We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I arrived on Aug 15. When we checked in our first room had a mold smell to it (Room 327). I immediately became worried because I did read a review that mentioned that. Not to worry they changed our room without a problem. This room had a much better air quality. We were happy. The rooms are very clean. The furniture is a little nicked up but it is not bad. But the real reason I gave a 4 out of 5 was because of the service. That I must say is a 5 out of 5. Sherry, Samantha and Michelle were beyond great in the service they gave us. They really made our stay great in Charleston. The location of the hotel is good as well. Just a 12 min drive to downtown and other desired destinations. This is a great value and if you don't mind staying at a clean hotel with great service that is centrally located then just book it.

One recommendation would be to ditch the carpet. Just my personal preference.

Room Tip: Just not room 327. Maybe something wrong with the air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perkij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
What a fantastic review about your recent stay with us. We are so happy that Sherry, Michelle and Samantha were able to make your trip so memorable. Our staff strives for excellent service from all of our staff, and so pleased that you experience it first hand. We hope you have an opportunity to come and visit Charleston again. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    196
    69
    17
    13
See reviews for
204
233
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Want to thank the front desk manager Miss Kelly asst mgr Miss Cheryl and the rest of the staff Miss Sherry, Miss Michelle,Miss Michelle,Miss Penny and Miss Samantha for their kind hospitality and outstanding service during our stay at the Hotel.The hotel is very family oriented....feels like home away from home.We enjoyed the hot breakfast :) Thanks also to housekeeping ...everyone Good job!!!!!! Enjoyed ourstay.

Room Tip: All non smoking....guess they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure meeting you, we all had a great time talking with you. We are so happy that you had a safe flight home, and we are hoping that you will have the chance to visit Charleston again. We had a wonderful time having you be a part of our family at the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have stayed at a variety of hotels this summer, using Trip Advisor reviews to help with our choices, but never knowing for sure what the accommodations would be like. When I booked the Holiday Inn Express, I knew what to expect...the hotel would be clean, well-maintained and the comfort details would be there. I like that consistency from property to property. The room was indeed quiet, spotless, well-maintained and the bed and pillows were some of the most comfortable of my summer trip. The breakfast bar was well-stocked and set in an inviting and comfortable setting. Love the reliability!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank babobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Pillows were awful - worn and no fill.. even whrn I asked for another, I got a worn out pillow. Desk clerks were friendly and helpful.. There were not enough electrical outlets to use for charging phones.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the pillows. I truly appreciate your feedback, this is the only way we can improve our experiences for our guest. We hope you have an opportunity to visit Charleston again and give us another chance. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I had initially booked a different hotel and got nervous last minute about it and decided that I wanted to be sure we'd have a good hotel. Holiday inn is a hotel I've always found that is the same everywhere. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. The location was 15 minutes to everything which was a good and a bad thing. Overall we were satisfied just like I have been at every other holiday inn I've ever been at. However I will say it wasn't the best holiday inn I've ever been at. Also the pool in the picture is not as big as it looks but it was perfectly warm.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased that you decided to stay with us. Our location is in a great area, we are close to the downtown, plantations, the mall, restaurant and other local attractions. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston and loved it. We usually like to stay in places that offers a good breakfast, good location and a clean room, and this hotel had that all.

We arrived before check-in and they were able to accommodate us and sent us to our room. Rooms are regular sized, clean and the beds are comfortable. There's also a mini fridge to store drinks.

The continental breakfast was actually pretty good. They always had cereals, oatmeals, fruits and some pastries, and every morning there was some type of hot food like eggs, bacon or sausages.

Some info about the other amenities: The pool was decent size and we even laid by the pool one morning and took a dip. Their fitness center could use a little TLC, they had 3 cardio machines which were pretty old and no weights.

The hotel is about 10 minutes from downtown Charleston, which we ventured off to twice. (Check out Hanks, the food there was delicious!)

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone coming down to Charleston, and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelboobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay while you were in Charleston. Thank you so much for the wonderful review about your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pool and that you had the opportunity to relax and enjoy your vacation. We hope you have another chance to come and visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Usual Holiday Inn Express hotel, stayed two nights, allocated room 227.

Breakfast consisted of frosted flakes, orange juice, hamburger, an egg type
thing with cheese in the middle and some sort of potato. A bit strange but
it was OK

Next door was a Ruby Tuesday restaurant. Good food with a very good salad bar.

Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GasFromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that we fell short for our breakfast selects. In 2014 we have added new items to the breakfast bar such as Oatmeal Station, Turkey Sausage, Chobani Yogurt and other items. We would love for you to give us another chance if you have the opportunity to visit Charleston again. We would like for you to enjoy our new and improved Breakfast Bar,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#35 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing