We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Nice hotel in the heart of historic Charleston. Very comfortable bed and ambiance. Only complaint is the small bathroom. Would come back & recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    384
    138
    54
    35
See reviews for
273
835
45
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The Andrew Pinckney Inn is ideally located in the heart of the historic district of Charleston, a block away from the hustle and bustle of the old market. It is a charming, antebellum, authentic building complex, with individually decorated rooms, and a lovely roof-top for taking breakfast, which overlooks the city.

Unlike some of the other nice inns, this one is in a perfect spot! It is like going back in time to a small village, but in a second, you are in the heart of everything and there's plenty here to interest just about anybody.

Most of all, what makes this inn so nice are the people who are there. The desk staff is helpful day and night. The gentleman in charge, Sandy, can advise on sights and points of interest. The rest of the staff is completent and friendly too. A special "shout out" to Cynthia who rules the roof at breakfast time. We had some terrific conversations.

As a "jaded" New Yorker, if this is an example of "Southern Hospitality and Gentility," I'm all for it!
Would go back without hesitation, and this, after visiting all the rest of the inns I would have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandi60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

While we will be back to charleston, it's unlikely I can say the same for the Pinckney Inn. We were checked in by a rather unfriendly attendant who made it seem as if it were a bother that we had arrived. The descriptions on the website describe a charming inn, yet the pinckney is more upscale motel than quaint inn. The rooms were bland and the bathroom tiny. What wasn't tinny was the noise the bathroom fan made which was switched on with the light so it couldn't be turned off and was more jet engine than fan. For the money I would have much rather stayed elsewhere making this a poor value. The onsite parking is not large enough for all guests so be prepared to walk to the parking deck up the road. The good part is the pinckney's location, it's definitely situated well. But then again so are many other places.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and share your feedback. We value our guest’s comments and often implement new procedures and continue to make enhancements on the property based upon those comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations when visiting Charleston again in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The bed was very comfortable & the room very clean. I had no complaints, I had the townhouse terrace with a private patio. Felt like my own private home. This hotel is close to every thing from resturants, tours,shopping. I enjoyed the continental breakfast, a different entree every day. Staff were very helpful on every thing.

Room Tip: Get the townhouse terrace, private patio,
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DentalDiva67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in our comfortable Townhouse Suite featuring private terrace. As you mentioned, we offer one of the finest ways to begin you day in Charleston with the tasty breakfast on our Rooftop Terrace. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My wife and I spent one night and would not hesitate to return. If you go, be sure to check with Sandy at the front desk. He batted 1000 with us. HIs recommendations of restaurants, bars, and sights were outstanding. The guy has great taste that I am delighted he was willing to share. I've never been a fan of macaroni and cheese until we went to a restaurant he recommended that is a short walk from the hotel. This is a very warm and friendly location.

Room Tip: The king bed was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is very rewarding to hear that our staff was not only friendly but knowledgeable in our suggestions for dinning, shopping and touring. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future to enjoy our wonderful location and accommodating staff.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

What can you say about a hotel that treats its guests like royalty?
Jeff, Sandy and the front desk staff made wonderful recommendations of where to dine and they were all excellent. Jerome and Mike got our luggage from our car to the rooms and with 4 ladies traveling together it was no easy task.
The Andrew Pickney Inn is a 5 Star Experience from check-in to check-out.
We loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joaniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay. It is our goal at the Andrew Pinckney Inn to have the most accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable staff in Charleston in order to make for the most enjoyable stay possible.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

perfect location, great help on selecting dining, great breakfast, great bed. tough to beat

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you so much for the "Perfect" comments on your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to hear such reviews as we diligently work at not only meeting but exceeding our guest's expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing