We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhappy with service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
“unhappy with service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently booked this hotel for a one night stay for me and my 2 daughters (who were apartment hunting in Charleston). When we arrived for our stay, I found out that I had mistakenly booked (through Expedia) for the PREVIOUS night (we had been a week on the road and I got my dates confused). The front desk clerk found us another room for the night, although it was very small and had only one double bed for the 3 of us (later got a rollaway). I paid for that night, along with valet parking, almost $250. The previous night, when we were not there, I paid $198. So for a one night stay in a tiny room with one bed, I paid almost $450. When I got home, I both emailed and wrote a letter asking not for a refund, but just for a gift certificate for one nights stay- while I realize the date mistake was mine, I thought the right thing (good for business reputation and southern hospitality) for the hotel to do would be to help/compensate me for my error (and their gain). To date, I have heard nothing from the hotel, management, or owner (Charlestowne Hotels group). Overall impression: great location, poor customer service. I am disappointed, and will choose another hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It is unfortunate that you booked accommodations for the incorrect date as you mentioned in your posting via a third party site. It is most often difficult when requesting any form of compensation or assistance with third party vendors therefore, shortly after receiving your hand written note on July 8th we kindly responded with a hand written note of our own to your return address on envelope. We suggested two possible scenarios in which we would offer a gesture on behalf of the Andrew Pinckney Inn in your favor even though the inn was clearly not at fault for your lose of funds. We apologize for whatever reason that you apparently did not receive our communication via US Mail. I believe that we have your phone number on record and I will be glad to follow up with you during business hours within the next 24 hours.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    373
    132
    54
    34
See reviews for
261
811
42
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed just one night on our way to Edisto Island for a week. We were taking advantage of a Tripadvisor special rate and felt like this was a good value given its central location. They upgraded our standard queen room to a king which was spacious with two windows. (I understand there are some interior windowless rooms.)
We reserved rooms for our two daughters there as well who were meeting us for the weekend. One of their rooms was the standard room and was small with one small high window. She had a much less favorable impression of the hotel because of the smaller room. Overall, however, all of us had good stays. The room was clean and furnishings were okay--the furniture does look a little worn with chipped veneer, etc. The continental breakfast was very good and the valet staff was exceptionally friendly. I would definitely stay there again if I could get a similar discounted rate and an exterior room with a window again. The location can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boromac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned we are centrally located and surrounded with many fine dining options, shopping and convenient tourist attractions. We are delighted to know that you found the inn a great value and especially enjoyed our breakfast on our Rooftop Terrace. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The service here is world class - the concierges will do everything in their power to get you to just the right restaurant, tour, excursion or activity. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. The bathrooms in the standard rooms are small - but that's a small quibble. The breakfast situation could use a tweak or two. But that's it - I will go back to this lovely inn, and I'll recommend it to friends. Great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is a pleasure to know that you found our inn to be an incredible value with the most wonderful service provided by our entire staff. We hope that you will return to the Andrew Pinckney Inn when visiting Charleston once again in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent three sleepless nights here. If you want to sleep at night this is NOT the place to stay. The hotel is right on a main delivery street. At night when deliveries are always made, the delivery trucks with their coolers and generators running are right outside the windows, all night long, everynight. The room itself is small, I have been in Microtel and Motel 6 rooms that were larger. There is NO closet, only one place to open your suitcases. I'm not sure the room cleaning staff did not do anything more than straighten the sheets. There was trash on the floor and toothpaste on the mirror in the bathroom when we arrived, and three days later when we checked out it was exactly the same. We were told that the parking was complimentary only to be charged $20.00 per day. WOW how professional is this. Do your self a favor go ANYWHERE esle. Town is great enjoy that but find a different PLACE to stay..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wpturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We appreciate the feedback on your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is very concerning on our part that you were not most happy with your stay due to noises from the downtown urban environment along with any other concerns or issues. Please know that even if the hotel is fully occupied that it is usually feasible for us to relocate you within either one of the two buildings that house the inn but we must have knowledge of your concerns during your stay so that we have the opportunity to respond in order to provide for the most comfortable and satisfactory stay. We hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to offer you other accommodations not facing street that you would find most charming and comfortable for a peaceful nights rest.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We celebrated our wedding in Charleston last weekend and while my husband and i are both local, non of our friends and family are. We had about 8 rooms booked overall (including one for us) with some of our guests staying as long as 4 nights. We specifically asked for all rooms to have outside windows and not to be placed right under the terrace due to some of the reviews we had read on tripadvisor. For some reason they placed us- the bride and groom- in room 302 which is literally right next to the elevator, tiny, has no closet and is right below the terrace. This resulted in us waking up several times during the night due to the elevator and then after very little sleep we woke up at 6:30am when they started preparing breakfast right above us. There was no going back to sleep as guests started to arrive and with people getting up and sitting down its was horribly loud and could not be ignored. After the 2nd night we brought this to the hotels attention and got a very unenthusiastic response by one of the gentlemen at the front desk, who told us he would see what he could do. He never apologized or made us feel like he cared. They did move us to another room that afternoon which we enjoyed for our last night - post wedding party. We were very disappointed that they wouldnt even apologize and put the main party, who got them a lot of business, into the most horrible room. We recommended this hotel to our guests because of its location and charm and a few of us did receive lovely rooms but overall it was not the level of service i expected and not the charming experience we hoped for. I would like to mention that the Valet staff is outstanding. They are friendly and helpful and always have a smile on their face. One of the more seasoned employees at the front desk also went out of his way to find a group of 8 of us a lovely lunch reservation at the very last minute. He was helpful and very respectful and his recommendation was great.

Room Tip: Room 308 was lovely. Ask for rooms with outside windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is most concerning to management that you were disappointed by what apparently was a breakdown in communication somewhere along the line of your special request. We take such great pride with guest choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for special occasions such as you were celebrating . I apologize for what appeared to have been lack of empathy for your concern when approaching one of our guest service agents. I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you with a move to another room when you communicated your concerns.

We appreciate your kind words of the overall fine service provided by our staff especially our valet staff and concierge. Please know that what apparently was a misunderstanding and poor communication issue is definitely not the norm that any of our guest would encounter at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to show our appreciation for your business and exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

A bedroom without a window = a walk-in closet. We arrived July 4 for a one night's stay. We had driven down from New York City on our way to South Florida. We were not told at the time of reservation that there was no outside window and it was the only one available. The room was small, it was well furnished and clean. The bathroom was very large and the hanging rail for clothing was in the bathroom. What would have happened if there had been a power cut? Very expensive for what it was.

Room Tip: Ask if the bedroom has a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustard333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Please keep in mind that the inn is housed in historic buildings that create for unique size and shapes and various views from windows whether the views be interior views into the atrium or exterior views onto street. We did take the time to review your reservation and noticed that it was booked via web and the reservation and confirmation clearly reads that the booking does not guarantee either interior or exterior views for the room type booked. Remember you also booked for July 4th at last minute when their was little to no inventory in the downtown market for the holiday. We hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to wow you with one of the many charming different room types we offer in various sizes and views.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
The Restoration
#9 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing