We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Andrew Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Andrew Pinckney Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rate Guaranteed!
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently had a very pleasant experience at the Andrew Pinckney. the location is certainly great, right in the heart of downtown. I was a little worried about noise when I got here as the room was facing the street and on the first floor, but it was actually very quiet. The common area in the entrance was very nice with cookies, coffee, tea etc available and a cozy 'living room" feel. My roomw as also quite nice and manage dto give a historic feel while still being up to date. teh breakfast was also impressive and quite a bit nicer than the usual hoteal continental breakfast. i woudl definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
216 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is a perfectly fine place to stay while in Charleston. The location is perfect, the room nice and clean, but it could be so much more. I am looking more critically at things as I travel more and want to be fair and reasonable. Check in and out was easy, staff polite as one would expect. The breakfast area was small and if you did not get there early, some of the food was gone and not replenished. I expect that if it advertised as part of your experience, you should not run out of certain foods a hour and a half before breakfast ends. The chair in the room did not have a reading lamp, so you had to lie on the bed to read. The building with the breakfast area appeared more modern, as opposed to the building in which we stayed. As I said, a nice place, but not special, so will stay elsewhere on my next trip. I really wanted it to be more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rt113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been to Charleston many times and I love the city. I usually stay in condos on the beach and drive in to the city a few times. This time I decided to experience staying in the historic district and stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. I was in town on business but my dad came down with me too to spend some time together. The staff was so inviting and helpful. The rooms were clean and beautiful. The parking attendant always remembered us every time he saw us. Breakfast was great and the breakfast patio was so relaxing. Of course the location is amazing, you're near everything. I can't wait to come back this year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triciajo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is in a great location... walking distance to everything. The staff was wonderful... very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. Our room was a little tight for four people with luggage, but we managed. We would definitely recommend this inn to Charleston visitors.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room on the 2nd floor or higher and you might want to avoid the rooms right on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineL399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Comfortable room, good location and friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby and nice breakfast(especially enjoyed the woman who worked the breakfast-friendly and willing to share her favorites about Charleston and local history), appreciated the afternoon tea and coffee that was in the lobby. Pricey though for what you get, but its the location. Had a problem with our first room which staff quickly acknowledged (outside cigarette smoke coming in through the vents made the room very unpleasant to be in)but couldn't help us with since no other rooms to move too--though they did move us the next day(unfortunately for us when they moved us they left our new room door open and unlocked--glad to see nothing was taken but still careless). Problem was significant and truthfully warranted a room discount and none offered. Concierge very helpful with hints of where to go and how to get there. Overall a very pleasant experience except for the room issue. Would have no problem recommending this inn to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay here was excellent. The room was spacious and beautifully restored with a nicely updated bathroom. The location was perfect - near a lot of shops and restaurants, but not on a super busy street. The breakfast was delicious and is served on a rooftop terrace. All of the staff (front desk, valet and housekeeping) were fantastic - incredibly helpful and truly welcoming. Everything about the Inn is very charming. I would definitely stay here again.

My only complaint was about the location of our room. We were on the first floor - right next to the front door and with windows out onto the street. Between the noise from pedestrians walking by our windows and people coming in the front door, it made it a bit difficult to get a good night's sleep. I still highly recommend the Inn, but suggest that people request a room that is on the 2nd floor or higher.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are near the front door or elevator and are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Although the staff is helpful and friendly and the location can't be beat, this hotel is absurdly expensive considering what you get for your money (and the rates go up 50% on the weekend). The rooms are quite small and have no closets. Instead there is a space in the bathroom with hangars for your clothes. My room was in the Church Street building, which is composed in part of a faux enclosed courtyard. Since the walls are thin and apparently have no insulation, you can hear whatever the other guests are saying. For some reason almost all the other guests were very old and very deaf and so kept shouting at each other. There is a breakfast buffet on the 4th floor and a terrace with a lovely view on which you can eat your food. Unfortunately, it was very cold during my stay, so this meant that the guests had to either take breakfast to their tiny rooms or eat in the the faux courtyard, which meant even more noise (not to mention unpleasant smells). A group of nonagenarians spent much of their time playing cards in the courtyard, which also added to the noise (and the smell, unfortunately). Some of the breakfast items were good (the fruit salad and the pastries), but they served a very unappetizing biscuits and sausage gravy every day. All in all, an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Limingde12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,304 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,271 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#18 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,105 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing