We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston Historic District
Ranked #47 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
12
Reviewed July 9, 2006

The mildew smell in the room was so bad, with no empathy from the staff at all, the guest had to get another room. So far, after three e-mails being returned there is obviously no remorse on anyone's part but mine for using this service.

While checking into the second hotel, The Meeting Street Inn, which was exceptional, we found out that two other guests had to do the same that week. Wouldn't you think you wouldn't let it ever happen again?????

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,439 - 2,445 of 2,507 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2006

My husband and I are in our early 60s and look forward to traveling to Charleston for business and/or pleasure one to three times a year. I refuse to be embarrassed that we choose to keep going back to this Day's Inn. It may not be as bright and shiny as other choices but the intelligent and helpful staff, the free parking, and especially the location make it an excellent value for the discounted price we generally pay. It is NOT a "typical" Day's Inn" by any means. Our room has always been clean and the air conditioning works great. When we get tired of sightseeing we just stop back by our room for a half hour lie-down. Look at a map and compare rates and convenience. If you are more interested in seeing the city than romance or a Jacuzzi, and if you'd rather spend your bucks at one of the fine restaurants within walking distance, don't turn up your nose at the Meeting Street Day's Inn. I've just booked it for next week.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SauteeBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We stayed here for one night, and it wasn't bad. A short walk to the market which was handy because you sure don't want to drive much around Charleston. The price was rather high but you're paying for the location and it's competitive with the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asylum00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2006

Visiting from Australia, spent four days there. Yes the rooms are not perfect, however mine was clean and serviced well everyday. The rooms have a fridge and microwave and are within very close walking distance of the City Market and the main part of Meeting Street. Tours pickup from this hotel, and it is close to carriage rides and historical houses. The Staff were fabulous and a delight to deal with. They could not have been more helpful. Food at Diane's (restaurant attached to hotel) okay. This hotels good points are it's location, free parking, basic but clean rooms, and it's main asset is it's wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gouldian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2006

Run, don't walk away from this dump. I was originally concerned over the other reviews, but decided to ingnore and try the Days Inn because "the price was right". Well, you get what you pay for, and less.

The room was dirty, smelly, buggy, and a total mess. Torn and stained carpeting, walls and ceiling had water stains and pealing paint. Old cracked caulking in the bath, and the light fixture cover fell off while I was taking a shower. I zipped up the luggage, turned out the lights and hoped for the best. The next morning I walked to Planters Inn and got a beautiful room for the next evening. It cost a lot more, but was so totally worth it.

If you can't afford a better place to stay, save your pennies and visit Charleston another time. Don't waste your hard earned money at the Days Inn.

4  Thank ptowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2006

I stayed at this Days Inn for one night May 2005 and found everything to be just as I wanted. Excellent location, clean room, easy parking and friendly staff. Breakfast in the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KAWkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2005

The Days Inn Charleston Histortic District was affordable and had a great location. It is across the street from the market and pretty central to everything. The rooms were a little rough, but you get what you pay for. The staff was very nice and Diane's Restaurant located in front had an awesome breakfast. If you want to be close to all the sites but do not have a ton of money to spend this is your hotel. We went as a 1st anniversary trip and had a great time. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ogles1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Historic District
4.6 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#23 of 62 in Charleston
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston Historic District

Address: 155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $104 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston Historic District 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district, this hotel exudes all the warmth and charm of historic Charleston. Like the city this hotel has retained all the character and history of its past. This hotel provides an excellent starting point for your shopping, touring, and dining venues. Southern hospitality and special comforts are what makes this Days Inn Historic Charleston the place to stay when visiting Charleston. Pet Friendly rooms are available with a nightly pet fee of $20. Parking is available with a nightly charge of $14 per car per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
Days Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing