We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute hotel, a few things wrong, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston Historic District
Ranked #47 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We planned a last minute weekend to Charleston, and this hotel was the only one left in our price range. With the AAA discount and taxes, it came to $120 a night. I suppose for the location, the price was fine, but our room was not in the best shape. Let me start by saying that the outside of hotel is very, very cute, and it is in a great location, within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, and attrractions in the historice district. They also have parking included in your room, which was SOO nice. You only get one parking pass per room, though, so be prepared if you are bringing multiple cars. We ended up leaving one car at the hotel, and then parking the other car at the Battery Park by the water for free. We left it overnight, and it was fine.

When we got in our room, the decor is average, and the room was fine. The fridge was dirty and kind of gross inside, so I cleaned it, but it also was not plugged in properly, so I had to maneuver it and plug it in different outlets to get it started up. We also had a light bulb out. The front desk was swamped when we checked in, so we didn't bother them about it. The staff were friendly and helpful with giving us directions and telling us about the area. We stayed in a room on outside of the hotel, and we heard this really loud noise that seemed to be coming from the parking garage adjacent to the motel, but it eventually stopped! If you are on a budget (like me) need somewhere to stay at the last minute (like me) and don't mind an average room with a little fridge grime, I would recommend the Days Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside of the parking lot; ours was on the outside of the hotel and had more n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southerngirl745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,228 - 2,234 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here b/c we were traveling to Charleston with our dog and the hotel allows dogs in their smoking rooms. We have previously stayed in nicer hotels near Marion Square, but were restricted this time by our dog. The price for the location was great. Unless you hit a deal at one of the nicer places (such as the Best Western a couple of blocks north on Meeting or The Francis Marion), this is probably the best place you are going to get for your money in this area. The room was a little warn, the front desk help wasn't overly enthusiastic- but again, for the price, I was satisfied. Also- we didn't eat at the restaurant connected to the hotel, but when we walked by their breakfast looked great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AB28512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We were looking to travel on a budget but at the same time wanted to stay downtown. This motel was clean and worked out for our needs. It could use some maintenance updates (our room had wallpaper peeling off in the bathroom), the shower faucet was iffy (quite often we were caught off-guard when a neighboring room flushed, suddenly too much hot water in shower). The pool was cold!!, we are from New England and are accustom to the cold water of the Atlantic Ocean... this was even colder - following a week of daily temps above normal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargMotelMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed here Dec. 6th-8th. This hotel is in a great location and parking is free, but those are the only things about it that are any good at all. The rooms have not been taken care of for years. There's mold in the bathroom and the wallpaper is coming off. The faucet in the tub was leaking, probably gallons of water per day. When you shower you have to watch out because it goes from comfortable to freezing cold to scalding hot apparently depending on who else is using what water in other rooms. The pillows were awful. After being in the room for awhile you get used to the smell but when entering there is definitely an unpleasant smell.

This should be a great hotel in a great location, but I can't believe that anyone actually thinks it is clean and nice today. There is a reason that the location is so good and the price is so inexpensive!

Room Tip: Definitely don't take a smoking room. Our friends had their cat with them, which is why we stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BHIguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Excellent location. Fantastic and accomadating staff. Great and very clean rooms. Close to everything yet suprisingly quiet. From inside the rooms you can't hear anything outside or from other rooms. The room has everything you could need and more....Lots of very comfortable pillows, large fluffy towels, refreshing soaps and shampoo's, coffee, tea and a secure safe. Great water pressure for a fabulous bath or shower. Very pleaseantly surprising, not what I expected for such a great price. The room was spacious, very comfortable and beyond expectations. Grounds are well maintained and never saw people wandering around that didn't belong there which was surprising for such a downtown location. Don't know how you do it but keep it up and thank you to all the wonderfull staff for making this stay perfect!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

So I read the reviews and honestly, I was a little skeptical about this place. I have stayed at the mills house in charleston before and it was nice! This is NOT the mills house but it is good for the price. This is probably one of the cheapest hotels you will find downtown and it is literally 200 feet from market street. Great location. You can walk anywhere you want to go downtown. As long as you aren't expecting a 5 star hotel and realize this is a Days Inn, you shouldn't be disappointed. The room wasn't anything special but it was clean and met our needs. If you just want a cheap place to sleep and nothing special, this is the place to stay.

Pros: cheap price (for downtown), great location, FREE PARKING
Cons: small pillows, not fancy like most downtown hotels

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Perfect location if you want to have walking access to the entire historic district. Free parking is a HUGE benefit, along with the great coffee shop, cafe located directly next to the hotel. There are no inexpensive accommodations in the historic area, so expect to pay the price for the convenience of being in the heart of things. Granted, this is not a 4 to 5 star luxury hotel, but you will find it with clean rooms, great beds with lots of pillows, free wi-fi and satisfactory amenities. This was perfect for our 3 day adventure and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room as far from Meeting Street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
1.0 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations King Street Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,270 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston Historic District

Address: 155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $97 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston Historic District 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district, this hotel exudes all the warmth and charm of historic Charleston. Like the city this hotel has retained all the character and history of its past. This hotel provides an excellent starting point for your shopping, touring, and dining venues. Southern hospitality and special comforts are what makes this Days Inn Historic Charleston the place to stay when visiting Charleston. Pet Friendly rooms are available with a nightly pet fee of $20. Parking is available with a nightly charge of $14 per car per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
Days Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing