We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run, don't walk...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston Historic District
Ranked #47 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed May 1, 2006

Run, don't walk away from this dump. I was originally concerned over the other reviews, but decided to ingnore and try the Days Inn because "the price was right". Well, you get what you pay for, and less.

The room was dirty, smelly, buggy, and a total mess. Torn and stained carpeting, walls and ceiling had water stains and pealing paint. Old cracked caulking in the bath, and the light fixture cover fell off while I was taking a shower. I zipped up the luggage, turned out the lights and hoped for the best. The next morning I walked to Planters Inn and got a beautiful room for the next evening. It cost a lot more, but was so totally worth it.

If you can't afford a better place to stay, save your pennies and visit Charleston another time. Don't waste your hard earned money at the Days Inn.

4  Thank ptowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,392 - 2,398 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2006

I stayed at this Days Inn for one night May 2005 and found everything to be just as I wanted. Excellent location, clean room, easy parking and friendly staff. Breakfast in the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KAWkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2005

The Days Inn Charleston Histortic District was affordable and had a great location. It is across the street from the market and pretty central to everything. The rooms were a little rough, but you get what you pay for. The staff was very nice and Diane's Restaurant located in front had an awesome breakfast. If you want to be close to all the sites but do not have a ton of money to spend this is your hotel. We went as a 1st anniversary trip and had a great time. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ogles1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2005

I was unhappy with several features of my room (needed renovating; carpets not clean), but I spoke with a manager there who told me they'll be renovating this winter, and her customer service was superb (listened thoughtfully to my concerns and made amends). I will give them another chance.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillnDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2005

This Days Inn is in an excellent location, right next to Market street and easy walking distance all over the Historic district, to the Battery, Rainbow Row, etc. There is also free parking, though a bit crowded, but so is the Historic District! The rooms are nothing spectacular, typical Days Inn, no luxury for sure, basically clean. There is a microwave and good sized refrigerator in the room, as well as coffee maker, iron and board and hair dryer. The vanity sink is located outside of the bathroom, so this is nice.

Our problem was we requested a non-smoking room and the door sign said non-smoking, but the room reeked of smoke the minute we entered it and they were booked up. The room also had ashtrays, why would you have ashtrays in a non-smoking room??? My guess is when they get booked up, anyone gets it. For this reason, we will not stay there again. All my clothes smelled like smoke and I had to wash even the clean ones once back home. The smell irritated me all night, I had hoped we would adjust to it, but couldn't. This definitely gave us a bad taste about the place, even though it is an excellent location.

We also were awoken about 3:00 a.m. from someone above us making a lot of noise and slamming doors, but this is no fault of the motel and fortunately, it stopped almost as quickly as it started.

So, if you're a smoker, or the smell of stale smoke doesn't bother you, it's a good place to stay. But, don't expect a non-smoking room there. Like my husband said, they're probably all that way.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bingo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
marlow,ok
1
Reviewed July 26, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCCCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
1.0 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations King Street Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
4.6 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,273 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston Historic District

Address: 155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $97 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston Historic District 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district, this hotel exudes all the warmth and charm of historic Charleston. Like the city this hotel has retained all the character and history of its past. This hotel provides an excellent starting point for your shopping, touring, and dining venues. Southern hospitality and special comforts are what makes this Days Inn Historic Charleston the place to stay when visiting Charleston. Pet Friendly rooms are available with a nightly pet fee of $20. Parking is available with a nightly charge of $14 per car per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
Days Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing