We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, hospitable inn in the Heart of Historic District” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, hospitable inn in the Heart of Historic District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Comfortable room, good location and friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby and nice breakfast(especially enjoyed the woman who worked the breakfast-friendly and willing to share her favorites about Charleston and local history), appreciated the afternoon tea and coffee that was in the lobby. Pricey though for what you get, but its the location. Had a problem with our first room which staff quickly acknowledged (outside cigarette smoke coming in through the vents made the room very unpleasant to be in)but couldn't help us with since no other rooms to move too--though they did move us the next day(unfortunately for us when they moved us they left our new room door open and unlocked--glad to see nothing was taken but still careless). Problem was significant and truthfully warranted a room discount and none offered. Concierge very helpful with hints of where to go and how to get there. Overall a very pleasant experience except for the room issue. Would have no problem recommending this inn to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    373
    132
    54
    34
See reviews for
261
811
42
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay here was excellent. The room was spacious and beautifully restored with a nicely updated bathroom. The location was perfect - near a lot of shops and restaurants, but not on a super busy street. The breakfast was delicious and is served on a rooftop terrace. All of the staff (front desk, valet and housekeeping) were fantastic - incredibly helpful and truly welcoming. Everything about the Inn is very charming. I would definitely stay here again.

My only complaint was about the location of our room. We were on the first floor - right next to the front door and with windows out onto the street. Between the noise from pedestrians walking by our windows and people coming in the front door, it made it a bit difficult to get a good night's sleep. I still highly recommend the Inn, but suggest that people request a room that is on the 2nd floor or higher.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are near the front door or elevator and are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Although the staff is helpful and friendly and the location can't be beat, this hotel is absurdly expensive considering what you get for your money (and the rates go up 50% on the weekend). The rooms are quite small and have no closets. Instead there is a space in the bathroom with hangars for your clothes. My room was in the Church Street building, which is composed in part of a faux enclosed courtyard. Since the walls are thin and apparently have no insulation, you can hear whatever the other guests are saying. For some reason almost all the other guests were very old and very deaf and so kept shouting at each other. There is a breakfast buffet on the 4th floor and a terrace with a lovely view on which you can eat your food. Unfortunately, it was very cold during my stay, so this meant that the guests had to either take breakfast to their tiny rooms or eat in the the faux courtyard, which meant even more noise (not to mention unpleasant smells). A group of nonagenarians spent much of their time playing cards in the courtyard, which also added to the noise (and the smell, unfortunately). Some of the breakfast items were good (the fruit salad and the pastries), but they served a very unappetizing biscuits and sausage gravy every day. All in all, an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Limingde12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We came down for three nights of relaxation and a concert. We have been to Charleston 100s of times and wanted to do something new. This hotel was perfect. Location. Privacy. Room. Comfort. Hospitality. None is overdone!! Not a lot of frills, which you don't need in Charleston as the whole town is frills. Great gym to workout. Did I mention amazing location!! Friendly staff!! It's a great place to land your head and my bride said the beds were great and she is a tough critic!!
: )

Room Tip: get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I reserved a townhouse suite and was perfectly fine. Clean (my #1 priority) but It's not over the top fancy/elegant, but it got the job done. The location is great, close to the market and restaurants --- mind you - it is rather close to some of the horse stables for the carriage tours, so keep that in mind. I visited with a friend, and we really enjoyed the hotel. The room had a sleeper sofa downstairs and a bed upstairs with a whirlpool bathtub. It may not be top of the line in Charleston, but hey we don't go to Charleston to stay all day in hotel rooms now do we? You can stay here and expect to be satisfied with your choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLBuckeyeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenansville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I took a long weekend for our anniversary and decided to spend one night in Charleston. We decided to stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn and were very glad we did! The location was wonderful, within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Even though the room was on the small side it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was way more than we had expected! The food was very good and the rooftop location was a wonderful way to start our day! We would recommend this place to anyone! The next time we are in Charleston it will definately be the Andrew Pinckey Inn for us!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbledsoe669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopatcong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Andrew Pinckney was in a great location, we took taxi from AP everywhere we needed to go was in walking distance. The staff was very helpful in answering any questions we had. The room was small but there was only 2 of us. I wouldn't recommend more then that. There was noise early in the AM from person walking above us, since there is wooden floors the noise could be heard. There was an excellent breakfast in the AM, it was VG. I recommend the hotel nice clean and friendly. They also have excellent cookies in the lobby!! Enjoy your stay, we did.

Room Tip: We were in room 306. There were no outside windows. It also was by the sitting area where people s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
The Restoration
#9 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing