We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location,Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston Historic District
Ranked #47 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Yes, its the location! The room is clean, small and spartan. A sliver of soap and some plastic cups. Small fridge, as I recall. Besides location, the fact that it takes dogs is a major advantage. Problem being that they therefore place you in a "smoking" room and you remain well aware of that fact. Plenty of interesting small restaurants two blocks over on King Street. One block from major bookstore and ATM (Wachovia, etc) machines. Price was pretty reasonable, given Charleston. Easy walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chip37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,358 - 2,364 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2009

Everyone seems to agree that this Days Inn has a terrific location, but opinions about the rooms are all over the map. We found it to be more than acceptable during our four-night stay. Sure, the rooms could use updating. I suppose we could mention the rusty hinges on the bathroom door (it squeaked), the loose base plate on the shower head (which didn't affect operation), and the worn finish on the wooden arms of the chairs. On the other hand, the carpets and bedspreads were new, there was plenty of hot water, and the room was carefully cleaned each day. There were lots of amenities for a Charleston hotel in this price range ($98)--fridge, microwave, hair dryer, ironing board (I believe), coffee and tea, plus the usual shampoos, lotion, and soaps. Add all this to the central location, and it proved perfectly fine. Parking is not a problem this time of the year (and midweek), and it's free! Breakfast is not included. The attached restaurant, Toast, is a just bit of a greasy spoon, but the food is OK and service friendly. I'm not sure what other breakfast options are nearby, but there are plenty of lunch and dinner places, especially near the market. Finding basic necessities, like a drugstore or grocery, on the other hand, is a challenge in this part of Charleston. The shops on King Street are almost all antiques. We finally found a drugstore up on East Bay Street, a bit of a walk from the hotel. A final note on Charleston parking. There is plenty of free street parking in the historic district for limited periods (up to an hour or two). For example, when we saw the Aiken-Rhett House (not quite a mile from the hotel) there were parking spaces right in front. So, if you get tired walking, you might be able to see what you want by parking nearby and avoiding the garages.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

As soon as I got out of the car, which just so happened to be directly in front of the check-in area, the air reaked of port-o-john; it was pretty awful.
The staff did not give me a copy of my bill/receipt upon checkout. I forgot to ask yet they did not offer.

I may have slept better in my car. Lets face it there are only two reasons why I stayed here.
1. proximity to everything I planned on doing
2. free parking

other than that that's it. I made due because it was only one night but I wanted to spend as little time in my room as possible.

The whole room reaked of filth - though don't get me wrong it appeared cleaned but smelled as if the cleaning staff tried to cover up the smell of death.

Would never stay on the end (near Meeting) was as if I was sleeping in the street - heard all outside traffic human and cars. Walls are also very thin could hear loud neighbors.

It was a very low class facility in a great location - a remodel is needed.

Oh yeah microwave did not work and was missing a knob.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terpak222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Awesome location, awful hotel. Where to begin? With the rampant palmetto bugs? The terrible shower, which consistently turned from warm to freezing cold? The dirty coffee maker, which could be plugged in only by unplugging either the TV or the refrigerator? The lack of towel bars or hooks in the vanity area? The tilted amenity shelf, from which the shampoos and lotions kept sliding off? The painfully slow wi-fi? The stained and wrinkled booklets and guides on the desk? The moldy phone faceplate, on which someone had scratched out a previous room number in ballpoint pen and scrawled in the current room number (108). The bedside phone which had no cord? When I pulled the nightstand away from the wall to look for the cord, it fell over. It had no back legs, and had been pushed against the wall to keep it upright! The cigarette burns in the blanket? The dirty carpet? The broken TV remote mended with scotch tape? The TV itself, which mysteriously and constantly went to snow off and on throughout my stay? The employees I encountered were courteous but clearly not happy working in such a place, and I don't blame them. For it's location, this hotel could be a premier property with the right care and investment, a property worth staying at! But never again! Stay away from this place. Management obviously does not care about guest comfort, only about making dough from the location itself. This is a shame and a waste , a blight on the otherwise incredible historic district of Charleston.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jthoward2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I have been on furlough for a week this past week, so we decided to visit friends in Savannah. With horrible floods at home in Atlanta, we decided to drive up to Charleston. Wanting to save a few bucks, we booked at the Days. We called direct and got a very good rate of $89/night, less than the AAA rate online. If you take into account the free parking, this is a very well-priced hotel for the neighborhood.

The goods: The location means you can park and forget your car. Period. The parking is safe and like all motels, immediately in-front of you room (generally). The room was old, but they did clean it as best as the age of the furnishings would allow. They allowed us to leave our car parked the day we checked-out until 3pm, saving us parking hassle and fees our last day. Top that off with the fact they found and held on to my prescription sunglasses - you may say you'd expect that, but how many times have you had the suspicion someone didn't do the right thing with something you lost? Shirley found my glasses and saved them - THANK YOU Shirley. My old college friend and I had a drink in the bar, and the bartender was engaging, and backed-up by a cool wait staff.

The bads: It's old. Not sure where to go with that, but reviews seem surprised about that fact. We travel enough to know that when you pay less than $100 in historic Charleston, you're not getting newly-tiled bathrooms, and plush furnishings. What you get is a safe place for you and your family, clean sheets, free parking and a rather easy in-and-out.

If you're extending a short trip like we did, or want to shave-off some luxury for extra dinner/entertainment money, this is a great place.

One last thing - Service - its works for me all over the world - sugar, NOT vinegar. Walk-in, smile, ask about someone's day - act like you actually care what their 1st impression of you is - and they'll care what yours is of them. Thanks Days for a nice stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipBHerold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The girl at the registration desk was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and everything worked. The bed was comfortable. Our room was on the far north side close to the street end, and contrary to another review that I read, it was very quiet, and we were there on the weekend. Couldn't ask for a better location. Good value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texasladytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This was my second stay at the Days Inn Historic District, the last being 8 years ago. If you want one of the boutique hotels around downtown Charleston so you can brag about how much money you spent, look elsewhere. But for the money, this is one of the best stays in town. You're literally surrounded by some of the best that Charleston has to offer. With shopping, museums, churches, and restaurants within 10-15 minutes walk, you can avoid the nonsense and hassle of parking. The hotel was reasonably quiet, though the parking deck off the back housed a car whose alarm went off for 4 hours straight one night, but you get everything you could expect for a low price. We used the hotel as a base to make day trips to the beach 20 minutes away.

The room was mostly clean; a few things here or there that missed the vacuum cleaner. The beds were soft with 4 pillows each. The A/C kept the humidity at bay and the mini-fridge kept beach drinks nice and cool. Rooms look like they were updated a few years ago. Tub had some peeling on the enamel and no stopper if you wanted a bath, but water pressure was good and temperature was fine.

No breakfast, but several coffee shops within two blocks can meet that need. If coffee is your thing, check out City Lights about two blocks from the hotel. King St is just around the corner with any number of things to keep your interest all day. Be warned that one of the building across the street is presently under renovation, so sleeping past 8 on a weekday isn't possible. Wi-Fi was fantastic.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleGroucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,286 reviews
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#30 of 62 in Charleston
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston Historic District

Address: 155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $97 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston Historic District 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district, this hotel exudes all the warmth and charm of historic Charleston. Like the city this hotel has retained all the character and history of its past. This hotel provides an excellent starting point for your shopping, touring, and dining venues. Southern hospitality and special comforts are what makes this Days Inn Historic Charleston the place to stay when visiting Charleston. Pet Friendly rooms are available with a nightly pet fee of $20. Parking is available with a nightly charge of $14 per car per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
Days Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing