We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, location, location ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston Historic District
Ranked #50 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Location, location, location ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Days Inn for 2 nights in July. The motel is run down and our room had a musty smell.

Unfortunately when we returned back to our room at 6pm, on our second day, the sheets had been taken off the 2 beds in our room, and nothing else. When we told reception they asked if we had the "do not disturb" on our door, then told us that housekeeping had left for the day. We told them that we didn't need our room cleaned, but we did need sheets on the bed! Thankfully when we returned to the room after dinner, the bed had been made up.

The saving grace for this motel is that it is perfectly located for anyone who wants to walk to everything within the historic district.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyntheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Cyntheap,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced and we regret you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    612
    562
    334
    223
See reviews for
580
804
100
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We read the reviews before we booked. We knew what we were getting into, but I would not stay here again. The location is simply perfect. The staff was a mix of good and bad, but the room was just bad. My husband ushered out no less than 10 bugs including 5 caterpillars! I expected the furniture would be out of date, but I did not expect watermarks and stains. It was just old. I felt dirty here. PLEASE do yourself a favor and stay directly next door at the Meeting Street Inn. The prices were comparable for the same dates we stayed. Plus it has a cute southern charm.
If you do stay, make sure you check your bill. They charge you $1.50 per night for the safe whether you use it or not.

Room Tip: I'm assuming all the rooms are as old and disgusting as the one we stayed in. Don't stay he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
R B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced and we regret you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I really couldn't be happier with this hotel. For the price, it's exactly what I was looking for. It was MUCH cheaper than other hotels in the area, but if you go into it expecting a clean, simple hotel, you'll be pleasantly surprised. Stayed here for three nights over a long weekend with my girlfriend and we we felt safe and comfortable. Staff was friendly, rooms were older but clean. We even spent an afternoon by the pool which wasn't luxurious, but was a nice touch in the middle of the city. The BEST part of this hotel is the location. You are RIGHT in the middle of historic downtown and we walked to excellent shopping, tours, bars and restaurants every night. If you're looking for something clean, and cost efficient but still in a great location, this is your place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMichellePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
MrsMichellePaul,

Thank you for your review! Our location is definitely ideal for our guests whom would like to experience Historic Downtown Charleston. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the décor of our property.Your feedback is such a valuable part of our continued efforts to improve the overall experience of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Horse carriages, drunks, and the slamming of neighbors doors kept me up all night. Ask for a room on the second floor, at least. The room was shabby, the bathroom smelled pissy, and I wanted to keep on flip flops in the shower. I'll stay elsewhere next time I visit Charleston.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Amanda Erin G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced and we regret you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. Thank you again for your time and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

If all you need is a bed in the Historic area of Charleston, this is a good one. It's literally walking distance to The Battery, the Harbor Cruises, the Old Slave Market (City Market) and several other downtown historic areas of interest. We were able to leave our car and walk to all of the points of interest.

That said, though, the property is obviously older. There are quite a few cosmetic defects (cracks in the walls, older bathroom fixtures, etc.), and housekeeping services can be hit or miss.

Overall, the hotel was good for our needs and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
CarolinaVixen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do strive to provide exceptional accommodations to all who choose to stay with us. I am sorry your overall impression of the property fell short of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had never been to Charleston before and wasn't sure where to stay downtown so I tried the Days Inn. If going to stay downtown there are better alternatives. During my stay there was a day that our room wasn't made but they came and took the dirty towels but didn't leave clean ones. I went to the front desk and they didn't want to give me enough for each of us in the room a clean towel. There were three of us and they only wanted to give 2 towels. After I left and got home I found out they charged me for the SAFE each day that was never used and not something I wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
First and foremost, I'd like to apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I am forwarding the details about your comments to my maintenance and housekeeping departments. I would hope that you'd give us another chance to prove our standards and hospitality. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is probably the only hotel in the historic area under 300 dollars. It is not the fanciest hotel, kind of dated. However, for a Days Inn it is kept up better and they do try to keep the outside more presentable to fit into Charleston. The young guy working in the afternoon was very helpful and prompt. The women at check out in the morning were rude.

This hotel is about location, location, location without breaking the bank. It really is central. You can go out the rod iron door by pool and be on King St shopping or Market St out the back or Meeting St right out from. You are located right near the Market so you can be shopping on King St in one minute or heading down Church St to the battery in 2. If you are looking for just a cheap bed in a great location this is it. Also a perk is on site parking in downtown Charleston. Average hotel nothing fancy great location and parking. Giving it very good for the location and parking compared to price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Camel3612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while shopping and visiting Days Inn Historic Downtown, Charleston, Sc.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so glad that you found our location so convenient. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#35 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Indigo Inn
#16 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston Historic District

Property: Days Inn Charleston Historic District
Address: 155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston Historic District 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district, this hotel exudes all the warmth and charm of historic Charleston. Like the city this hotel has retained all the character and history of its past. This hotel provides an excellent starting point for your shopping, touring, and dining venues. Southern hospitality and special comforts are what makes this Days Inn Historic Charleston the place to stay when visiting Charleston. Pet Friendly rooms are available with a nightly pet fee of $20. Parking is available with a nightly charge of $14 per car per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
Days Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing