We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Traveling for a 2 week trip south, we wanted to keep within our budget and have affordable, comfortable, clean hotels that served a free breakfast. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 3 nights on Savannah highway rather than the downtown location because of the above-mentioned needs. We didn't mind the 10 minute drive to the historic city, because we loved the hotel and it's amenities, not to mention the value. The room was clean and well appointed, and the bed allowed us wonderful sleep. It was great to have a hot breakfast that was replenished frequently, and quite good and plentiful for buffet style.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatC1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We can't express how grateful we are for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you decided to stay with us for the 3 nights while you were in Charleston. So delighted that you enjoyed our New Breakfast Bar, we just added new items to it last month. It has a wide selection of hot items, healthy choices, and your option to be able to just grab and go. We hope that you will have another opportunity to visit Charleston again. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    192
    67
    17
    12
See reviews for
198
228
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is so unique with the round shape. The rooftop pool overlooking the marina is great. Older but remodeled and super clean. Service is great. Amanda in management , the front desk staff , housekeeping and restaurant staff were all superb. True southern hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBD29579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review about your recent stay. The wonderful feedback was posted to our hotel instead of the Holiday Inn Riverview. I will be forwarding your review to the General Manager at that location. I am so happy that to see that you had a great time in Charleston and that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Have stayed here, when I was an Exchange student in the US. Very comfortable hotel with clean and comfortable rooms.Its located in a good place to walk around the city, and has some great stores right on the other side of the street ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank les-aventureux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so happy that you had a "Great Experience" while you were visiting Charleston. Thank you for the for wonderful review. Thank you for sharing you experience with us. We hope you have an opportunity to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

On a two-week trip down the East coast we spent 14 nights in hotels. By far the most pleasant experience we had was the 2 night stay at this hotel. Superb staff! Superb beds! (Best on the trip). Clean, neat, with a great free breakfast. Nice restaurant next door. Easy 10 minute access to downtown and the historic district. Also, this hotel has a nice washer and drier on the third floor for their guests. $1 wash and $1 dry. Breakfast area was a little crowded but we were there on the last weekend of the Spoleto Festival and their were 2 wedding parties staying at the hotel. I'd say the staff did very well under the circumstances. I hope all of the Holiday Inn Express hotels are this nice. I will be checking this out on a future trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
WOW! Thank you for the amazing review! That is a wonderful compliment "Best Hotel on our 2 Week Trip" I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, it sounds like you had a fantastic time in Charleston. The hotel is in a great location to the downtown area, restaurants, shopping and other local attractions. All our employees enjoy working with the guest to make sure that have a memorable experience. I hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston and us again. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Rooms and bathroom clean. Staff was friendly and helpful, parking was fine and it's an easy drive into downtown Charleston. The only suggestions I have are ; check the pool temp, it was pretty warm, if you use the extended arched shower curtain - put a long enough shower curtain so the water stays in the tub, breakfast was good but need more tables and chairs. Even with all of that I would stay there again. These are just little things. The hotel was clean and pleasant.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BHowardF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review about your recent stay. I truly appreciate your suggestions especially about the shower curtain. We are certainly looking into new shower curtains for our guest rooms. Extremely happy that you enjoyed your time here in Charleston. We hope you have another opportunity to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Everything was always very clean, housekeeping was great, especially Ben the head of housekeeping. He was always helpful and knowledgeable about the area, He really should have a desk in the lobby as a concierge. He was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
I can't thank you enough for the fantastic review especially the wonderful compliment about Ben. He truly enjoys his job and loves helping the guest to enjoy their time here in Charleston. We are so happy that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for the amazing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I went to Charleston in October for a Bachelorette weekend with 5 of my girl friends. We booked 2 adjoining rooms (each room w/ 2 queen beds). The location was perfect- right off the interstate and a short cab/trolley ride to the core of the historic city and nightlife! The continental breakfast was delicious- the service and cleanliness overall was great- They let us check in early and drop our bags off so that we could explore the city as soon as we got there without hassle! They assisted us in finding cabs to call and even entertained taking a big group picture every day we were there- bottom line: super friendly! I would definitely book here again and recommend it to anyone traveling to Charleston and not trying to spend all of their money on the hotel, but still get a quality/clean stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristamcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review about your stay in October. It sounds like you had a great time here in Charleston. Our location is so quick and easy to the downtown area. We hope you and your friends had a great time celebrating the Bachelorette weekend. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#26 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing