We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Curiously unfriendly reception desk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Curiously unfriendly reception desk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Enjoyed our stay but found front desk reception to be strangely unfriendly. Thank goodness for Carl and Jerome (fantastic and friendly valet/bellmen) and a wonderful breakfast each morning. Pick room carefully for quiet

Room Tip: Watch out for street-level rooms in the older building; very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justicetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    357
    125
    52
    30
See reviews for
241
778
42
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel has the most wonderful employees across the board. We love staying at this place. The only real complaint I might have this visit is that the beds are far too high in the traditional double rooms and it was uncomfortable getting in and out of bed for my family members of average height. The rooms are very nice, the breakfast is FAR above average, the price is right on the money and the location is prime!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truetexangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Can't beat the location, just steps from City Market. Friendly staff. Stayed in the Church Street building. Can get noisy in the open atrium area if people congregate there, and the bathroom was a bit tight and could use some updating, but for the price it was well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Couldn't have picked a better spot for our weekend trip to Charleston! The hotel is beautiful, the staff is WONDERFUL, and the location can't be beat. We were in walking distance of everything. We were completely wowed by the kindess of the staff and their attention to details. We will definitely be returning and will be recommending to our family and friends who visit Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our stay at the Andrew Pinckney was outstanding!! Everyone was extremely friendly, the rooms were great, breakfast on the roof top was very cool, and you definitely cannot beat the walking distance to the town market. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the trip and will absolutely stay with them again on our next visit. I see others have mentioned how awesome the staff is in their reviews, but that doesn't say it enough. While we were walking down to the market on the second day of our stay, we ran into our Bell Hop from the previous day and he recognized us, and stop to say "hi". You can tell that they enjoy what they do and go out of their way to make sure the customer comes first.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had two rooms. One with a double bed and one with a single queen. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I spent our 16 year wedding anniversary with the folks at Andrew Pinckney. I was incredibly impressed with the level of attention given towards my wife and I. From the front desk managers, to the bell hops, and every member of the staff, I encountered the absolute best in terms of professionalism and courtesy. The Inn was in excellent condition and very clean. I felt as if I were staying in a $1,000 a night room for only a fraction of the cost. The view from the terrace and the close distance to Market St., made our trip very memorable and easy. Also, when my wife and I checked in, we had a bottle of champagne waiting (in ice) with a personal, handwritten note. This small thing spoke volumes to me about how much these folks care about their guests. You will not be disappointed in the world class attention to excellence that you will experience at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our first trip to Charelston and our hotel choice made it wonderfull. The staff including Andrew at the front desk and the Bell Hop Drew made our check in and entire trip a pleasure. All of the staff there take pride in their jobs and it shows every day. The facilities are top notch and couldn't find any problems. The breakfast bar is above average and well done. They even had umbrellas available for our use when we wlaked to dinner and it was raining. All aspects of your visit are taken care of here. The location is within a 10 minute walk of all destinations in the downtown area.

Room Tip: The breakfast bar is in the 4 story building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjimberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing