We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

this hotel was so charming and quaint and right in the middle of the historic district in downtown Charleston. Everyone we cam in contact with was friendly, helpful and pleasant. We watched the magnificent sunrises every morning on the porch where a wonderful breakfast awaited us each morning. Great rooms, great service, great location. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Wow....what wonderful comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and are delighted to hear that we provided for a near "heavenly" like experience. We hope that you will return again soon for an even greater experience.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,234 - 1,240 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the breakfast on the rooftop to the pleasant staff, we enjoyed our trip. The hotel is well designed, extremely clean, and it is refreshing to have such nice service.

There are so many boring hotels out there with average service and accommodations for this price point. Stay somewhere special.

Good luck!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designerdottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We appreciate your most kind words and recommendation of the Andrew Pinckney Inn to other potential guest. It is our goal to offer the finest guest experience possible to our guest. Thank you again for your valuable time posting comments of your recent stay.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

During our four day stay, we had the opportunity to interact with many of the personnel at the AP.
One after the other, better than the last. We spoke with Barry the GM and all the bright, talented young men in the front office. Edward was our greatest ally and helped with everything, to assure we got the best of Charleston. Sandy, the charming southern gentleman, graced us with information as well as culinary delights. Andew and Jeff provided us with invaluable information to continue our travels and discoveries of the amazing Charleston.
Keith and Drew were there everytime we needed our car even in the rain with umbrellas to walk us around so we would not get wet. They also helped with many other details as well.
There were also two women that were wonderful service providers as well. Cynthia took care of us on the breakfast deck and Lisa was resposible for the care that our rooms were perfect.
So our book club from Maine are now four very happy women.
We highly recommend this hotel and can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maloy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

How rewarding to read the comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It was a pleasure to meet you ladies and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. It is a delight to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope that we will see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved this hotel in the historic district. This was our first trip to Charleston and I Ioved the fact that Sandy and others at the front desk would make strong recommendations...they were wonderful choices! It was a great location from which to explore Charleston. We also enjoyed the delicious breakfast with seating on the rooftop terrace. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail62305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments of our staff's service provided and recommendations during your stay. It is a pleasure to serve our guest and most rewarding when we see you off with a smile and feeling pampered. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights at the Pinckney Inn. The hotel is great, good location, very nice, clean rooms. But the best part is the service and attention from the staff. Sandy at the front desk could not do enough for us. He never hesitated to make us feel special and help us out with any questions we had. He was even able to change our room after the first night because we were directly under the patio where the breakfast is served and it got quite noisy early in the morning. Keith was also very willing to answer any questions and made some great recommendations for restaurants Their breakfast buffet is great and usually included an egg dish every morning. Everything is within walking distance of the Inn, only used our car to visit Boone Hall Plantaion. Woud definitively stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 303 is directly under where breakfast is served. Quite noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a most enjoable stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Our staff takes great pride in providing the finest guest service in Charleston. Hopefully you will be back to visit again soon. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn for 1 night at the end of August. This was our first trip to Charleston and I am so glad that I chose this hotel. I had booked a historic queen value room on hotels.com, but when we checked in we were told that we had been upgraded to a very spacious two-level suite. The lower level was a sitting area with a wetbar and a 1/2 bath and the upper level was the bedroom, bath and a private outdoor sitting area. It was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The king bed was very comfortable and we got a very good night's sleep because it was very quiet. The hotel is located a block from the Market and many great restaurants and shopping areas are within walking distance. The breakfast had many choices and the food was very tasty. We also enjoyed the cookies and beverages in the lobby. Our stay there was not only delightful, but memorable. The outer bands of rain from Hurricane Isaac caused massive flooding in the Charleston area and we almost had to stay an extra night at API because we couldn't drive through the standing water. Unfortunately, the waters receded and we had to leave. But, if we return to Charleston we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your first visit to Charleston. We appreciate the kind words of our service and accommodations offered to you during your stay. We hope that when you visit Charleston again we will have the opportunity to once again serve you.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A lovely hotel situated in the best section of historic Charleston.
The main market, stores and best restaurants are a very close walk away.
Very easy to get around the city from this location.
The gentleman at the front desk gave us a warm welcome and has
been very helpful in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syan0vich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We hope that we will see you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
1,006 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $156 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district and recently restored, the Andrew Pinckney Inn is at the center of everything Charleston has to offer. With our ideal downtown location, find yourself just steps away from the lively atmosphere of renowned restaurants and shops that surround Charleston’s historic City Market. For over 200 years, the Charleston City Market has been a retreat for both locals and visitors to find unique treasures delivered by over 100 vendors. And with a mild year-round climate, Charleston, SC is best enjoyed outdoors. Spend the day exploring our charming city, or soak in the warm sunshine on our rooftop terrace which boasts stunning views of the Charleston skyline and vibrant harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing