We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights to celebrate our anniversary. We come to Charleston frequently but this was our first stay at this inn. The Andrew Pinckney is housed in two buildings -the carriagehouse is where you check in and also has some rooms. We stayed across the street in Andrew Pinckney's home. Our room was #308 and it was very nice. This particular room was not that large but had everything we needed. The bathroom is on the small side and has a tub/shower.
Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Drew, who took care of our car and luggage was terrific. There is a buffet breakfast which is nice (egg dish, biscuits, bagels, fruit, coffee and juices) and if the weather cooperates sitting on the rooftop terrace is lovely. We even took a bottle of wine up there one afternoon and enjoyed the view before going to dinner.
The inn has a fantastic location and both nights we walked to dinner.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

it is a delight to know how much you enjoyed your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We appreciate the kind words especially of the fine service rendered by our Valet Staff member Drew. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were warmly greeted by the receptionist and the bell hop, who quickly checked us in and got us up to our room. The bell hop was very knowledgable about the town and the hotel, even though he said he had only been working there for a week.

When we got to our room, we were disappointed to find that although it was beautifully decorated and very clean, it had no window. (Had a window to a common area in the center of the building, but that room also had no window to the exterior, thus no natural light at all). But because it was a weekday booking, we asked at the reception desk if we could be moved to a new room, which they quickly arranged at no additional cost (moved from a standard queen to the king suite). Although we had to wait until the following day to be moved, it was well worth the it for the upgrade. The room was beautiful with two walls of windows and plenty of space.

The staff, including the bell hop, receptionists, maids, valet and breakfast server, were extremely kind and friendly and seem sincerely happy to help with whatever we needed. Would definitely choose Andrew Pinckney again when staying in Charleston. We had a lovely trip.

Room Tip: it doesn't list on the website which room has no windows (and the receptionist led us to believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay. It is very rewarding to know that you found our entire staff to be most friendly and helpful during your stay. We take great pride in providing some of the finest guest service that you will experience anywhere.. Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Three long-time friends reunited in Charleston for a long weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Great location, within walking distance of fabulous restaurants (Cru, Cypress, Magnolia, The Ordinary), having cocktails on the roof terrace, private carriage ride. Would particularly like to single out the excellent concierge services of the hotel, who advised our eating, drinking, shopping selections, especially the clever and knowledgeable Sandy Pelham. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cartuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We greatly appreciate the wonderful review and kind words of our entire concierge staff and particularly our fine Guest Service Manager, Sandy Pelham. He is very much a valued employee that leads by example with his excellent guest service skills. Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your special getaway with long-time friends.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our room 218 was nice, clean, comfortable but would benefit from a new bathroom floor & some new paint on the floor molding. The welcome staff was excellent ...friendly, knowledgeable, outgoing, extremely helpful. The maps, flyers & brochures were convenient & plentiful. The location was perfect for touring the market, catching the free trolley, getting a carriage ride and walking to dinner at any number if fabulous restaurants. The breakfast terrace was delightful. The food was plentiful and delicious. It was also the perfect spot for an afternoon reading break and pre-dinner cocktail (we brought our own wine - the glasses were there). The pre visit, welcome email however was VERY misleading and needs to be updated immediately. It had the wrong cost for parking (it's $20 not $15) & the link for the carriage tour requested & accepted reservation information, but did nothing with it! We were later told that link was inoperable...then it shouldn't be on the welcome email. That little glitch got us off on the wrong foot for an otherwise wonderful stay at the Inn. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building with the roof top terrace, across the street from the check-in office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We apologize for whatever glitch occurred with our automated email that created confusion for you with parking cost. If you would be so kind to forward us via email the inaccurate information that you received we would much appreciate your time. We would like to continue researching to find what link you received with that information since we have had Valet Parking at $20 for over a year now. We wish to avoid any such confusion for any future guest. Please visit again to experience the wonderful new renovations and improvements we plan to continue in the near future. Thank you again so much for your time and comments.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Perfect location Staff made you feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and well presented. Breakfast was traditional and plenty of choice. Will be going back sometime next year. A great city to walk round from the Inn, everything is close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max5895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope that you choose to stay with us again with visiting Charleston in the future.

Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about this hotel but the reviews were good and the price was right. Was totally delighted when we drove up and the hotel was so charming; loved the lobby and there was always refreshments (especially loved the cookies in the afternoon!) which we enjoyed when taking a break from walking all around Charleston. The location is perfect!
We stayed in the building across the street and were totally satisfied with our room; comfortable, clean and quiet. We enjoyed the breakfast on the rooftop terrace and also had happy hour up there each night.
The staff was wonderful, professional and willing to help.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

We appreciate the wonderful comments of your recent stay. It is always a delight to know that we exceeded one's expectations. Thanks for sharing and your valuable time.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just completed a 4 day stay here. The staff was VERY good, helpful and friendly. Staff even mentioned to the restaurant that they booked for us that it was a special occasion, so we received champagne 'on the house' The breakfasts were a nice treat, and eating out on the terrace was lovely. But the rooms, as one may expect from a historic building, were a bit on the small side. There needed to be a lamp by the side chair to make it possible for a person to read without disturbing others. The biggest issue was the cleanliness. Now, it was 'surface clean' and many folks may never have noticed the build up of dirt on the baseboards or behind the toilet, or behind the corner chair..., but we certainly did. For the price you pay to stay in the historic district we thought it should have been spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 207mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share comments of your recent stay. We appreciate the kind words of our staff's friendliness and helpfulness in pointing out wonderful restaurants and points of interest during your visit to Charleston. We value our guest's input and often make decisions based upon your feedback that will enhance a future stay. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,831 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,241 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $190 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district and recently restored, the Andrew Pinckney Inn is at the center of everything Charleston has to offer. With our ideal downtown location, find yourself just steps away from the lively atmosphere of renowned restaurants and shops that surround Charleston’s historic City Market. For over 200 years, the Charleston City Market has been a retreat for both locals and visitors to find unique treasures delivered by over 100 vendors. And with a mild year-round climate, Charleston, SC is best enjoyed outdoors. Spend the day exploring our charming city, or soak in the warm sunshine on our rooftop terrace which boasts stunning views of the Charleston skyline and vibrant harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing