We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kate was great !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Jesup, Georgia
1 review
“Kate was great !”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

During a recent visit, my day was not going well to say the least. Then i encountered Kate during check-in. She was the cheerful, friendly face i needed. she took care of all the check-in procedure promptly and had me relaxing in my room in no time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjones41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
We believe our staff makes the difference in helping you to feel comfortable. Thank you for the wonderful compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    201
    72
    17
    13
See reviews for
212
238
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Great place to stay. Room was roomy and very clean, including the bathroom. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They recommended us to a local restaurant which had very good food. Would definitely recommend staying here. FYI -- this hotel is on outskirts of the City of Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSS160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
We can’t ask for any better than a recommendation from a previous guest! Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2010

The hotel was very nice and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The staff gave suggestions of things to do and places to go in the city including giving us maps and directions. The hotel is only an easy 10 minute drive from downtown Charleston. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js36645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Thank you for visiting our lovely city. We are so happy we could help you find your way around. It seems you have discovered our secret, value AND convenience. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I would recommend this hotel, the staff was kind & helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and nice size. The location was close to the plantations, it is about a 10 min. drive to the downtown area. Even though we didn't use it the pool looked cleaned and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler8463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Thank You! I'm glad you were able to enjoy some of the great things about our hotel. The staff, the location, the newly renovated rooms. You will have to come back soon though and take a dip in our outdoor pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I recently traveled to Charleston with my triplet seven year old daughters. As soon as we arrived Joyce at the front desk went out of her way to help. She helped the children get water, helped with which beach we should visit and was just all around friendly. Thank you Joyce for making our stay wonderful. Sincerely Pam Dunlap

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momoftripletsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear Mrs. Dunlap,
It was a pleasure to have you and your girls with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments about Joyce. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I would stay in this hotel again. I would also recomend it to others. Every one was very helpful, the rooms were nice and clean. It wasn't very far from downtown and the plantations.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, May 29, 2010
Thank you for the recommendation! We have a wonderful location that's easy to get to all of Charleston's attractions. I am very happy you were able to enjoy our city and your newly renovated room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Kate and Michele, working the desk in the evenings, were wonderful in recommending places for us to go and see. If there was something specific we wanted to do, they could tell us immediately or direct us . Breakfast was on time and wonderful Also, the ladies cleaning our rooms did a great job. We had a problem with a room key, and it was taken care of immediately. Thank all of them for a great stay. We do try to stay At the Holiday Inn Express on our trips . Even on a busy highway, it was extremely quiet, you could hear no one coming or going.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeeter79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, May 29, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Our staff is really what makes our property special. I'm glad you enjoyed our Southern Hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 61 in Charleston
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
1,200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing