We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“booked 4 nights but couldn't stay 1 night after seeing it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston Historic District
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“booked 4 nights but couldn't stay 1 night after seeing it”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don't fool yourself this is a highway motel in the middle of historic downtown Charleston. My problems started upon check-in (about 5pm) when I realized I made a mistake booking a smoking room and asked the reception staff member to get me a non-smoking one. He couldn't do anything (or didn't want to ?) and told us we would need to talk to the manager on the following morning (even though there was non-smoking rooms available right there!). So what's the point of a 24 hour check-in if the person cannot resolve a simple request ? Extremely rude, unprofessional and unhelpful.

Anyways I went upstairs to check the room and it was horrendous...The building seemed was gonna fall apart anytime soon, the room was old and the bathroom really tiny, terrible, dirty and was smelling!! I've been to some hostels (yes HOSTELS) in South America and I can tell you...some of them were better and comfy than this one.

At the end of the night I called expedia up to get me a new hotel as I couldn't even think on the idea of sleeping there.

Location? it's in the heart of downtown Charleston but again don't fool yourself...this is a motel like any other motel you find along any interstate across America.
You can stay at a chain hotel 1 mile away and get a cab to go downtown...or park your car at any public parking garage...or some hotels offer shuttles to go downtown. And the best part is the hotels 1 mile away are less expensive and offer all the comfort you need.


Do yourself a favor and stay at a different place and enjoy this beautiful city!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    729
    626
    369
    256
See reviews for
677
938
115
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Days Inn for three days including the New Year's Eve. We truly enjoyed our stay. It is the best location in town that the money can buy. It offers free parking and conveniently located in the center of historical downtown. It is walking distance to everywhere. The flowers outside the rooms add special touch. Yes, it is an older hotel and may need some renovation, but for the price you pay, it cannot beat.

We will stay here again for our next visit in Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FL_GA_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Best location near market and restaurants. Convenient free parking at your door. No free breakfast, but Toast Restaurant on site was good for any meal. Rooms small, but clean. Decor dated but some renovations happening. Two floors, no elevator. Smoking rooms may be next to non-smoking. Enjoyed our stay. After touring the town all day it was great to be near our motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank LRJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville SC
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Days Inn. The price was very good considering the great location. The room was very clean, the personnel was very friendly, informative and curtious. The location of the hotel is very close to almost everything that a visitor would come to see in the beautiful city of Charleston. We will stay there again.

Tom and Barbara Dolly
Summerville SC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#35 of 61 in Charleston
578 reviews
Indigo Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
969 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
624 reviews
The Elliott House Inn
#33 of 61 in Charleston
822 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston Historic District

Property: Days Inn Charleston Historic District
Address: 155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston Historic District 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district, this hotel exudes all the warmth and charm of historic Charleston. Like the city this hotel has retained all the character and history of its past. This hotel provides an excellent starting point for your shopping, touring, and dining venues. Southern hospitality and special comforts are what makes this Days Inn Historic Charleston the place to stay when visiting Charleston. Pet Friendly rooms are available with a nightly pet fee of $20. Parking is available with a nightly charge of $14 per car per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
Days Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing