We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Experience!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

While visiting Charleston for our anniversary, my wife and I stayed at this hotel. We can say NOTHING but good things about the whole package. ALL the staff were very kind and helpful. Kelly, the GM, made our stay perfect. She honored a few special requests we had very graciously. The free breakfast was exceptionally good too! Coffee and tea 24 hours a day. Clean rooms. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. AC worked great. Good location from downtown and Folly Beach area. Price was very fair for what you get. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mm_hale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Wooohooo! Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful Anniversary! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay plus your time in Charleston. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again. Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 668 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

Spent 3 nights at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Great location, you will need a car to go to the historic area of Charleston. Clean rooms. Close to restaurants and shopping mall. Costco is not far either.
Very friendly staff. We were greeted every morning with a "Good Morning" with a smile. Loved it. They all seemed like they were having a great time while working. Breakfast is the usual Holiday Inn Express, but sufficient for touring the city.
Only one problem, internet was not good. We were on the 3rd floor, took forever to access it and once we did, lost it. Other then that, we loved the hotel. Will come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janej565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

We can't thank you enough for the wonderful compliments you shared about your recent stay with us. Our staff loves their job and you can see the smile on each of the team members faces. We are so happy that you enjoyed everything about your trip to Charleston. We hope you have another opportunity to visit the beautiful city again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

For the rate of this hotel, it has sufficient amenities for a weekend trip. They have a fitness center, pool, and free breakfast every morning. The view from the hotel is not that great. However, it is located between downtown Charleston and Ashley Island. Overall, an okay choice but might be better than what th expect from a Holiday Inn.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DatBoyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience while staying with us. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to use the fitness center, pool and enjoy breakfast every morning. We hope you had a wonderful time exploring Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in May. This hotel is in a great and safe location. The price was great for what we paid... I think $130/night which included taxes, which is an awesome deal. It was directly across from the Town & Country Inn & Suites, which was a little bit nicer but way more expensive! The breakfast in the morning was a typical continental breakfast, but it was nicer than some that I have been too. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and suggested awesome places to eat as well. The drive into downtown Charleston is not bad at all. The room was clean and comfortable bed. We would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LBennettRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We completely agree about our location, its a great spot. It is close to the downtown area, shops, movie theater, restaurants, and other local attractions. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We found ourselves in Charleston SC on a 2-college graduation weekend! Not just this hotel, but all them, had jacked up their prices for the occasion. In our other cities, we stayed in town, but I couldn't find anything much less than $400 a night. Highway Robbery. So we stayed 5 miles outside town on the Savannah Hwy. We often stay at a Holiday Inn Express on our other travels, and this was no different except that we usually pay anywhere from $130 to $170. This was $207 plus tx and fees. Service was fine, breakfast was fine, parking was free, no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Biggest drawback was there are obviously some kind of rubber-backed sheets or mattress pads on the beds. I heard another man complaining on the elevator and suddenly realized why I was wet with sweat at night, even with the AC. I can see them wanting to protect their mattresses, but it was really quite unpleasant. I was relieved to move out because of this one thing.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank centralvalleygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and the complimentary hot breakfast! Rates on the weekend here in Charleston are certainly higher than at other times, but as you found, we are a good value as compared to the downtown prices. We have spoken of your concern about a rubber backed mattress pad to our Executive Housekeeper and he is looking into it. As a general rule, we do not use those. Thank you for staying with us, and congratulations on the two graduations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Price is right. Amazing place. Modern look in side in room. 2 tone paint beautiful view from room close to lots of restaurants and pub.staff nice and helpful. WiFi had little issue but I have data plan so I was okay without WiFi. Over all A+ wish all hotels follow this one in service and standaed. Very good

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cblu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Wow! Thank you for the great comments about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you have another opportunity to stay with us again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I attended a conference at the Marriott (no rooms available) so I chose the Holiday Inn Express Charleston which was located next door. The hotel itself is about average -- good pool, a little dark in the hallways (due to those let's-go-green bulbs that don't light worth a flip); however, the staff is what makes this hotel shine! Everyone I came in contact with, from the check-in folks, breakfast handlers, and the guy helping with parking were so helpful and nice. They smiled every time you looked at them and were so friendly. And those people who had to manage breakfast -- I don't know how they kept up with a crowd that big but they did -- nothing 'emptied out'.. I overheard a person attending my conference, complaining how small their room was -- my room was very comfortable. The bed, while a bit on the tall side, was very comfortable. All-in-all, I am so happy to have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Charleston. Kudos to the staff for making this place a #1 location for lodging!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sensor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased that you stayed with us while you were here for a conference. We are happy that you enjoyed everything from the pool, to the breakfast buffet, to the guest rooms. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston and see the sights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,286 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $93 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing