We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I don't like to brag, but I have the BEST boyfriend in the world. For my birthday, he took me into downtown Charleston for a little weekend getaway, and he chose the most charming, boutique inn right in the heart of the historic district. The lobby was elegant, but welcoming, and full of information about tours and restaurants. Jeff checked us in at the front desk and told us all about the property and surrounding areas. He was very cordial and helpful.
All of our favorite places to eat in Charleston are within 5 to 10 minutes walking distance from this inn (East Bay's Restaurant Row). We had a blast out and about downtown and even got a free dolphin show in the evening over at Waterfront Park. It was nice to just be able to walk back to the Andrew Pinckney and sit on the rooftop terrace and relax. The breakfast they serve in the morning is more than just "continental," by my standards, but that's what they call it. It was the perfect and most convenient start to our day, and the lobby always had fresh tea and coffee available.
Andre was there for most of our stay and every time we walked in he greeted us and asked about our day. He also gave us several wonderful suggestions, such as the dolphin viewing from the pier, and was very attentive to our questions and needs. He went out of his way to help us select tours and restaurants and made all of the reservations for us. The whole staff at the Andrew Pinckney Inn was wonderful and I can't wait to go back there when we have a chance to take another "staycation!"

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiec03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We are so delighted to know how much you enjoyed your romantic getaway at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Thank you so much for the gracious comments of our guest service. As you mentioned our location is ideal to many fine restaurants and great shopping just footsteps away from the Market. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments for other potential guest to view.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
There are newer reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've never been to Charleston before so on our way to Hilton Head Island, we made a detour. We love Charleston! The Inn is located right downtown and is a short walking distance to just about everything. You can see the market from the front lobby. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. They had recommendations for restaurants that were a great pick! The free breakfast was good but a tad heavy on the carbs so we ended up going out for breakfast on the second morning. The breakfast area was the social hub! We met some really nice fellow travellers. The rooms are not huge but are clean and comfortable. Our girls stayed in their own room with two double beds in comfort. Our queen rm was 'cozy' and two floors up from them. They have inside rooms without outside windows that are even cozier so ask for a room with a street window. There wasn't a fridge in either room. Tea, coffee, cold lemonade, cookies and biscotti are plentiful in the main lobby. We were in the annex across and I would have appreciated hot water for my tea in the same building. Overall, the experience was great. We would come back. Thank you Drew and Sandy for making us feel at home!! Check to see if there are on-line specials before booking.

Room Tip: Don't get an inside room in the annex building. They are tiny and without an outside window. Che...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay It is a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed our Rooftop Breakfast each morning and our fine location in the historic district. We certainly hope that you will return in the near future. Thanks again for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The location was good. My husband and I were placed in a double queen room that was on the 3rd floor of the annex, across the street from the main desk and other rooms. The hotel was booked for the week-end and there were no kings available. Although nicely appointed, our room was very tight quarters, and there was a fair amount of street noise. The complimentary breakfast that was advertised as being 'deluxe' was very mediocre, with hard cooked eggs, biscuits and gravy, and the usual tasteless grocery store muffins and croissants served in every other 2 to 3 star hotel (Days Inn) across the country. The fresh fruit was the only thing that was deluxe. This very old and fairly nice hotel definitely has some issues with major adjacent construction, which is THE view from the well-advertised and promoted top floor breakfast room. We awoke to jack hammers the second morning. None of it was worth the price we paid, so although we'd booked for four days, we checked out after two nights and moved elsewhere. Parking was an additional $20 per day, which we could have avoided, but the valets were very nice and attentive.

Room Tip: Annex rooms were all noisy - those facing the street as well as those facing the adjacent constructi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your sincere comments of your recent stay. We apologize for the noise that you encountered during your stay from the City Parking lot project across the street. Obviously we have no control over their project but it should be completed in the next few weeks with an aesthetically pleasing tree lined area for parking spaces. I am sure you noticed the many construction projects in all of the historic downtown Charleston area as it is experiencing dynamic growth. We hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to not only meet but exceed your expectations in every facet.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for a girls get away weekend. The staff was terrific and made many great suggestions on where to eat and what to see. Rooms were large and well maintained. The stay included complimentary breakfast...however, you don't want your room near the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near the breakfast room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donutsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your special "Girl's Getaway Weekend". As you mentioned our location is most ideal for shopping, dining and much more. We appreciate your kind words of our service and charming accommodations. Please keep us in mind when visiting Charleston in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived in Charleston with no reservation and a tour guide suggested we try this hotel. It was perfect. The rooms were compact and were exactly what we needed. Guest services manager, Sandy Pelham was most accomodating and agreed to show us a room. This hotel is so conveniently located to great restaurants and tours. The rooms were clean and the hotel fairly quiet. I didnt want to leave and wish we had another night. The rates were so good. We did get two rooms and were there during the early part of the week. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Charleston.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you need a room away from the street side.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances40Honolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We take great pride in our guest service and it is most rewarding to hear such comments as yours of our staff's efforts. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

From the beginning of the stay to the end, Sandy and entire staff of the Pinckney made our stay so enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again on my next visit to Chaleston. The location was fantastic. breakfast was great, fresh fruit and hot flakey biscuits is a great way to start the day!

Room Tip: did not use room service as hotel had lemonade and coffee/tea and warm cookies available. Did not s...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the wonderful breakfast served on our Rooftop Terrace each morning. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nice hotel, in a great downtown location. Easily within walking distance to everything you will want to see in the historic district. The rooms are very nice, very clean, & comfortable. The breakfast on the rooftop terrace is generic low quality continental food, but sitting up top watching the morning start is beautiful.

We were put into the second building across the street from the lobby, & I was a little dismayed to realize that the doors are not locked at night. There is a key card lock on the door, but it was never locked. Being as that there is no lobby or staff in this building, and encountering some of the more colorful people on the streets late at night, I was not terribly pleased with this.

To advertise concierge service is false. My biggest complaint with this hotel was the lack of service we received. This was my first visit to Charleston, and in any new city, I always look to the hotel staff for ideas where to start. We asked about restaurants in the area, and were told there were lots, it depends what you want, and there is a binder of menus on the table. We asked who Andrew Pinckney was, and we were told he was a South Carolina Politician. There is zero information about the property in the rooms, the staff doesn't know or doesn't care. 3 days there, I can't tell you anything about the building, how old it was, what it was used for over the years, or anything about its name sake. We ended up getting some tips where to start & what to see from the Valet/Bellman, and from the concierge at the Hilton up the street.

While touring the city we found a play house that we wanted to visit that evening. The sign on the window stated that there was a show in progress, and to phone for reservations. Upon phoning we got a recording telling us to book online. The website did not show the dates in question. We were booked into 2 tours that afternoon, so called the "concierge" to have him secure tickets for us, and he promptly told us that he could do no different than us, and that we should just keep calling until they answered the phone. Laugh!! In every other hotel, the concierge trips over himself to secure whatever reservation you can dream up, and here we were told to do it ourselves!

It is a nice property, but in Charleston it is one of a hundred nice properties in a small area. Next time, I will certainly look at some of the others.....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJ9933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent visit to Charleston. As you mentioned our location is ideal for various adventures in the historic district and our accommodations quaint and charming. We greatly apologize for what appears to have been poor communication on behalf of our staff in handling your request for the purchase of theatre tickets. We take great pride in providing some of the finest guest service in Charleston and as you can see from previous postings we have a history of consistently delivering personal and excellent service for all our guest. We hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to not only meet but exceed your expectations in every facet.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,773 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $196 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing