We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Evergreen Motel(Charleston)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveler rating
378
207
75
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
207
75
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskpancake machinehi expresscinnamon rollsroom was cleanbreakfast areafolly beachconvenient locationhistoric downtownwould stay here againeasy accesscookiesminute driveyogurtstaff was very friendly and helpfulcomplimentary breakfastsouthern hospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 693 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have stayed at many holiday inns, and this one was not the best. Overall, this hotel was just ok and nothing special. No real problems with our stay, just not super impressed. It seemed to be an older hotel that had been renovated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Charleston. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay. We are planning a full renovation in 2015 and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a nice hotel that did not break the bank for our weekend in Charleston. This hotel was just what we wanted- comfy beds, pleasant staff, and a good location. It was barely 8 minutes to get to the downtown area. Rooms were very clean and we were always greeted warmly by the staff. Will definitely stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tariqsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for staying with us, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that our location is close to everything, it's close to the downtown area, restaurants, shopping and plantations. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new beds, our clean room and of course our friendly staff. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Traveling for a 2 week trip south, we wanted to keep within our budget and have affordable, comfortable, clean hotels that served a free breakfast. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 3 nights on Savannah highway rather than the downtown location because of the above-mentioned needs. We didn't mind the 10 minute drive to the historic city, because we loved the hotel and it's amenities, not to mention the value. The room was clean and well appointed, and the bed allowed us wonderful sleep. It was great to have a hot breakfast that was replenished frequently, and quite good and plentiful for buffet style.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PatC1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

We can't express how grateful we are for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you decided to stay with us for the 3 nights while you were in Charleston. So delighted that you enjoyed our New Breakfast Bar, we just added new items to it last month. It has a wide selection of hot items, healthy choices, and your option to be able to just grab and go. We hope that you will have another opportunity to visit Charleston again. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is so unique with the round shape. The rooftop pool overlooking the marina is great. Older but remodeled and super clean. Service is great. Amanda in management , the front desk staff , housekeeping and restaurant staff were all superb. True southern hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MBD29579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review about your recent stay. The wonderful feedback was posted to our hotel instead of the Holiday Inn Riverview. I will be forwarding your review to the General Manager at that location. I am so happy that to see that you had a great time in Charleston and that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Have stayed here, when I was an Exchange student in the US. Very comfortable hotel with clean and comfortable rooms.Its located in a good place to walk around the city, and has some great stores right on the other side of the street ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank les-aventureux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

We are so happy that you had a "Great Experience" while you were visiting Charleston. Thank you for the for wonderful review. Thank you for sharing you experience with us. We hope you have an opportunity to visit Charleston again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews