We met some really nice fellow travellers. The rooms are not huge but are clean and comfortable. Our girls stayed in their own room with two double beds in comfort. Our queen rm was 'cozy' and two floors up from them. They have inside rooms without outside windows that are even cozier so ask for a room with a street window. There wasn't a fridge in either room. Tea, coffee, cold lemonade, cookies and biscotti are plentiful in the main lobby. We were in the annex across and I would have appreciated hot water for my tea in the same building. Overall, the experience was great. We would come back. Thank you Drew and Sandy for making us feel at home!! Check to see if there are on-line specials before booking.

Room Tip: Don't get an inside room in the annex building. They are tiny and without an outside window. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay It is a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed our Rooftop Breakfast each morning and our fine location in the historic district. We certainly hope that you will return in the near future. Thanks again for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,834 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $189 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district and recently restored, the Andrew Pinckney Inn is at the center of everything Charleston has to offer. With our ideal downtown location, find yourself just steps away from the lively atmosphere of renowned restaurants and shops that surround Charleston’s historic City Market. For over 200 years, the Charleston City Market has been a retreat for both locals and visitors to find unique treasures delivered by over 100 vendors. And with a mild year-round climate, Charleston, SC is best enjoyed outdoors. Spend the day exploring our charming city, or soak in the warm sunshine on our rooftop terrace which boasts stunning views of the Charleston skyline and vibrant harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing