We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston Historic District
Ranked #47 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed February 19, 2013

You can't beat the location of this hotel. You'll find yourself in the middle of the historic district within walking distance of all the best that historic Charlston has to offer. You're near the gorgeous waterfront park complete with a dog park. The hotel itself is decent. The rooms were rennovated recently (although the bathroom was shabby). They have a great pet policy - $15.00 per pet for the first night and $5.00 for the following nights. The only drawback was a really unhelpful front desk staff person. She was, to put it kindly, in the wrong profession. If you're not feeling kindly you might describe this person as rude and nasty. But that was a short lived encounter and it did little to take away from our stay.

Room Tip: If you need a first floor be sure to find a way to document that request. Be persistant with the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inbrazilfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,084 - 2,090 of 2,495 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank angelasaurodavis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the past years. Its location cannot be beaten, but it needs updating. The tv was very old style. Bathroom entry needed washing----dusty bunny catcher. But, the staff were most friendly. The exterior was attractive, with flower boxes---nice in Feb!! But, the interior of the room was very outdated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Paul W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack A, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for returning to the Days Inn Historic Charleston, you are absolutely correct we are in the heart of the historic district which our guest love. Your comments have been shared with the housekeeping staff for corrective action. We strive to improve our Days Inn and this year have many projects planned to improve our guest experience. We look forward to your staying with us again on your travels to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you travel, you know that the Days Inn is not as "fancy" as some of the other places to stay throughout the country - but neither is the price. The rooms were the size of a normal motel room and twice the size of a room in Europe. Service was excellent and we received clean towels, new toiletries and beds were made every day. We were not celebrating any major event and just wanted to get away for a few days so we thought we would try it. For the location, we felt we certainly got a good deal. I am not much of a walker, but we could almost see The Market Place from the hotel (l/2 short block). Another l/2 block and we caught the free transit to The Charleston Museum, Visitor's Center and a few historical homes. l/2 block in the opposite direction was Queen Street where we walked to the Thomas Elfe home; a few blocks over was the Heyward House - add The Slave Market and The Old Exchange in the same vicinity, shopping and restaurants, made for a delightful day of walking and sight-seeing. If you are very particular, the Days Inn is not for you because you will be able to find something wrong - however, we found it to be clean (which is what is important to us) and reasonable. Free parking was also a definite plus and was so easy getting there once we got in to Charleston and was just as easy to head out of Charleston the day we left.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack A, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your Charleston experience. We look forward to serving you as a guest at the Days Inn Historic on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Salvador G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jack A, General Manager at Days Inn Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Historic District
4.6 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston Historic District

Address: 155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $95 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston Historic District 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district, this hotel exudes all the warmth and charm of historic Charleston. Like the city this hotel has retained all the character and history of its past. This hotel provides an excellent starting point for your shopping, touring, and dining venues. Southern hospitality and special comforts are what makes this Days Inn Historic Charleston the place to stay when visiting Charleston. Pet Friendly rooms are available with a nightly pet fee of $20. Parking is available with a nightly charge of $14 per car per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
Days Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing